Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Interstellar

by jsmars - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Thanks for trying my LD30 compo entry!
Didn't have much time this LD but I hope you like it!

Has online highscores, be sure to be top 10!
Your computer name is used for online highscore name.

You may need to install XNA redist to get it working (if the game crashes at startup), the installer is in the rar!

Use arrow keys and shift to play, enjoy!
F10 - fullscreen
M - toggle music

Post any thoughts or bugs in comments, thanks! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#55Theme4.00
#74Fun3.80
#135Humor3.24
#135Audio3.52
#140Graphics3.88
#153Overall3.67
#253Mood3.36
#308Innovation3.48

Comments

invi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:54am

Lovely! Reminded me of the good old NES days.

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:54am

Nice art style :)
It feels a bit hard.

Sequenceko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:55am

Nice graphics, game is hard though and fun. Nice use of the literal meaning of the theme haha.

Foofur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:56am

The game didn't work... I tried to run the exe but windows says it stopped working all the time :(

Healthire says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:01am

Surprisingly fun for such a simple mechanic. I like the graphics and music a lot. Difficulty can be a bit spiky because of randomness.

jsmars says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:52am

Sorry Foofur, forgot to mention you may need to install XNA redist, it's in the rar file.

dunin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:34pm

fun but too short for making a lot of retry (the point where the situation is almost impossible come too fast).
High score add really to the fun...
Nice mood, the music make the absurd of the situation totally normal...

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:49pm

it would be nice if you change the name play 1.0 into something like windows or downloud.

SpringPowered says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:54pm

It is quite fun, though as someone else said, the difficulty is a bit wonky because of the randomness.
What I really don't appreciate though is that it uploads my computer's name to the internet... And it does so without telling me.

jsmars says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Sorry SpringPowered, I can change it afterwards if you like, just tell me to/from what. Your computer name is shown at the title screen which is used for online highscores, didn't have time to make it changeable.

Pheonise says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:28pm

This was an excellent game! The controls were simple to get a hold of, the graphics were very consistent (and the colissions looked great), and the sounds matched great.

Loved it!

Made it onto the leaderboards, too ;)

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Tried to play it but didnt work. Is there a workaround?

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Awesome game and fairly difficult to boot. Excellent that you managed to incorporate stats & leaderboards in as well.

sputnik says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Love the leaderboard. Always a ++

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Nice game, the gameplay felt a bit random but I enjoyed making it on to the leaderboard. :)

Snoother says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Nice graphics and music, which set up well the feel of the game. And the gameplay is very addictive (especially thanks to the scoreboard); and I particularly like how the gameplay ties in with the theme. But the difficulty does seem a bit inconsistent. Sometimes you'll hit an essentially impassable cluster in 5 seconds, other times you'll glide through with ease for at least 20 seconds.

jsmars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:31am

Yeah the randomess does add some inconsistency, but for this I think it's ok. It's a bit like Spelunky with the randomess I guess, sometimes you get a good run and sometimes not, it adds a bit to the excitement :)

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:08pm

really cool game, music and mechanics are over the top, managed to do 33.93 seconds

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:25am

Awesome awesome innovation! Very fun!

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:23am

Haha, first off all, ty for taking connected worlds seriously like our team did. XD Our games are rather similar. I loved the concept, graphics, and music. A bit hard, but it seems like it's meant to be that way. A+ from me. :)

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:25pm

GOTY

I half-hoped that the stretchy bit would slingshot asteroid back at themselves, but that's a bit much to hope for for 48 hours, I think!

So much awesomeness in a little package. Well done!

jpverkamp says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:55am

Definitely connected worlds! For how simple it was, I spent entirely too long playing it. Didn't *quite* make it into the high scores, but I came close. I could see this idea going somewhere, especially if you got all this working in 48 hours...

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Woah.
These graphics was really nice.
Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]