Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Balls from Planet LD30

by togie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I was planning on doing a cool short action rpg and i had a few tiles made until i was drawn away from the pc for a family event ... lucky i was able to make this "entry" if you can call it that lol

WASD - movement

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#551Humor2.33
#657Graphics2.95
#1075Fun2.32
#1077Mood2.13
#1137Theme2.06
#1147Innovation2.06
#1160Overall2.35
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

leondryaso says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:50pm

You are using .lnk file for connecting icon with exe? That is not the right way to do it. And it won't start because you can't access res folder from different working directory. You should create some Z-sorting, it feels weird that you can't go behind the tree.

togie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:57am

thanks all amke the change and update it, i had just thrown the exe together quick to have it uploaded in time

Jvdo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:45am

Even though the game looks great, there's not that much too it. I don't feel like I can make any meaningful decisions other than camping somewhere at the bottom of the screen.

jojocanard says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:23am

Exe file doesn't launch.

sudorossy says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Gameplay is a little lacking, but good job for your first LD :)

dook says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Silly little thing. Not the most engaging around, but nice attempt for such short time and the graphics are pretty neat :)

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:29am

Love the NINTENDO DS stye zelda art really nice coulda used more interactions but great try

jomomomo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Can't play windows games. Can we get a web version?

DaGamesta says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:46am

Decently programmed, collisions can be hard. But from a design standpoint the concept is too simple, avoid the balls. Well, it was a completed game done in time for a Ludum Dare, so I don't judge you too much for going for simplicity, it's decent for what it is.

Tanser says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:32am

Not sure if its sort of idea of style to write the way you did at the start screen, but it looks more like lazy and illiterate.
The game is trying to make sense of depth but there is none with the collision. Missing music and sounds.

togie says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Thanks for the comments guys both positive and negative. Next ludum dare i will apply everything i have learned from these comments. Btw Tanser it was a little bit of laziness and trial and error, i had put all my text at the bottom of the 32 x 32 sprite then realized after that it should be centered to avoid p's and q's and such.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]