Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Dance of Fire And Ice

by fizzd - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A one button rhythm game about hitting the breakbeat.

[POST COMPO version adds TUTORIAL LEVELS, a few bends earlier on to make the start a little less monotonous, as well as letting you go back to the menu. If you want the true competition version for fair judging, get the Dropbox version! And if you want a less steep learning curve, get the itch.io one!]
--
A planet of fire,
A planet of ice,
Eternally dancing,
Alternating the lead
So one will not
fall in the other
to make two mildly lukewarm planets. Ugh!
--


Use whichever key you see fit - though the left and right arrow keys adjust the offset.

I've tested the latencies on Mac and PC and adjusted them for each platform, but there is a chance your computer will have a different latency setting as well. Use the training area to check the latency!

About half the jam was spent trying approaches to sync movement as accurately as possible, regardless of how off the player's input is. The way I figured how to do it is, if you hit it a little early/late, the angle will jump a little to compensate for it! Thus the planets are eternally in sync with that cosmic bass drum.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#6Audio4.26
#61Fun3.83
#93Overall3.79
#120Innovation3.83
#272Mood3.33
#413Humor2.54
#749Theme2.96
#799Graphics2.72

Comments

invi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:58am

I love the sick beats you have in your games. The feedback from the game was really solid and rewarding. Wish the first section was shorter though. Or at least ramp up a little faster. Very fun rhythm game :D

bladderbloat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:37am

Very cool idea, would love it on mobiles!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:10am

Ohh, that is a great puzzler-idea :D

fizzd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:01am

Thank you for the feedback guys! One thing I really do need feedback on is difficulty - did anyone beat the first level or give up? If you beat it I'd be interested to know what speed level you managed to get up to. It'll come really useful when designing more stages.

(My personal best is 1.3x!)


Also did it work fine on Windows machines, if anyone can confirm?

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Fizzd, worked fine in Chrome on Windows for me.

Excellent game. Great job linking the gameplay/music rhythm.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:14pm

I can't get past that first turn in the second level! Nice game, great music. Also, GoT!

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:17pm

I'm awful at rhythm games, but this was so much fun!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Very cool idea but too difficult for me. Also it'll be better with randomly generated level. Kinda boring to run straight line at start every time.

jpmit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Great idea! Hard but fun. Well done.

ZwodahS says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Please make the starting segment shorter .... Other than that nice idea !

CryoGenesis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:35pm

This game is badass. Really cool how the movements match the music. Great job.

burgerdare says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:37pm

This is actually a lot of fun. I feel like it would benefit immensely from having a background track with a rhythm that synced up with the ideal button press times. At least right now, it feels a little easy to get lost in the beat of the song and lose track of your button timing.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:49pm

That was awesome. Easily 5 stars for audio.

I was so happy that I finally got to hear the song all the way through.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Enjoyed this, I agree it would work well on a phone!

eott says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Great game! Like you realized, the game is a bit unforgiving, but fun nonetheless.

heterosapiens says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Awesome stuff! Barely managed to spam my way through the game just to listen to the awesome beats.

Although, a more forgiving-puzzly-version for non-twitchy gamers would be nice. :P

fil00dl says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:42pm

the revival of rhythm game. awesome!

ceosol says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Definitely cut down the first part. A lead should be something like 8 bars. That was around 25 bars (Although I couldn't get an accurate count since you have to pay attention to get that far). The best part of the game was the turns and how it synced to the beats. I got up to the upward zigzag and finally called it quits because it took so long to get back there every time.

Love the music and game.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:01am

This is a really great rhythm game. So slick. Love it :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Nice one! Love the beat!

Shide says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Really great and addictive rhythm game. Just as rhythm game should be. Great work!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Hi there. Amazing sounds and visuals. Great game really good job. Source code needs to be provided for the 48h competition ... Good job!

