Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Midspace Madness

by kmasiulis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#676Graphics2.92
#699Fun2.88
#802Overall2.96
#864Mood2.63
#973Innovation2.54
#1167Theme1.80
#1503Coolness44%

Comments

Ohems says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:05pm

I like the fact that those smaller competing planes are just mimicing your movements. Lazy but functional. Looks good on a HD screen and is really fun for a while, although the speed gets so fast that avoiding some of the obstacles is almost impossible. Also, I didn't get how this game follows the theme.

peejaygee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:13pm

After I realized what I was supposed to do, and the looking and I was 1st and was so close to the end, I was overtook and finished 2nd.. maybe instructions prior to playing, or even in the description would help.. :)

cstudios says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:57am

It took awhile, while I recognize, which spaceship am I. The game was a little bit too fast for me, and If you hit more than 3 objects, you cant get in the lead anymore.(its good, couse you get pissed of, if you cant win :D ) Also I missed some sound effects... graphics was simple, but good.

BMacIntosh says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:47am

I like this game :). Audio would make it a blast! Took me a few gos before I realized what the spacebar did. I also had some trouble identifying which ship was me at the start.

fisholith says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Neat game. :)

Gets a little tricky once your speed starts getting up there, but I figured if I spend as much time in mid-jump as I can, I'm statistically less likely to take an asteroid to the face than my competitors. Even so, I only barely squeaked by with first. :D

frogcheese says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:25pm

It was fun when you got a real fast streak going, but it felt pretty random seeing how it most of the time was almost impossible to predict where asteroids were going to appear. Either way nice to see a racing game in LD!

Cireon says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Interesting little game, though it is really unclear what the goal of the game is. Left/up and right/down seem to do the same thing, and at first I thought I was supposed to steer all ships clear. Only later I found out it was actually a race.

Graphics were alright; nothing special. The game felt really solid, so that's very well done, it just needs a little bit more introduction and maybe a little bit less based on luck.

LeftRight92 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Fun game, though I can't see how it relates to the theme. Great pace although I'd allow the dodge to charge slightly faster.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Okay. This game has many things that should be fixed. The most important one is to let the player know what the idea behind the game is and which ship he is controlling before the race actually begins. The game is a bit too fast paced, it all just becomes a big blur of sprites. The jump mechanic was a nice addition, but as the game was so fast many times I landed straight into a rock. :p In the end, it is a working game with win/lose conditions, so well done! It is a very rough game and requires some polish to actually be enjoyable. Graphical effects, sounds and a short description before the race and it'd be a good solid racer. Add in the polish and it could be a great racer!

Joona@MooseflyGames

Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Haha Amazing :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]