Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Caelum

by Rocketship - Jam Entry

Our humble entry for LD30!

You play as a fighter pilot from early 1900s when something strange happens and you find yourself in a world you shouldn't be in.

Controls: WASD or Arrow keys for moving, mouse for shooting, R for resetting the level in case of a "red screen bug".

Collect weird time manipulating power to progress.. in time!

NOTE: At random points in the game, the player might disappear and the screen left frozen into the red flash, press R to reset the level you're currently on.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#186Fun(Jam)3.39
#292Audio(Jam)3.27
#349Humor(Jam)2.49
#487Overall(Jam)3.06
#566Theme(Jam)2.69
#582Mood(Jam)2.71
#617Graphics(Jam)2.78
#714Innovation(Jam)2.17

Comments

CRAZEERUSKEE says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:41am

Great work! I love the art and gameplay - although it is a little tough. :)

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:26am

My plane went inviso... not really sure what happened. In anycase the game is pretty fun. The song cracks me up. Well done!

Broivula says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:29am

@mramaizng Hey and thanks for the review! We know that bug and so would you if you had read the description. :-) just press 'R' to restart the current level. Cheers!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:38am

Pretty interesting. I'd like to see the game expanded on.

jgthespy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:44am

Wow it is incredibly satisfying when you kill things in this game. I really had fun. I may come back to this.

oakus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:10am

Its fun game with classic gameplay. Execution is good, sounds are great. I don't see any theme interpretation here thought.

Teesquared says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:12am

Great arcade feel. Very visceral explosions and good audio.

r0x0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:13am

could you make a linux build?

prophile says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:15am

Froze up and I couldn't press the "start game" button—I'll give it another shot on another machine because it sounds good judging by the other comments.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:19am

a great idee, but it would be nice if the collers of the bullets change of the enemys so that it looks like it becomes harder evry level

muumeroinen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:21am

I liked it a lot!

sol_hsa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:22am

Ahhh.. those crunchy sounds <3

bazld says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:54am

Very enjoyable shooter! Controls excellently. + the audio really brings it together. The final theme/boss was cool to discover. Great entry.

Makio64 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:59am

Haha this music is so funny :D

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:25am

Nice game, good job. :)

fallingBear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:51am

Alot of fun, great game play. The upbeat music kept me smiling the whole time. Great entry :D

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Pretty little plane game with the connected worlds theme. I wish it had more innovation into it though.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Yay I completed it! :D

Was quite fun! I think you could make the enemies more predictable by letting the shoot in a specific pattern which would make it less just brutally hard.

Also you could put the portals to spawn after a certain time limit to make the length of the levels predictable. When I played it now I spent a long time playing before I got one and then I got 3 in a row basically so I didn't spend much time on the second and third level.

Anyways, the difficulty level was quite good and I enjoyed playing, good work!

Gametery says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Great game, gives the feeling of 90s :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06pm

I am sold on the BGM. It needs polishing visually but it is actually very fun with it's simplicity.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Screenshake + particles + random things = Awesome game. I couldn't beat it. so I guess I will have to surrender to our nyan cat toast ufo overlords :D

Moosefly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Pretty simple (I'm more of the bullet hell shooter kind of guy) but it has some nice juice poured into it :P. The randomness of the levels was pretty annoying though. On my first try the enemies just wouldn't drop anything and on my second try the second enemy I killed dropped the wormhole-opener-3000-thingamajig. On the following levels I also got it almost instantly and cleared the game in just a few minutes.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Ryusui says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:37am

Surprised the heck outta me to see that big blue portal spawn. The music seems a bit goofy-sounding for a top-down shooter, but I love the nice, crunchy explosions you've got going here.

Only other issue I have is that the powerups seem a bit sparse. Is the portal pickup a random drop, or does it spawn after a certain amount of time/number of kills/etc.?

dook says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Cute little shooter. The interpretation of the theme is a bit simple, but the awesome music and solid gameplay makes up for it :P

BitDemon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:27pm

A fun game with nice graphics and sound, but its a bit difficult. Nice work.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:10am

I quite liked this game, it is obviously not the most original idea but it was well executed. My only complaint is that the first level was not as good as the other levels. It (in contrast to the other levels) gives the feel of a "bugged" art asset that accidentally got its size increased and became blurred for no reason. In the other levels however, the whole "you are far up and the world is blurred" effect works a lot better.

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:49pm

The plane has a lot of inertia, which is not so common in that type of game. If you want the player to dodge bullets, the controls should be more responsive.

That was my only concern with the game, it is pretty nicely done :)

egos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:18pm

well polished good job

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:09pm

I'm a big fan of top down shooters, so this was great.
The audio perfectly matched the gameplay which I really enjoyed

01101101 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Nice music!

ruerob says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Nice gameplay and music. Thank you for your game.

AlbertoSM says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:24am

Nice game overall, but it needs to some visual guidance to help the player know how much health does the plane have, how long do the power ups work, etc. Also the "weird time manipulating power" doesnt show up...and I don't really know how it looks, so I got stuck on the first level.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Just loving the backgroung music, so cheerful! I also like the explosion sounds.
The portal drops really shouldn't be random, I nearly stopped after my first try, because I played the first level for like 10 min without anything special happening. And then suddenly on my second run the first enemy dropped a '?'.
The enemies in the different levels should behave differently, because so it feels pretty boring playing essentially the same level 3 or 4 times just with different sprites...

Ramiel says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:08pm

I was a bit confused about under what circumstances the portal would appear. Sometimes it didn't appear for minutes and then again shortly after I restarted the level. But a cool endboss and music.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Simple but well done. I included it in part 19 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ljAqElzAd_Q

alangamebot says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 5:41am

Cool. I had a lot of fun playing this. It reminded me of Time Pilot

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]