Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pocket Planets

by ChezPain - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this game you play as a planet and you battle other planets.

There are five planets total, it's best if you fight them from left to right.

HOW TO PLAY (Also explained inside)
You move with the arrow keys or WASD, you can slow down by pressing SHIFT. When near a planet press Y to battle.

During battles press A to bring up the actions menu, and press the number keys to perform the corresponding action.

This should work on Windows, OS/X, and Linux as long as you have Java 7 or higher installed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#50Humor3.67
#213Audio3.32
#390Fun3.23
#454Overall3.30
#596Mood2.94
#641Innovation3.05
#683Graphics2.91
#877Theme2.73
#1570Coolness40%

Comments

buckslice says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Cool idea. It took me a while to figure out you have to hit enter at the start of each battle hah. I was mostly able to kill the planets by just using attack though. Nice job.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:35am

There was perhaps a bit too long of a tutorial for such a short game, but it was overall a lot of fun and a lot of great content. I found the boss battle a tiny-bit anticlimatic, but I think I lucked into that win. Great work!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:48am

Hahaha, love the ending! Hilarious.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:14am

Unique Concept was SUPER EFFECTIVE. First instance I've seen of anyone connected planets FOR BATTLE! I tried to emply some RNG negatives in my game, but nothing as clever as yours :)

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Well done! I like it. :)) One thing tho, tha background moves in the wrong direction on the Y-axis

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:08pm

I enjoyed the ending thing. The actual game play really is pretty thin. Impressive music!

TehSkull says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:12pm

The level select screen was more fun than the combat. I was better off just hitting Attack every round.

Vallar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:22pm

LMAO!!! [SPOILER - Gunpoint and this game]

It reminded me of Gunpoint when I punched the first guy multiple times XD this game is hilariously funny from the names of the planets to the ending!

I liked the idea of battling planets and for the first time I didn't HATE the turn based combat of the old JRPGs. That was very nice there, even though I didn't understand the RNG parts.

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:24pm

OH GOD THE SCREAMS XD Hhaha nice game

MicroChasm says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Neat idea. Its funny to think of a planet going around fighting. I would like to see some visual representation of what is happening when you fight, especially the nukes.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]