Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

0730

by H03N - Jam Entry

Harald is a criminal condemned to do community service in a nursing home. Every morning, he is confronted with his criminal past on the way to work. He feels the consequences of his actions in the nursing home talking to the patients.
The concept of the game includes a variety of possibilities how to react to events and how those reactions influence the NPCs.
"Connected Worlds"
In our every day life we often meet people living in worlds different from ours. Behaviour that seems to work perfectly in our world can have uninteded effects in other worlds.
In 0730, worlds with different concepts of morality clash.

Controls: Try doors and right side of screen to move on.


UPDATE:
There is something which is not explained in the game.. because we ran out of time.
It's a 7 day cycle you have to go to the nursing home 7 times.
There is a lot of content missing due to time limitations. We will try to put everything in place for the final prototype.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#139Graphics(Jam)4.03
#335Humor(Jam)2.50
#582Mood(Jam)2.71
#679Theme(Jam)2.22
#710Overall(Jam)2.61
#730Innovation(Jam)2.06
#751Fun(Jam)1.97
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

Greg Klein says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:03am

Does the game end when you reach the nursing home? It took me back to the house twice when I reached the nursing home. Just wondering.

Interesting art style.

Lissar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:04am

Pyramid Head goes to work? A little confusing, and at one point I think I glitched back to the beginning!

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:07am

I don't know what's wrong. But whenever he entered the nursing home, the hero just go back out and he will be at home again?

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:10am

I won't rate this yet because the jam isn't over so it might still be a work in progress. For me, it seems to have a game-breaking bug - every time I enter the nursing home, my character instantly walks off screen to the left and appears back in his room.

Loving the look and premise so I hope I get to play this later.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:18am

Great art style, but here is game breaking bug with nursing home :(

creative630 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:18am

A lot to like here. Art is awesome. Brilliant take on the theme. Nice mood. I also loved being told "now is not the time to play games" as soon as the game started - very funny!

Pity about being thrown back home - would like to have seen where things went!

Hati Eth says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:21am

Helllo I'm part of the developer team.
There is something which is not explained in the game.. because we ran out of time.
It's a 7 day cycle you have to go to the nursing home 7 times.
There is a lot of content missing due to time limitations. We will try to put everything in place for the final prototype.

camlang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:07am

Art is gorgeous. Simple design, but at the same time, the location worked out. Thank you for the work done.

Rocketship says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:08am

How can I hit that guy in the train?

Very interesting graphics, could've really used some sound assets though.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:08am

i love the homor and style of the game it is just a interesting art style.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:10am

Very nice art. When reaching the nursing home, I get back to home. Bug?

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:11am

Very nice and funny art style - well done!
The 7 day cycle is a bit confusing without a hint/tutorial.

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Love the art style :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Nice take on the caracthers, nice entry.

lakael says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:58am

The art style was very unique, but I found it a bit confusing.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Lovely art style with great colour choices. Found it nice to wander around but did notice in the first room I could walk up the shelves and once I was outside the house I got a bit lost.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:15pm

There are some wonderful little details in the backgrounds. Each time I walked through, I spotted something different, and I really thought the art style was great. But... was there a bug, because the guy teleported back home each time I went to the old folks' home (8 or 9 times).

lotusgame says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Makes Firefox crash :p

Warboys says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:26am

I'm really not sure what's going on. I love the art, and Captain America does indeed suck, but I'm getting that teleport home 'bug'. Is it a bug? Or is it like Every Day The Same Dream and I'm missing something?

Akurn says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:46am

Love the animation and art style. But yeah that 7 day cycle thing, if there was a simple calendar or something in the room it would have helped show that it wasn't just a bug :)

sephyka says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:10am

Hehe I walked on the room wall at the beginning. :> Interesting art direction. About the game, it is a bit confusing, I don't know what to do, I don't know if backgrounds assets are clickable. I think it needs more feedbacks about what the player have to do. It might be better with logo, user interface and a few sounds. Great mood.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]