Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dream Epoch (adventure / rpg)

by Adam Thompson - Jam Entry

This game began with me toying around with a basic top down RPG.

The dialogue system is a reworking of the one made for my previous game jam entry.

There's no real objective, just walk and explore. It's just a little demo made in 48 hours for KiwiJam 14 and Ludum Dare 30.

I want to make a world with other NPCs, implement a full dialogue and cutscene system, inventories, party members, a journal, and a map system. Your typical RPG, minus the combat. Using the engine, I'd like to create an engaging world with characters, colors, and atmosphere, and fill it with beautiful little tales the player can immerse themselves in.

This demo is just a precursor to that lofty vision.

Remember to play it in fullscreen!

Cheers!

Credits:
Game and programming by Adam Thompson (me!)
Music by Eva Li
Graphics sourced from the Asset Store
Sound sourced from the interwebs

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#88Graphics(Jam)4.21
#144Audio(Jam)3.58
#163Mood(Jam)3.55
#448Humor(Jam)2.26
#587Overall(Jam)2.92
#679Innovation(Jam)2.34
#723Theme(Jam)1.97
#729Fun(Jam)2.18

Comments

enderargent says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:39am

Nice game dude!
I have a sugestion for you, maybe you can disable the props colliders (or if you need them convert them to triggers) while they're coming down since the feel can be a little buggy! ^^

r0x0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:40am

would you mind on making a linux build? the screenshots look pretty good :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:41am

Tip: Change the defualt coler of the camera to somthing not blue .And try the next time to make a game from scratch

John Drury says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:44am

Stunning! Loved the world. Created strong atmosphere with the beautiful piano. Can see a lot of potential.

Simon@LD says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:45am

Really nice graphics, great atmosphere and superb music! I'm very interested to see how you will take it from here ;)

JonathanG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:58am

Looks very nice, but it's hard to tell what's from the Asset store and what you did yourself. Also the controls are a bit strange - WSAD doesn't always make you walk relative to the camera, and you don't always walk towards the mouse cursor when clicking either. It is however certainly full of atmosphere, and a good starting point for something bigger :)

Adam Thompson says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:01am

Thanks for your comments!
The game is a little buggy in regards to the triggers / colliders when coming down (they can land on your head and do weird things!). Second is when moving past multiple camera changes - the movement can be off. You can fix that by going back to an area that changes the camera.
As you guys know, 48 hours isn't too long to make a game, and I did my best! Hopefully a post-jam demo will fix these issues and add more "game" :)

Adam Thompson says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:05am

@sneeuwpopsneeuw: I meant to have it black, and not blue, but must have missed it. Also, I'm sure I didn't break any jam rules.
@JonathanG: The environment and the character art are from the Asset Store. I did all the programming, design, lighting, camera, character controls, interactions, and so on. Eva is somebody I met over the weekend and composed a song based on some suggestions I gave her - I think she did a really beautiful job!

PinkNinja says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:09am

Really nice game. I would appreciate more history and interactions, but i can see the hard work on do this as fast as you did.

Congratulations!

bob_fish says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:11am

Love the look of the world, aren't you supposed to make your own art? Anyway, looks like it could be expanded into a big fun game!

GreaseMonkey says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:20am

Hey, mind doing an .exe build? Not all not-Windows/Mac users are Linux users, and the .exe files run through Wine tend to be more likely to work than the Linux binaries (and in my case the Linux binaries don't work due to an outdated glibc).

Adam Thompson says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:24am

I don't have any experience building for Linux (presumably you'd need to be running Linux to build for it?) but I can try to make an .exe build and a mac build.
Keep an eye out for an update! Sorry if this has inconvenienced anybody or made them unable to play!

Kyoutashan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:32am

As a game demo, you did a good job on the atmosphere and interactions.
As a Ludum Dare jam entry, it's not really what we can expect (or I didn't see the relation with the theme)

Anyway, you're planning big for your project. It's a good start, and I wish you good luck :)

Phaix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:41am

It really looks great. Would love to see a game made out of it!

OrangeeZ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:42am

Wow, it's reminded me about Rachel town from Ragnarok online. Fabulous atmosphere.

Adam Thompson says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:43am

Update: Windows, Mac, and Linux builds now up!

@Kyoutashan: Thanks! I spent too much time on the demo to fully implement the theme. I should have explained it better, but my idea was going to be this: as you click on and read different notes in the house, it would tell you a little story and go "back to another time". That's where the effect comes in - objects fall into place, night turns into day. It's like transporting to another world, in real time. The two worlds are connected and tell a single coherent story.
Unfortunately I didn't get far enough :(
Thank you for your response!

oakus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:16pm

It looks promising.

r0x0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:34pm

really nice graphics, camera, and style =)

r0x0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:35pm

also, thanks for the linux build! it works perfect

skiddings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Doesn't really match the theme. But I like the camera setup and interaction. The animation is nice too.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Nice visual, really interresting, I would like to see a full version of it and with some gameplay too, nice!

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:49am

Amazing visuals and audio. Would have been really interesting to go out the door in the back and have a whole new room come down to keep going. I definitely wanted more.

Adam Thompson says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Thanks Rage Paint. I'd definitely like to create more. Feel free to follow me to keep up with post-jam development!

Jacic says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:07pm

The graphics and style look cool. I'm interested in what this will become.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:44pm

It's been a while since I played a game with fixed cameras like this. Too bad the controls couldn't keep up to the camera (but it seems you already knew of this bug). Not much to do at the moment, but the world has a nice feel to it.

Since it's a jam entry I don't think it matters where the assets are from, as the developer still has to use them to put a game together. When a lot of the assets used are premade I think that for example the Graphics score displays how well the developer has been able to use those available assets in combination with code to create a visually pleasing experience.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

dook says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:43am

Not bad. Seems like a pretty solid foundation for a larger game. I liked the Bastion-like effect of stuff falling into place.

The full screen button on your site doesn't work right, though, I could click through the Unity window and it loaded one of the pictures, stopping the game. Right clicking and choosing full screen instead worked fine, though.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:00am

Nice jam entry. I love the assets falling from the sky, cool effect.

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:29am

I can definitely tell you've played Bastion ;). The world building was nice, the environment has a nice cozy feeling to it. The dialogue system seems solid too.

For moving forward, having the movement based on the relative position of the player and camera would be nice. When it went into some of the hallways it became kind of hard to figure out which direction to press.

Birke says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:21am

Looks good. It managed to create a good amount of atmosphere and mood. Reminded me of To The Moon with the text based dialogue and really nice piano music. Some feedback, the second camera angle is zoomed in too much so it is hard to navigate around. It is also quite confusing in general when the camera changes viewpoint. Maybe interpolating between the old and new position would be beneficial? The SmoothDamp functions in Unity would be good for that. In general the WASD control scheme seemed to work better than the mouse since it did not change direction after a camera shift.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:28am

Really pretty graphics, but It doesn't reflect very well the theme.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:48pm

This looks very good. Lot's of potential here. Please to be continuing to make this game.

spotco says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Really impressive graphics, but no gameplay.

MerlijnVH says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:45pm

I liked the concept of rooms being populated as you walked in, though it made my character fly up in the air sometimes when physics hit. Also, shame you left in some debug text on collision hits. Good job, though. Keep it up!

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Nice graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]