Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Intergalactic: Multidimensional Planetary World Defenders

by polyboxgames - Jam Entry

The enemy is attacking from multiple dimensions and you must defend {some corny important thingy} from harm!

Navigate your space ship and blast your way through multiple dimensions, all while collecting power-ups, defending the important thingy and racking up as many points as you can.

- Use W A S D to fly your space ship around

- Point and click to shoot the bad guys

- Use SPACE or right click to drop a bomb that damages enemies between dimensions

- Use Q and E to switch between worlds (See current dimension in the bottom left)

- Use M to mute the sound


* * * * * * *

Post your high scores (along with your feedback) in the comments! We'd love to hear what you think.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#149Audio(Jam)3.56
#161Graphics(Jam)3.96
#200Overall(Jam)3.48
#203Fun(Jam)3.36
#248Mood(Jam)3.33
#538Theme(Jam)2.78
#579Innovation(Jam)2.69

Comments

ThatSamu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Looked really nice, but the gameplay felt a bit shallow. The idea of switching between the worlds was cool though and could be brought into a bigger concept.

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Very unforgiving game. Really well polished, I enjoyed the sound effects and the music. I think if there is anyway of making it clearer which dimension some of the shapes are in it would help, maybe filling the shape if its in the same dimension as you and drawing an outline if its not? Or the inverted way. Good job though! Better than a lot of stuff on here. :)

dhargan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:02pm

asteroids... good old days :D good job mate!

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Woha! That was incredibly fun and cool to look at :D.

OK, the game is very fun I had fun playing. The shoot was really good and the movement felt nice (although I didn't like the inertia too much it made it hard to pickup boosts).

That said the graphics were awesome particularly the explosions. I lost a whole round just standing there admiring the colors (yes, yes, childish but whatever XD).

I liked also the difficulty. It is hard but it is kind of fair. The only thing I won't call fair is how it is also extremely hard to pinpoint your location on the screen with so much explosions. I died MANY times because I couldn't find my ship on the screen in the heat of battle.

The music was OK, I felt it needed a bit more upbeat tone but the one there fit the bill. The sound effects were cool too (although a bit loud).

All in all, it is a very interesting take on the concept and I liked the gameplay, was really fun. :)

Good luck and good work!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Hi there. Your game looks fantastic, but I couldn't cope at all with the rate of attacks... was essentially firing at random, dying at random. I think maybe you could scale up difficulty from a lower level. Great visuals as I say and sounds completely fit. Good job!

pikkpoiss says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Fun classic gameplay with some great graphics. Pretty difficult, and while the effects are really nice and add a level of intensity to everything maybe the enemies could have been made to stand out a little more from the rest of the effects going on. Good job!

steve says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Fun game, got a bit confusing when there was a lot on the screen, could do with some separation between the effects so that player/bullets/enemies stand out a little more, also needs something to draw the players eye to their new location when they die, and some indication that the core is taking damage.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Did my speakers just died ? Just kidding, nice game, I liked those colorful particles.

reheated says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Fun, and highly polished. The particle effects are great and the world-switching mechanic is very clever.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:22pm

a little difficult to control, but very nice graphics, good jog.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:42pm

This game was crazy! Too hectic, it was difficult for me to see what was going on. Nice graphics and audio effects. Another perspective on an asteroids game. Great job!

hbocao says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Simple gameplay with a twist. I liked it, but it was kinda hard to get the hang of it. I'm not complaining about it! hehe I loved your graphics! Simple but very pretty. Good work on the sound too. Solid entry!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 2:30am

Extremely well polished and excellent take on theme. High marks here!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]