Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Azure

by BubbleChien - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Read the message in the bottle at the beginning, then another message appears when you solve a puzzle on the "alien" totems.

The puzzles work like small sudokus of 4 squares of 4 glyphs. Only one of each glyph per square and per line! Click on a square to change the glyph.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#32Mood4.00
#60Audio3.74
#218Graphics3.67
#496Overall3.27
#699Fun2.88
#817Innovation2.81
#897Theme2.70

Comments

JosephLittle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:25pm

It looks and sounds very nice but I just could not figure out how I was supposed to do those puzzles :(

frogalicious says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:26pm

I can't pretend to understand what was going on but I really liked the ambience of the island well done !

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:32pm

REally nice mood for the game, but alas I could not figure out what to do. Also, not sure what the mouse control setup at the beginning was? Nice job.

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:33pm

I really like this kind of games. The atmosphere from the music and sounds and day/night cycle was great.

erdnuss says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Nice graphics, interesting story (although I did not play to the end). The puzzle solving gets a bit boring after some time (did I do something wrong?) and does not feel connected to the theme or the story. But still, a nice game.

MaddeStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:24pm

I loved the graphics, played with the stone thingy (I assumed it was sudoku). It only feels as though it is lacking in what you're actually supposed to do. It was nice, just not a lot of real gameplay. Anyway, great graphics, loved the style!

evilentity says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Some tutorial puzzle would be great, have no clue!

clofresh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Interesting island ambience, though not sure what the benefit of an fps view for a sudoku game is

sthreet says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Only change I would suggest would be making the fact that it is four squares more obvious.

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:47am

I don't really agree with most of the other comments. I thought this game worked beautifully and it's one of my favourite experiences of this LD so far.

The little sudoku puzzles were pretty self-explanatory and worked very well to give the game some structure. They were relatively easy to solve but not so easy that they didn't require a bit of thought - perfectly balanced to drive the game along without becoming frustrating.

The incentive for playing them, of course was the story. This was handled beautifully - mysterious and oddly touching. I only wish I'd had a bit more closure at the end. I finished all the totems but the last message left me expecting more. Did I miss something?

Visuals and music are great. Together with the day/night cycle they create real ambience.

Altogether, a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Thanks!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:42pm

One of my favourites so far. Played it all the way through and really enjoyed the atmosphere. Did feel like the ending was a bit abrupt with the last message though.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Cool, reminds me of Myst. The atmosphere was really great. Didn't understand the puzzles but that's how it usually goes with weird symbols. :D Really solid game.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:46am

Liked that I got to set my own controls at the start. Also enjoyed the message in the bottle and the idea of the totem puzzles... but I had no idea what I was suppose to be doing with them.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:33am

Sudoku Island :) great climate, love the music and background sounds

yodamaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Yeah, no interaction.

Pheonise says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:19am

Wonderful game, simple but solid puzzles, the story was also great - reminded me a little of Little Inferno's story style. I hope to see this expanded on somehow, if only for a more... happy ending!

smizmeal says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Beautiful art and nice atmosphere. I found the messages in the bottle to be a little unclear, but I really liked the sudoku-type puzzle solving.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:55am

Beautiful island. I included it in part 22 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/_5a2Oj9U9sk

ClownAround says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:42am

Very nice game. Loved the atmosphere and music. Day and night cycles were a good touch. Liked the control setup at the beginning.

igoramendola says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:54pm

I don't usually play sudoku, but looks like I'm not bad at all haha... I could finish it without any problem :)
It's a really interesting concept. The music and sounds give a nice atmosphere. Good work ^^

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]