Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Starlight

by stephenhaney - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Starlight will make you smile. This browser based game will take you across the galaxy in the search for the planet Stephanie Starlight! You are tasked to deliver a romantic letter from an admiring world. Make friends with planets along the way and get a full dose of silly nods and references. Whatever happens, just be sure to deliver that letter and earn yourself a gold star!

(Google Chrome recommended for best experience. FireFox appears to be working swimmingly as well. Not tested in IE.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#5Humor4.43
#52Mood3.86
#130Overall3.71
#204Audio3.34
#206Theme3.73
#210Graphics3.69
#271Fun3.41
#500Innovation3.24

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Great humor! I was literally laughing all the time while playing. The connection to the theme is a bit thin but I can still see it. The graphics are great and the audio is quite nice. Good job on this game!

Ohems says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Rules state that everything has to be done within 48 hours and no images from the internet are allowed. How did you get that earth texture and many of the other planet textures?

maad9 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Really funny game :D good job!

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:51pm

I like this game more than is probably reasonable! Excellently made, polished, complete and incredibly charming. Just how I like my Ludum Dare games. (although my own ones never are)

My only gripe is that I'd love to be able to control the ship with keys or joystick as an option, or maybe be able to hold down the mouse button to keep going feels like I'm clicking more than I should have to.

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Thanks for the feedback all!

Ohems - interesting. From what I see, the rules don't specifically mention textures, and since things like sound sample packs and libraries are allowed I figured textures were ok. I also modified the source textures a lot to create the final assets, and I also re-drew all of the faces. Everything you see in game was created in the 48 hours - I included my PSDs in my source. I'll send a note to the staff and see if I need to remove the textures, especially the less edited ones like Earth.

Rialgar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:55pm

I would like to respond to your whitty humor, but then I had to choose one, and I can't. Great game.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:59pm

I got a lot of laughs from this game, loved the humour. I liked the graphics and the audio was good too.

TGL says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Really liked the relaxing gameplay and humor after many challenging games I played before this

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:30pm

@Ohems - Texturegate update: I spoke with Mike Kasprzak (who runs this whole thang) on Twitter, and we actually sparked a rule change/clarification! It sounds like going forward, textures will be allowed as long as they are part of a 'derivative work' and not used unedited (just as pre-existing samples are allowed in songs). Thanks again for bringing this to my attention.

HeuGamer says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Loved the references and humor. Very polished!

shimage says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Very nice mood and fun sentence. I was interested in the outside of universe.

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:48pm

I liked this game, but there wasn't any music/audio, which was too bad. But otherwise, good game!

Fonserbc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:52pm

..lasers, yes, and lasers.

FXCesinha says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:52pm

I found! I loved planet faces...

Mnemusyne says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:27am

Romeo and Juliet so sad.

fleegle2000 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:41am

Hilarious characters, zany sense of humor. I love the focus on exploration. I couldn't stop playing until I found the last planet. I also like the way the ship moves - makes it easy to get around without overshooting the target.
Music is nice and fitting. My only complaint is that I could see the seams between the background tiles - I would recommend making the background static or have it scroll a lot slower than the planets. The planet textures are equal parts funny and beautiful. I love the Waldo planet! And the Death Star.

Great work!

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:02am

@fleegle2000 - Great call on the background seams and parallax idea. Those stars were my placeholder graphic, and I forgot / ran out of time to replace them with something better! Thank you for the compliments and for playing.

PixelFeet says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:03am

Great game, fun to play! I personally enjoyed Pluto a lot! STARLIGHT MASTER RACE!

sekaru says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:56am

Loved the game. Clever use of the theme and good humour throughout (especially with those references). I was having a few framerate problems but that could just be my terrible laptop.

mclewis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:50am

Fantastic game. I could only find 37 planets though :(

EnigmAraigne says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:01am

Really good game. Great humor, but i had some trouble with sounds don't know why.

Congrats!

Snoother says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:16am

I love the take on the theme. And it's enjoyably silly, while also being rather pretty to look at too. 5 planets left to find...

Mali says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:02pm

This was great. One of the only games which brought a a really big smile to my face. 5 stars for Humour. Would have loved more planets/objectives, but really well made for the time. I enjoyed it very much and this is one of the only games which I actively wanted to finish. Good job! :)

Alucard J says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Much enjoyment was had. Dem feels for Pluto Q_Q

Nisshoku says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:22am

Like the sense of humor gameplay was a bit lacking for me.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:40am

Pretty funny, good use something to increase interactivity though.

Lythom says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Hi there ! Here are some feedbacks.
What i liked :
- Polished visuals (UI, fonts, global visual consistency)
- Music and sounds
- Consistent global experience
What imo could be improved :
- Didn't have much fun clicking all around without a clue to where to go. More gameplay ?
- The Stars background not beeing seemless ;)

Great quality in the realisation, Thanks for the game !

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:37am

I enjoyed this. The music and audio were nice. Gameplay was smooth, content was amusing, and it was just an all around pleasant experience. Nice work.

creative630 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Plain and simple brilliant.

I was really surprised to see another entry interpreting Connected Worlds as an inter-stellar romance. Must say, I really, really loved how you did it. Such a pleasure to play - so many laugh out loud funny moments. Finding Kashyyyk absolutely killed me! Easily the most funny LD30 entry I've seen and beautifully executed to boot.

Rated this very highly - I hope you do really well!

jprogman says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:29am

Love hearing the planets banter!

Lvyn says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Funny enjoyed meeting Romeo and Juliet :)

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Amazing game! Lot of humor, I connected with lots of planets. Also, graphics fits the whimsical nature of the game. Love it!

PapyGaragos says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:56am

Found 36 planets. I found it hard to know where I was exactly, a minimap or a different background could be a great addition for that.

Cool idea, nice puns and references, but it lacks gameplay and is not really fun in itself.

Larzan says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:30am

Beautiful, couldn't stop until i got the all. And i have to say, absolutely gorgeous font choic, love it!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]