Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

GPS: Galactic Parcel Service

by lakael - Jam Entry

Space is huge, but that hasn't reduced people's needs for a speedy parcel delivery service. Protect your cargo, manage your clients' happiness, and get packages to their destination before time runs out.

Controls: WASD, Arrow keys, and mouse. You'll figure it out. You're smart.

The only builds that were tested were Web (Firefox) and Windows... so good luck!

For the Linux version, you need to make it executable: http://pastebin.com/y58m05Lf

We are a team of two (Ryan Harrington, programmer, and Lauren Ellis, artist) who work together under the name of Ignis Studios. This is our first Ludum Dare. Original soundtrack composed for this game by Jeff McMillen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#96Graphics(Jam)4.17
#186Humor(Jam)2.97
#284Audio(Jam)3.29
#289Fun(Jam)3.20
#294Overall(Jam)3.35
#319Mood(Jam)3.21
#327Theme(Jam)3.28
#605Innovation(Jam)2.61

Comments

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:37am

This is good and polished. It shows that you're well rounded as a duo. I would rate it even higher but there's an abundance of space games already flying around.

lakael says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:18am

Yeah, I think that was the problem with "Connected Worlds." We all instantly thought space...

lakael says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:19am

And thanks! This is our third game together.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:47am

Great level of polish and a nice clean art style. Just like Fanatrick said, too many space games haha

JordanFitz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:52am

The graphics in this game are incredible. The game is also very well polished.

banana4life says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:53am

Very nice game. But it felt weird to have to click to deliver.

Follett says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:53am

This is insanely well polished. Graphically it all goes together so well. Normally due to the quick development times there are always little graphical interdependencies but this flows so well.

You should be so proud of what you have here.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:59am

Fun game! I had an easier time getting packages to their destination when I just ignored the enemies and focused on getting there faster. A nice departure from the usual shmup :)

idovingx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:59am

Nice work! It would have been nice to be able to select missions/deliveries so everything wasn't counting down at once, but there's only so much time I guess :)

harko12 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06am

Good riff on Asteriods, with lots of new mechanics. I couldn't get behind the control scheme though.. not sure why but I just didn't get into it. Great work for 48 hrs though

FinnMacd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:07am

perhaps i'm stupid but I don't understand the game

seantheartist says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:07am

Cool game, love the art!

jpcote says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:11am

Great game ! I love the art, so polished. Great twist on Asteroid game. I love it

Kato says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:11am

Like everyone else has said, nice polished art! The web version is pretty heavy. Took like 10 minutes for it to load, and my internet isn't slow. It startled me when it started. lol. That is a lot of game for not very much time. Great job.

biscuitWizard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:24am

Like the soundtrack, and especially the graphics. I felt it fit the theme. Also. Space games unite!

Robber says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:27am

'Galactic Parcel Service' that is already hilarious to me :) but nice work, also like the characters and their comments..Fun

chicken says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:35am

Awesome game! :D

By the way, with the pastebin I gave you, I wanted you to:
- Create "Makefile" file, with no extension
- Add the content of the pastebin in the file
- Put the Makefile at the root of the linux build
- Zip it and resend
- Then say somewhere that you need to type "make" in a terminal to make the files executable

I think through that people will understand how to make it executable. But you know, details KappaKappa

moomoo112 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:35am

The character and planet artwork is fantastic, but the screen turned black after leaving the dock.

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:25am

Really nice polished game! Especially for 72 hours, great job! You guys NEED to continue devving, you've got something solid here! Best of luck, great entry!

Kyoutashan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:58am

You web build took a long time to load (it also failed 1 time), and in the end, my computer was not powerful enough to handle all the graphics at this resolution :(

On a brighter note, from what I saw, this game is really polished. It's a good start for a 72h entry, good luck with your future projects :)

creative630 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:05am

Enjoyed this. We also considered an inter-planetary delivery game - cool to see someone made it happen!

Title screen is so nicely designed! Confused why that look wasn't worked into the game itself.

Still had a good time with this!

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:29pm

It was beautiful and polished, but it didn't seem to go anywhere after delivering a lot of things.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:08pm

I like the presentation. The alien graphics are really nice.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:15am

Beautiful game!

lakael says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:31am

Thanks guys! We want to polish it up. 72 hours is not much time, but it was so much fun!

TehSkull says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:12am

This has such a cool feel to it. I would love to see concept art for a sci-fi game made by you guys. The graphic design is just so pleasant.

(Not) Ivano says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:36am

A solid, enjoyable entry: I liked the attention to details -logo, UI, zoom- sounds and general graphics are ok.

H1S2 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Loading the web version took ages for me and the options button in the start menu did nothing when I clicked on it :(
Nice graphics and no problems with controlling the space ship. Although I do like the idea and see that you were trying to *connect worlds* in the game, to me planets != worlds, but I guess that's just my personal opinion :)

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:48pm

An overall fun experience. I like the interface and the gameplay works very well. Wish there was some more things to do, but it's a great start! Also very good mood in this one.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:05pm

I love the portraits of the people getting the deliveries. I personally don't like the controls, but that's just me. Nice game.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:44am

Hi there. Nice looking, couldn't get to any of the indicated targets in time due to all the fighting, might need to look at balance and at least start off easier. Though of course it might be my bad abilities... Good job overall!

lakael says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Hey mrexcessive - Yeah the enemies load randomly right now, which does make it challenging sometimes. We would definitely want to balance it as we continue to work on it. Thanks for playing!

01101101 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Pretty nice! One of the best space shooter we've seen so far.

Dohan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Beautiful graphics, nice music and interesting gameplay. I really like it. The only thing, on the web version, the right click enable the context menu (you can disable it when you build the game for web in Unity).

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:14am

usually during ludum dare, you need to sacrifice something due to time, however you 2 managed to make 2 complete systems (gameplay and graphics) and implemented them in a way that complements each other, giving the overall feel of the game a very polished feel. Excellent job! :)

varun says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:47am

Man, so many people trying to attack me, and all I do is deliver packages! Great game, and loved the posh aliens!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:40am

The mechanics felt off to me. also there were too many other enemy ships flying around which took away from the delivery aspect of the game. good job.

spotco says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:41am

Nicely designed ui's and menus (you can really see the web design background!), though some wonky bits (random note, it looks like there are transparency artifacts around the afterburner trails).

Gameplay wise, had some trouble figuring out what to do. People were shooting at me but I didn't have any reactions (no health bar, screen shake, etc). This could be the start of a fun space-themed rpg, however!

Finally, couldn't hear any audio though I saw it had original soundtrack. Double checked that my sound was on, too!

markusfisch says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:32am

Great game! Had a very similar idea but without all the shooting and those very cool alien heads. Very nice music and good sound effects. All I'd want is a cannon that can fire sidewards :)

And I don't think there can be too many space games.

rjhelms says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Beautiful graphical style, and a nice interpretation of the theme. Would love to see more work on this!

lakael says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:51am

Wow thanks guys!! Weird about the audio. Yes, agree about the health bar and too many enemies. We are working on it non-stop (hence the delay in replying to you all, so sorry!) to polish those things out. Cheers!

Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Lovely art in this one! Nice game. I failed at every contract though >.<

Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Great art style and really liked the character design and overall feel. Good stuff!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]