Kate Kligman says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:04am

Cool idea, fun to play. The audio really worked well with this.

danidre14 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:17pm

This game is crap, it doesn't even read all key presses, although you are clearly tapping out the life of your keyboard, and/or mouse! Fix that glitch. On a side note the game was really interesting, and I almost beat it out that one time. But then the constant "wait till he reaches halfway and not read his key down, although it is not a bend, and he is pressing on time" that the game loves to do, just makes me wanna low my start even more! Just be happy I'll give you 5 and I smell your game coming in the top 100, if not the top 10, if not the top 1.

tbam says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:15am

Great music, brutal difficulty, great overall!

radmars says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:16am

Awesome, I love to see rhythm games in LD. The bends were hard to get the hang of until I heard the rhythm (good call on the tutorial for post-compo). The latency values to make it feel right were different on the title screen vs the actual game which weirded me out a bit (based on tempo maybe?) Also were the colors just random? Might be cool to have them be based on accuracy so you can potentially adjust yourself. Got up to 1.1x then I stopped btw. Nice work!

OFF says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:30am

Maybe the ONLY rythm'game i ever liked.
The idea of the two star is simple but create an unusual feeling compared to the "line" spirit of any rythm game.
I'm really fan of the track, and the background effect.
Real nice and fun game.

spotco says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:20am

That was fucking glorious.
You weren't kidding with the difficulty, after about 30 mins got about 3/4ths of the way through the song at max (before regressing and not even being able to do the intro part).

Add JPop and sparkles/special effects and I'd fund it.

Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Nice take on the rhythm genre :)

bentog says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:05pm

As a fan of Rhythm Heaven, I say this is amazing!

bentog says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Also, maybe you didn't notice, but the melody really sounds like this: http://adhesivewombat.bandcamp.com/track/8-bit-adventure had to take a star away from innovation because of it :(

SnoutUp says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Loved this! Very well made, feels so good to get through the level.

micahcowan says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:06am

Very cool! The original is just way too damn hard without some introduction. The revised version obviously fixes that, but it seems like maybe the full-on level in it runs a little faster? At any rate it doesn't seem to read my keypresses as consistently on that level as either the earlier (slower) levels, or the full-on level from the original.

Music's nice, glad you gave it a little more to do during the intro sequence in the revised version. Fun game!

runvs says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Great Idea! Really love that concept. Please make a mobile version, this would be so great!
It works fine on windows.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Simply awesome rhythm game. Got up to 1.2x speed before I quit. My thumb is now hurting (thank you for including gamepad support). Absolutely love the music and the game.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Oh, I forgot: You should shorten that intro. At higher speeds the beginning is near impossible until the beat kicks in.

And I just completed 1.2x speed.
(...one day 1.3x ... one day...)

MaesK says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Very innovative considering the theme, nicely done! I would have never expected to see a rhythm game here, specially of this quality.

Sunflower says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 9:10am

Interesting entry, but the compo version was just downright evil, making player start without some prior training or something, and in both version the main song starts being audible very late, making the beginning a pain - quite often I lost on the straight path at the beginning, and at later point, once I got into rhythm, I was losing on the bends. I didn't dare to beat 0.9x version, though. >.<

Oh, and I really dislike the green/red beats in the background; they're just so intense, and make my eyes tired. Maybe reduce their alpha a bit? Like, 5 or 10 times? ^^"

lkr says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Fun take on music games and the compo theme :)

Would have loved to see more variation in the beat in more advanced stages! Made it to 1.1x, but it was quite difficult to keep the beat until the bass kicks in at that point, so restarting was kind of a chore.

I had great fun with the game :)

alvarop says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Really fun!

fizzd says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Woah, broke the top 100, and #6 in audio - missed out on runner-up for audio by 0.02 points. I wasn't even sure it was going to do that! Lots to learn anyways, was a fun first game jam. Thanks for rating everyone.

Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:11pm

AMAZING! I love this game! 10/10 on everything from me!

Rustam says ...
May 5, 2017 @ 10:15am

Its like a having a whole card shop in your pocket! http://downloadfreesoftwareblog.ru Feature Highlights: Playlists (with random play) Thumbnails (only on devices with Android 2.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]