About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 10 days, 14 hours, 9 minutes, 45 seconds
  • October Ends: in 11 days, 14 hours, 21 minutes, 45 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 46 days, 15 hours, 9 minutes, 45 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 30

    Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Lion's Song - LeafThief - Jam Entry

    The Lion's Song is a point & click Adventure Game.

    The game is set in the early 20th century. You play as Wilma, a young composer who has been sent into the wild nature of the Austrian Alps to complete her greatest composition so far...

    CONTROLS: Mouse

    !Important Note!
    Linux: It should be possible to run the game via wine, however I have not verified this.
    Resolution: Some people reported that they weren't able to see anything and the whole game looked "Zoomed-in". I suspect it could've something to do with color-depth and thus made a 32-bit build. It is essentially the same game but maybe it helps!

    Art, Code, Writing, Music and Sfx by @leafthief
    Get in touch if you liked the game, I'd love to hear your feedback and where I could improve!

    View LeafThief's journal. | View all entries by LeafThief

    Ratings

    Graphics(Jam)4.87
    Mood(Jam)4.71
    Coolness92%
    #4Overall(Jam)4.36
    #13Theme(Jam)4.24
    #26Audio(Jam)4.07
    #122Fun(Jam)3.55
    #158Humor(Jam)3.07
    #168Innovation(Jam)3.46

    Comments

    kyyrma says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:10pm

    This was an absolutely gorgeus entry on every level. The writing was really strong, and the graphics and music made my day. Beautiful stuff!

    Clavus says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:47pm

    The most beautiful game I've seen in this LD up till now. Great take on the theme! Lovely art and music.

    Pinqu says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:48pm

    Lots of stars for this one, very good :)

    Eigen says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:52pm

    Some of the dialog really had me smiling. Thanks for that. I enjoyed it very much. Awesome work for 48 hours.

    Pierrec says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:19am

    Firt LD30 game I play! It sets very high standards for the others ^^ I really dis your art. I wish there was a bit more interaction

    Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:55am

    Hey thanks for pointing out Webplayer problem, it would be awesome if you could check back :D.

    P.S. Loved your game :D

    waynaul says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:07am

    Brilliant game. The phone as a connection between worlds is simple yet elegant. Great ending too.

    LeafThief says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:17am

    @PierreC I agree more interaction would've been nice. But time got in the way (as usual) :/. Thanks for playing though :)

    simplesmiler says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:13am

    You did a good job, sir. I love every bit of it.

    Jvdo says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:58am

    Very well done. Amazing art, a compelling story and awesome music as well. Yes please!

    darklightteam says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:37pm

    Awesome art! Really nice :D

    Yoni says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:43pm

    Wow. Short but beautiful on many levels.

    Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:44pm

    Wow that was amazing. You really get into a mood playing this. Top stuff.

    Follett says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:45pm

    Incredible. The art, music, text and game in general was perfect!

    kibertoad says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:48pm

    I'd offer my flesh and sacrifice newborn babies to the Devil himself to write and draw like you.

    dunin says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:49pm

    really good looking even at the title screen and the menu (rare in ld)...

    Hyoga-3D says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:57pm

    Pretty nice take on the theme, graphics are very diferent and

    ryguydavis says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:07pm

    This was very, very good. The graphics were excellent but to be honest I was mostly taken in by the rich story. It could easily have veered into trite but you managed to completely avoid ham-handing the dialogue. I was truly touched. Thanks for sharing it.

    rnlf says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:05pm

    Wow.

    Such a great game. Also it contains one of my favourite poems. So strong. I just wonder what made Wilma leave the hut. (Or are there other endings?)

    So, lots of stars for this game!

    Hairein says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:45pm

    What an interesting piece and with such fitting and beautiful graphics. There is a certain interest in finding out where the conversation go and the game mechanics are easy to grasp which helps interacting with the dialogue choices. The mood is really good.

    ceosol says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:45pm

    This is a very nice interpretation of the theme. I especially enjoyed how your choices produce some subtle changes in future options.

    christopf says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:52pm

    first i didn't manage to get it on any bigger resolution and was bored really fast. but as i tried it again i found out how to resize and got more captured by it.
    the illustration are very nice and your sound design is gorgeous. made the most of its mood for me. also you captured the mood in generally very good (what made the kind of bored feeling in the first place). with every phonecall life came into game. i'm glad i play it to the end, thank you!

    Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:03pm

    You made something really great here. Good work!

    RawboSaurX says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:43pm

    Fantastic entry, Leafthief. Artwork is beautiful and the story even more so. Very intriguing writing and character portraits. Thanks for creating this work of art and making me feel all them good feels :) 5 gold stars for you. You've earned them.

    Autonomous says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:02pm

    very beautiful game!

    Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:14pm

    Gorgeous artworks, unfortunately don't have windows machine. A web build would be nice, thnx!

    LeafThief says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:16am

    @Schrodinger Games: Unfortunately Adventure Game Studio has no such thing as a Web Export.
    However, as I've heard it is possible to start Adventure Game Studio Builds using 'Wine' (for Linus).

    Hope this helps.

    kei says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:33pm

    Wow, amazing pixelart.

    pLaw says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:45pm

    Gorgeous game. Very contemplative and nice mood. Good work!

    panurge says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:02pm

    This is the first full set of stars I've given this LD. I thought it was just an utterly beautiful game. Gorgeous artwork, elegant sound design, just enough interaction to really draw you into the conversation between the two characters. Above all, it was beautifully written. I especially liked the little period touches like Leos' sudden embarrassment at forgetting to ask her name.

    A wonderful piece of work with a mood which will linger with me. Thank you!

    vctr_seleucos says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:13pm

    The pixel art on this entry and the mood is magnificent! Loved it! Really nice narrative experience and GORGEOUS interpretation of theme, well executed.

    cacciatc says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:00pm

    So many awesome touches!

