Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dimension Jumps

by HolyBlackCat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

!! ADDED VERSION FOR VIDEOCARDS WITHOUT OpenGL 4.3 SUPPORT !!

Here is my entry for LD 48!
It's runner/platformer, in which you can try to escape from an alien monster using a interdimensional jump device.

It took ~22 hours (:O) to make it! Now I'm tired and hungry, but very happy.

I used: C++; Code::Blocks & MinGW(GCC); SDL(+ mixer plugin), GLEW, OpenGL; Paint.NET, sfxr, Audacity, SAI.
Also, I used this small base code: https://bitbucket.org/HolyBlackCat/engine-for-2d-games/src

Reupload 1: fixed controls description (added info about "pick up item" button), changed 4 background blocks, fixed 2-nd checkpoint (sometimes you respawn directly above spikes).

Reupload 2: ~4 blocks placed, ~4 blocks removed on tower near the bridge. Now you can't skip half of the game.

Reupload 3: added version for old videocards. It uses GL3.3 instead of GL4.3.

**I'm stuck at the beginning and I can't figure out how to teleport between worlds!**
If so, go the left and pick up the small shiny thing near the alien ship.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#385Mood3.19
#441Audio2.87
#445Graphics3.24
#475Theme3.36
#519Humor2.38
#565Overall3.20
#663Innovation3.03
#765Fun2.81

Comments

shatterhand says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:07pm

It looks like my videocard is "Too crappy" for this, lol :)

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Huh! Couldn't run it. Not an old computer, though, so I'm a little surprised to see this. "TheThing - Error: OpenGL 4.3 (compatibility profile) context init failed: your videodriver is too old or your videocard is too crappy."

Oh well -- screenshot looks cool.

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Same error.

Wevel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Loved the idea but couldn't get past the second building.

tchem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Proposes unique and different. i like of atmosphere,,,, strange and immersive,,,, great work

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:04pm

I liked this a lot. You'd think the alien could just *ask* for the damn thing back, though, instead of just immediately going for the murderghost tactic. ;)

Could stand to be a tiny bit more lenient about getting just barely stuck in the ceiling or floor, but it worked well enough for me.

sam1373 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:35pm

I also get the error.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:03am

Guys who got the error, if you really want to play it, you should update your videocard drivers. The game uses OpenGL 4.3, old drivers don't support it.

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Can't play it, driver is too old.

stink123456 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Could you make a port for lower open gls

HolyBlackCat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:35pm

I'm suprised that so many people have videocards witout GL4.3 support. Ok, I'll make a version for GL3.3.

grillaface says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:40pm

no mac :(

Spang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:48pm

The game worked for me. (Both Versions)
Your game is so interesting, it took me a few moments to realize that the ghost doesnt have to touch me, xD, after that running away from him was really great, the 2 worlds are well done. :)

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:27pm

It worked for me :)

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:28pm

I tried for 15 minutes to understand how to use this ring. I kept smashing Z key, just in case, everywhere on the map, on the locked doors, on the enemy... Nothing happen. I don't get it! Help!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:57am

It's strange. Ring can be used at any time after you pick it up.

Maek says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:59am

Can't run the version for "old" graphic cards, it says that my graphic card doesnt support opnegl 4.3

HolyBlackCat says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:13am

Hm. I'll try to fix it.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:44am

Reuploaded again. Now it should work. (Tested it on integrated Intel videocard with GL 3.3 support.)

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Not a bad game. Very nice

Headmade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Couldn't get past the first three rooms. I couldn't figure out what to do with the item that I collected (don't know what that was either).

Headmade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Sorry my comment was for a different game, mixed up the tabs

Raphy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Sorry but the controls don't seem to work on my PC I can just move but there is nothing else I can do so I'm stuck at first door...

danidre14 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Sticks.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:10pm

@Raphy
There are two types of doors. Thin ones open automatically when you touch them. Thick ones сan't be opened, they are solid blocks. Exit from start house and go to the left. There is a small thing near the alien ship, you can pick it up.

jomomomo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Can't play windows games. Can we get a web version?

jpverkamp says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Looks really cool and I like the sounds, but couldn't for the life of me get through the second building. :(

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Very good game overall. Unfortunetaly, could not pass through the bridge. Don't know what to do there.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Thank you! In the nearest house there is a secret entrance to underground tunnel.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:30pm

@jomomomo
It's C++ & OpenGL, there is no way to make a web version. :C

geekygenius says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:07am

I loved the white noise in the background, it did a great job setting the mood. I couldn't get past the second house though...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]