Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Broken World

by xWarZonex - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I have completed my awesome minimalistic LD game. The game is about a once connected world that was disconnected and torn apart by a worm hole� In this game, you must search for pieces of your world that was disconnected, and connect them all back to connect your world. Every time you collect a piece of your world, the world will become more and more evolved until you have connected your world.



After the worm hole there were two worlds, right? RIGHT! You must find pieces in both worlds re-connect them. Your probably thinking �So? What�s the big deal?� Well, obviously the worlds are opposites that need to be united to create order, right? Right! SO! That means gravity is the opposite! (I probably sound stupid right now, but working 15 hours straight on a game makes you stupid!)



Highlights of the game�

-The game evolves the further you go along in it

-AMAZING MUSIC!

-A sincere, heart-warming storyline with a message.

-Reversed gravity!

-And sheer awesomeness!


On August 22, 2014, at exactly 8:00 AM EST. A inter-dimensional wormhole ripped through our connected world we all knew and loved. Now our world is disconnected through 2 different dimensions. its been said that its possible to re-connect our world... Its up to you to piece our world back together.

This game is a music and physics based puzzle/platformer... The high light of this game is the music. I sorta have a evolution of a song built into the gameplay.
My favorite part of the game is the storyline and the evolution that happens when you piece the world back together. 100%of everything in this game is mine.

You play in two different worlds, each world is the opposite, so in one world you must control your character... Upside down.

I love this game, even if you all hate it and vote it low, I will count this as a win. I've learned so much and I finally have succeeded a enjoyable game.

Please review and rate well! Thankyou, I hope you enjoy the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#145Audio3.48
#318Fun3.33
#340Mood3.25
#402Overall3.35
#403Theme3.44
#611Humor2.24
#641Innovation3.05
#757Graphics2.79

Comments

ShivanHunter says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 2:58am

interesting concept. Reminded me of last LD's theme, "beneath the surface". Also reminded me a bit of Evoland when gameplay and graphics elements started appearing.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:36am

Great idea! Adding rotation to block mark this out from other games ot this type.

Bubblman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Really liked it! Good job!

tchem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:43pm

The idea is very interesting.... i like of the level design.

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:44pm

interesting game, i wonder if jumping by un-shrinking the cube rapidly would have been more fun

JNyknn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Nice use of the theme. I liked it!

teoacosta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:45pm

I really like the concept. I wish the loop was longer, or the music change more frequently. I got sick of it after the first 5 or so levels and muted it for the rest of the game.

Other than that! I love it!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:49pm

I like how the player square rotated, that was cool. The whole idea of slowly getting parts of the game, such as color and music, also worked well, I think.

You clearly put some thought into the dialogue, too.

c_livid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Some typos. I really like the fluid motion of the cube and the farting noise when it died. I liked the black and white world more than the other.

Alexander says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:16pm

The ending was cool, and the ramping of the difficulty was just right.

Fjoergyn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:30pm

I really liked the (Slide-)Physics and the level design ... good work

ceosol says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:39pm

It definitely was like the beneath the surface theme, but the evolution of the graphics/audio made it into something completely different. Tiny tiny lag spikes while scrolling kill you in this game. You definitely need to plan your jumps in advance. :)

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:38pm

A very good game, I liked it a lot but unfortunately it crashed for me :(

tanjent says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:46pm

The ending was great! Graphically I think you could have skipped the pixel textures or worked with larger bands of colors in the last levels, since it would have harmonized better with the larger scale of the protagonist. Also I really like the evolving music, since you did not just progress through the levels but also with the audio. Good work!

SnapDragon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:44am

I have found a glitch. At one level I kept on dying and dying(this is not the glitch) but then one time the scene didn't reload.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:35am

Music was amazing! Loved how simple the art was. Interesting mechanics, overall a very enjoyable game.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:51am

I really liked the music and the mood you set. I wish I had been able to accomplish something like that. Thank you for the vote, and there are new additions since then :)

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:55am

the concept was good, but you shouldn't force ppl to play through your whole game. see, we have around 2500 games in this LD and three weeks to judge. so if you want to play as many games as possible + comment on each (for the dev to get good impressions and such), you can't sepnd too much time on a single game. also, if ppl like your game, they will complete it anyway
as an additional tip: if you want to know, if ppl REALLY finished your game, add sth like google analytics to it

syawqy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:05pm

hard... XD

jomomomo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:05am

Pretty sweet audio...

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:43am

The rotating mechanic works well, great effort.

ob6160 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Loved the physics and story.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Very nice minimalistic game! I've got the message :)

Natrium729 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:40pm

I liked it when it was in black and white, I found it less beautiful in colors. However, the texts were well written (despite the typos) and the ending good. The music that changed was good but a bit repetitive. A nice game overall.

OrangeeZ says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:52pm

The graphics are simple, but the game feels whole and complete. Well done!

frogcheese says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:14pm

I liked how the squares were controlled and think you could do a lot of more cool things with it when it comes to level design. The little text in-between levels was nice, but personally I'd rather the game just immediately jump to the next level without pausing the music. That way I'd get a feeling of progression without being "taken out of the game", which I think helps a lot with the mood and with immersion.

SnapDragon says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:32am

Awesome game

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]