Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Invasion

by Ogniok - Jam Entry

What is our game about?
--------------------------------------------------------

Three districts of Derp nation decided to join forces and invade your world. They want to connect it to their own so that they can capture your territory. You play as one of the warriors sent to defend the "Core Tower". Electric core held inside the tower is generating an inter-dimensional shield and it's the only thing that's stopping Derps. It's already getting weaker and Derps managed to connect some parts of their world to yours. If the core gets destroyed, there will be no hope left...


Local multiplayer
--------------------------------------------------------
This game supports local multiplayer up to 4 players.
(4 Joypads or 3 Joypads + 1 Keyboard & Mouse)
(But you can still play singleplayer)


FEEDBACK
----------------------------------------
Please, leave your feedback about the game and report
bugs if you've found any. We appreciate it very much.

Fireline Games | firelinegames.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#326Graphics(Jam)3.52
#335Humor(Jam)2.50
#424Overall(Jam)3.16
#465Audio(Jam)2.83
#511Fun(Jam)2.81
#526Mood(Jam)2.83
#594Theme(Jam)2.59
#644Innovation(Jam)2.47

Comments

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Graphics would be really cool but colors disturb the eye. Also hitting does not feel like hitting. I couldn't try split screen multi-player option but it's a great idea assuming it works well. I like defense games generally but I couldn't feel this one much, you have to work more on it.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:18pm

very pretty game. would love to play this in multiplayer :D

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Great graphics and i like the colors! Cool point of view for a defense game. xD

spotco says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:27am

Like skyrim but with zombies.

Citsua says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:11am

Great game ! It feels really complete and polished for a Ludum Dare game. I couldn't try it in multiplayer but I really liked it.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:17am

The game is great, so much fun I've had on this page has good atmosphere, good graphics, good music and the idea is pretty funny, really, really good job

Ogniok says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:55am

Nice to see people are enjoying the game. :) Makes us wanna create a post-compo version. :D

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Really cool looking game. Like cartoony graphics.

Ogniok says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:22pm

@MintArcade We have another game with the same art style if you want to check it you ;) http://blog.firelinegames.com/games/sn-the-greed/

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:45pm

You pretty much can't go wrong with Zombies! I enjoyed playing your game. Good luck to you!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:47pm

I got quite motion sick, which is not normal for me and first person games. I think it was the screen tilting and the slow walk cycle, not sure.

I got 21 kills and made it to the 3rd wave playing as the ninja. This is quite an impressive amount of content for 3 days, you (guys?) should be proud. That being said it was kind of frustrating, the attack animation took forever and it wasn't clear when the enemy damage started/ended, for blocking.

I tried the geek and died immediately, since his attack takes 4 times longer then the enemies and does no damage. Maybe with a team to gather coins he'd be effective.

With the warrior I made it to wave 4, mostly because I discovered you can block and hit at the same time. Getting 3 kills with 1 hit was quite satisfying.

Overall an impressive entry but one that tries to achieve a lot for a 3 day project, and as such the gameplay feels unbalanced and poor.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:48pm

I got quite motion sick, which is not normal for me and first person games. I think it was the screen tilting and the slow walk cycle, not sure.

I got 21 kills and made it to the 3rd wave playing as the ninja. This is quite an impressive amount of content for 3 days, you (guys?) should be proud. That being said it was kind of frustrating, the attack animation took forever and it wasn't clear when the enemy damage started/ended, for blocking.

I tried the geek and died immediately, since his attack takes 4 times longer then the enemies and does no damage. Maybe with a team to gather coins he'd be effective.

With the warrior I made it to wave 4, mostly because I discovered you can block and hit at the same time. Getting 3 kills with 1 hit was quite satisfying.

Overall an impressive entry but one that tries to achieve a lot for a 3 day project, and as such the gameplay feels unbalanced and poor. High marks for innovation, low for fun.

Ogniok says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:51pm

@adrenalinehigh_Jam Geek was designed to not be able to survive when not playing with the team.

We had a lot of problems with characters and animations so we didn't manage to create everything we designed. That's why the gameplay may feel unbalanced and poor.

Banderi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Fun little game to play with friends! Framerate's a little bit choppy, but still playable.

Ogniok says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:29pm

@Banderi You can try to play "DirectX 9" version. DoF isn't that beautiful, but it has much better performance.

Nichii says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Gah, why isn't there an option to turn down the video setting? Anyway, nice game there, but definitely has much more to work on ;) Oh, definitely create a post-compo version!

sandbaydev says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Whoa, a local multiplayer game... what a challenge!

I start with the things to consider: it was not easy to block or avoid those enemies. I would like a brief moment of "I'm going to attack you, sir" animation to give me heads up & some time to block.

Same deal about hitting: it's slightly difficult.

