Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Humanity VS Samuel

by ebolbe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have only two minutes to save the earth. Evade the Samuels to reach the portal and run before the time runs out.

Controls
---------

w --- UP
s --- DOWN
d --- RIGHT
a --- LEFT

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1184Overall2.27
#1907Coolness24%

Comments

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Your WEB link leads to github

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Ha this is insane, those are some angry guys! Great fun

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:52am

I didn't like that you couldn't move horizontally and vertically at the same time. Otherwise a decent sidescroller.

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Some sort of a pause would make this a lot better. Not having a player health display is really bad. Not being able to move diagonally makes the game much harder (in a bad way). The speed at which everything moves at the end is too fast, impossible to dodge anything.

cudabear says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:08am

Um... very interesting, haha. The controls were pretty solid, though it was pretty pointless to dodge the flying heads when I realized they couldn't really hurt me. The audio was pretty funny!

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:36pm

I think I won!

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Pretty humorous game. The audio was pretty good. I wasn't able to figure out how to reach the portal though. Perhaps clearer instructions would be better?

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Not sure if you can die since I finished this in the first run. I liked the sound effects :)

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:10am

That's a nicely drawn ship.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Pretty funny sound effects, though I'm not sure if you're able to lose? By the end the enemies came at you so fast that it was literally impossible to evade them, so I just sat down in a corner were there didn't seem to spawn that many and just plowed through the ones that came by. And aside from more funny sound effects, nothing really seemed to happen when I hit one.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]