Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Grow your Planet

by Natrium729 - Jam Entry

The goal is to take pictures of animals on different planets that are connected together.

Press shift to take a picture.

A walkthrough is available here:
http://ulukos.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/walkthrough.txt

Postmortem here
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/09/14/grow-your-planet-postmortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#176Mood(Jam)3.50
#266Innovation(Jam)3.23
#275Graphics(Jam)3.62
#292Audio(Jam)3.27
#298Humor(Jam)2.61
#335Theme(Jam)3.26
#374Overall(Jam)3.24
#477Fun(Jam)2.87

Comments

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:43am

Really nice music and art.

ponk says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:40pm

I love the drawings!

TKia_ says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:42am

Like the music, and the hand drawn actually adds a bit to the charm of the game. Also, I'm always a fan of picture-taking gameplay.

Crefossus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:57am

Great audio and art. I wouldn't have beaten it without the guide. The fruit/bird was tricky even with the guide. Pretty calming game.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:14am

So weird and charming! Good graphics and mood. Remember to rate other games to receive a score!

psychonull says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:26am

nice audio and art, it get's you playing. great little game.

gwa says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Nice style :)

draxov says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:41pm

A charming game, like the music and the different variations of it, the whole photo mechanic is satisfying and reminds me of pokemon snap.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:45pm

great drawings, well done :)

Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Inspiring work! Beautiful artwork and a captivating premise.
~funkeh

tchem says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:28am

the art and idea are awesome,,, i loved it,,, so unique and beautiful!!!,,, congrats !!!

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:30am

I like the hand drawn art aspect. The music did get on my nerves after a while.

rhaasken says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:41am

I enjoyed exploring the worlds and seeing what kind of changes came about when I connected them. Nice job!

It was pretty tricky to figure out though, especially the toucan.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:50am

Pretty fun point and click adventure. I enjoyed the photography concept and I really liked the hand drawn art style. Platforming elements need some working on however (it was hard to see where I was aiming the grappling hook although to be fair, it didn't really gel well to the overall gameplay experience).

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:02am

Thanks to all for your kinds comments! I would have never thought people would like it so much!

@Nooner Bear
The music was made really quickly before the deadline, so it is normal, I suppose.

@Xanjos
The platformer parts were done something like 5 minutes before the deadline. I am not satisfied as well. I added them to reinforce the "connection" part of the theme, but I haven't had time to finish. I was also obliged to duplicate them instead of making four separate levels :'(

bw says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:26am

This is bonkers.

I never did find the snow hare.

oakus says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:39am

I like the collecting element of game, but the thing with robot is a little bit clunky for me. Either the levels for robot to go throught should be a little bit different and more challangind every time or there should be some new mechanic, like digging stuff, or moving something somewhere or connecting something.
Overall the art and music is good and finding ways to take a picture of animals is definitelly satisfying. Although I could figure out what to do with that piece of ice (or what is it) that appeared in the middle world when I connected it with the right one.

ceosol says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:47pm

I like this entry. I dropped the fun score a little because you should not need a guide to play through a game made in 72 hours. I noticed something was odd, but never would have thought to use the apple like that. The music was perfect for the mood you were setting. I was sad that the planets didn't actually get to the point of hugging each other :)

lotusgame says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Charming game !

Acuity says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:49am

I like the hand-drawn art, but it's hard to figure out what to do in the very beginning.

elefantopia says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 3:22am

Good artwork!

Njord says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 6:15am

I really loved this. The graphics and the audio are neat, the idea is fun and original, and it's really cute, really relaxing. Awesome work !

fisholith says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:33am

Cool game, I love the photo mechanic, and the artwork. :D
Took me a while to figure out how to connect the worlds, but I like how they alter each other.
Keep up the good work. :)

Hypnohustla says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Beautiful graphics. Hard to understand at first but it was very interesting nevertheless :)

sephyka says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Charming and moody game. Very pleasant to play with!

porglezomp says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:55am

Great game! You need some better ingame instructions, and the connecting the roots feels a bit broken/repetive. Still fun!

igoramendola says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:39am

Cool! The gameplay is really innovative. Also, the game has nice graphics and good music. Very nice work :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]