I generally prefer bird's eye view / 3rd person in melee games. FPS is bit tough.

Doing that type of game in just couple of days is a huge deal. I would use the 3rd dimension more: maybe some leverage or arrows usage or something. Local co-op sounded very cool, too bad I couldnt test it.

Overall, I liked the entry. Congraz for finishing & submitting.

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Beatiful graphics and animation.

xandy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:27am

sadly my pc doesn't have the performance to run your game. but the 5fps world i saw was looking very nice!

Ogniok says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:34am

@xandy Have you tried playing "DirectX 9" version?

Njord says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:47am

I got mixed feelings. On one side there the game feels really nice and polished, with cool graphics, a nice music, multiplayer, but on the other side the gameplay is a bit weak, I feel like more time could have been devoted to make this a bit more exciting ! But still a nice game, congrats.

Shide says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:47pm

You've managed to do a lot in 3 days, though it's not perfect. Graphics is good, but style is doubtful and animation is full of lulz. Map is big, but you don't really have to explore it since you have to defend the core

Ogniok says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:44pm

@Njord We didn't do everything we designed because we had a a lot of problems with getting characters and their animations to work ;/ Probably if we had added everything we wanted to the game the gameplay would be much more interesting

@Shide We wanted to give the player ability to explore the map, but because of the lack of time it didn't make it to the final release

danidre14 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Graphics, great! Nice engine, great job for a Ludum Dare entry Jam!

3CGames says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Cool that you managed to get a 3d game with animations and everything out! Hitting enemies would feel a lot better with sound effects and a faster animation.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:40pm

nice graphics, but this game runs quite slow on my machine. Love the multiplayer feature!

Ogniok says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:51pm

@CAT_IN_THE_DARK_WOOD Since a lot of people reported very low performance(which we have been aware of, we just didn't know it was that bad) we'll try to find time to release a version with far batter performance

jomomomo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Couldn't get it to play :-( Some dx issues on my pc.

Ogniok says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:28pm

@jomomomo What issues exactly? Tell us more and we'll try to help :)

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:31pm

nice graphics and atmosphere,

Scipio Xaos says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:41am

Nice game.. can't rate it though.. I couldn't play for more than two seconds before I couldn't take the lag anymore.. :P But then again I'm running it in WINE and don't have the best of computers...

One thing I would change, though, is the start screen. A way to skip the long intro text would be nice. I tried switching to another window while waiting only to discover the game pauses if it doesn't have the focus... Yea...

Ogniok says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:50am

@Scipio Xaos You can skip the intro after 3 seconds using ESC key :)

geekygenius says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:41pm

It's very polished for a game jam. I think the game would be much more fun on multiplayer.

rhaasken says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Looks cool, but I can only run it at about 1 frame per second on my computer :( so I can't rate it.

Ogniok says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:08pm

If we decide to do post-compo version we will definitly have to adress the performance issues :D

Ramiel says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Nice graphics. In twoplayer mode the view is a bit to small. Makes it hard to keep an overview over the battle.
But really a cool game.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:48am

Thank goodness for the config.data file. Otherwise I wouldn't have even gotten the entry to run on a decent framerate.
A draw distance setting would've been a nice addition though.

The game itself as a single player experience, unfortunately, is not very compelling.

The main reason is that the warrior and ninja characters while efficient at fighting have very little use for the
money they collect. Repairing the tower, that is it. The geek on the other hand can use money to build gadgets but
is so woefully inadequate at dealing damage that I never got around to building any of the more expensive (and useful) gadgets which is a shame.

These problems could be fixed in multiple ways, here are a few suggestions:
- Give the fighter classes some skills/abilities they can purchase.
- Give the geek a low power ranged weapon to make fighting a little bit more tolerable.
- The cost of repairing the tower should be proportional to the damage it has taken or even free but slower.
- Faster health regen or a station to refill health (free or low cost).
- More impact on the melee weapons, both as a hit effect (animation on enemy), but also as a momentary stun. This would give the player an advantage that is surely needed when the enemies pile up.
- Difficulty scaling to the player amount or a difficulty slider. Even with the warrior getting to wave 3 is quite the feat atm.
- Redesign blocking. Currently the enemies seem to deal damage after the complete attack animation rather than when the attack connects. Communicating the right moment to counter attack by having a block hit animation would do the trick.
- Less sluggish attack & block animations, for the player at least. The derps should stay derpy.

Ogniok says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:19pm

@HuvaaKoodia We are aware of this gameplay flaws. This is a result of not making everything we designed ;/ Most of your suggestions was what we were planning to do

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:51am

Pretty funny game. :P The graphics sort of bothered me a bit. Not because they were jarring or bad, but because it felt like a lot going on at once color wise. Besides that, it looks great and it plays well!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]