Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Incursion

by AccountNo17 - Jam Entry

Controls:Walk: W A S D | Shoot: click | Switch Weapon: Mouse Wheel | Restart: F5
Aliens are trying to connect our worlds, to start a massive incursion. They are building a portal, and to stop them, you must kill them.

The blue bar is the portal progress. You can decrease it by killing aliens, but beware, it will increase over time and also speed up.
The red bar is you health, you will lose some, if you get hit or touched by an alien.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#541Humor(Jam)1.97
#605Audio(Jam)2.06
#631Fun(Jam)2.56
#673Mood(Jam)2.33
#734Theme(Jam)1.90
#740Graphics(Jam)2.12
#741Innovation(Jam)1.98
#757Overall(Jam)2.43

Comments

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:08am

Nice game. Work hard and your games will be better and better :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Screen shakes too much.

Gametery says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:59pm

You guys did good but there is a lot of place for improvement, Keep up your passion and continue what you are doing! I look forward to see you guys again in the next LD :)

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:59am

Hey, this was a lot of fun! It would be even better with some sort of progression. I liked the different weapons, but it would be cool if you had to pick up weapons/ammo rather than starting with every weapon.

AccountNo17 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:04am

Thanks. Progression was planned, sadly we couldn't finish what we planned to do in time.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:36am

You managed to stay alive 69 seconds. In that time you killed 16 aliens.

You fired a total of 200 bullets, 66 of those hit an alien. That's an accuracy of 0.33%.

AccountNo17 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Whoops, that seems to be off by two decimals...

waynaul says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:47pm

I enjoyed trying out the various weapons to see what suits me. Well done on the terrain and pathfinding.

jomomomo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Is there an endgame?

H1S2 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:54pm

I am impressed by how you made the game, unfortunatly I had some problems with the performance. Very nice game though!

Aomeas says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:27am

The rifle is da best :3
Nice game, couldn't stay alive long though

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:10pm

My mouse wheel isn't working, so I could only use the default weapon.

Also, the game sometime freezes and when it resumes it seems some time has passed and I already got hit some times. Might be Firefox's fault, but not sure.

Anyway, very weak connection with the theme and no inovation.

torvik88 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Nice fun game. Would have liked the map to be randomly generated to add new breaths of fresh air but well done.

Animefrikis says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Take the rifle. Drop all the other weapons, and take the rifle!

The game does have some rough edges that could be polished, but it has the most important part of a game: it's fun!

At first, I hated the screen shake, but once you get used to it and find your weapon, it's very fun to go around snipping aliens.

If you plan to keep growing your game, I would suggest that you add polish above the game, and polish over polish layer. More background graphics, a bgm, pick colorful fonts used for your texts, etc.

Keep going, and see you the next LD :)

dancingmad says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Simple, classic, an yet quite funny!

sputnik says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Nice action game. But maybe a little bit too hard on the screen shaking thing..

grillaface says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 9:07pm

love the controls ++

Buttsteam says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Okay game.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:35pm

The alien amount seems to ramp really quickly, so it's hard to stay alive for more than one and a half minutes... But my best was 130 seconds, with 67 kills. I'd like to think that was pretty okay. :)

My only gripe is that I'd like the weapon selection to be on something other than mouse scroll, since I'm on a laptop.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]