    KevinZuhn says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:16pm

    This is a fantastic mood piece, I really felt drawn in by the story and the audio set a good atmosphere. I liked the small touches in Wilma's dialog choices. No complaints here.

    Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:47pm

    Amazing mood! This is just awesome. I was looking for a long time for this kind of game. Good work!

    IAmSpencer says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:49am

    This was freaking amazing and you just got yourself a fan :) excellent writitng, amazingly beautiful graphics, best mood so far, and great sound. Job well done!

    Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:51am

    The game is interesting with excellent graphics. Please forgive me: You've received a lot of praise, so this post is going to be mostly critique. I felt that it was overwritten in places. The art is gorgeous as always, but when you describe facial expressions we can interpret for ourselves with text, it really weakens the strength of our perceptions. With the simplicity of the image: a young woman, a closed room, the mountains, I wish that we had been more able to access it for ourselves.

    Next, the game needed more of a narrative arc, I suppose. I didn't get a sense that anything was changing, or becoming. Often I'd pick a dialogue option and then the character would say that line, and then the other... so why did I choose? Yes, Wilma becomes closer to Leos, but who are these people? Wilma describes herself as delicate, but that's, well, a very common way to describe women that doesn't tell you much about her in particular. A poetic intellect to be sure, possibly consumptive or hysterical if she *whimpers* on discussion of her writer's block. A young woman sent off into the mountains entirely alone, in *that* era? It's highly unlikely... there should be something about that in there. Talking alone, unintroduced, unchaperoned, to an unknown man on the telephone would be the site of high scandal--in England, at least; it may well have been different in Austria, but from my understanding, not so entirely different.

    I wish I had gotten a better sense of the burden of the passage of time, perhaps through some sort of rain SFX or the like. Making a silent game about musical composition is a very interesting choice.

    Thank you for all of the food for thought, and for the game. Best of luck in the competition!

    LeafThief says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:40am

    @Vicotry Garden: It sounds to me that you think I wrote the Kill Screen Mag Article when in fact I didn't. I just thought the game page was a good place to put a link to that article.
    I have now removed the link to avoid confusions.
    Thanks for your opinion and feedback.

    Split82 says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:47am

    Graphics, Audio, Mood, Theme - everything top notch! Definitely one of the best entries I played.

    SteveSalmond says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:12am

    Well, I very much enjoyed that. Thank you for making it!

    Rehacked says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:17am

    liked it .Good job

    Stending says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:34am

    One of the best entry in the 60 games I tried!
    Incredible!

    OxyOxspring says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:15pm

    That was glorious...

    TautNerve says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:32pm

    Amazing art and writing, I enjoyed every moment of it.
    Some of the choices felt a little redundant as a few were
    the same choice phrased in a slightly different matter, but
    that is the only critique I have for this game.
    Great job, a very strong entry and one of the best I've
    played this Ludum Dare.

    dickpoelen says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:05pm

    Amazing! 10/5 mood

    Malapropos says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:28pm

    Loved the mood you've set for the game as well as the story and graphics. Really enjoyed it!

    commodoreKid says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:41pm

    This game's music, story and graphics create a really nice atmosphere. The only problem is the length of it and that's all.

    MerlijnVH says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:05pm

    Beautiful game, I loved the story and the pixel art with colour palette were absolutely amazing.

    tvc15 says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:58pm

    Pleeease make an OSX version! I want to play this on my mac so bad

    LeafThief says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:35pm

    @tv15 I am very sorry but the middleware (Adventure Game Stuio) I made this in doesn't support Mac builds. However: there is a way to play AGS games on MAC using the runtime/Engine that can be found here: http://www.adventuregamestudio.co.uk/forums/index.php?topic=45708.0
    This COULD work but I can't guarantee it, sorry.

    Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:38pm

    The game's put me into a very quiet mood. It's great how you're drawn in to the story / situation / environment by such a simple combination of images, text, sound and interaction. Very good.

    spotco says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:27am

    Really great stuff, by far the best story+art combination I've played so far. Didn't get the ending though...

    Carduus says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:50am

    i hear the music but the game do not display any image on my screen ><

    LeafThief says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:35pm

    @Carduus: You could try and run winsetup.exe to run the game windowed. I hope this hels!

    CptDustmite says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:45pm

    Oh my god!!! Are there alternate endings??!?!?!?!!?!? I really wanted them to meet!! Such a gorgeous game, thank you so much for the experience. I loved it, and I want more :)

    jukimv1986 says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:41pm

    Great atmosphere and very well written. It feels like reading a short novel. Well done!

    Lars Faust says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:12pm

    Most atmospheric game i have encountered.
    I found myself reading the text out loud.

    steve says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:46pm

    Lovely game.

    Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:37am

    I want more! Good job!

    egor-idiot says ...
    Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:01am

    Wow. Masterpiece! One of the best games I have played on Ludum. So good story.
    Art and mood are amazing and sounds support this feeling. Very well done!

    Simon says ...
    Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:47pm

    Great visual, great music. Well done it's really inspiring :)

    YopSolo says ...
    Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:07pm

    amazing gfx and great idea :)

    runvs says ...
    Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:37am

    Wow, this is intense! One of the best entries this LD! Though I personally do not like point & clic adventures, this one pulled me inside a whole world and i will definitely play it again.
    Awesome graphics, really great sound (minimalistic though powerful -- the tunder really creeped me out), perfect timing & Storyline and interesting characters, which really come to life. Please keep doing such work!

    Since you directly asked for things to improve: the scenery could be a little bit more active, e.g. the lamp flickering or some fireflies on the first day. But this is criticism on a very very high level which will not be in the score.

    reidrac says ...
    Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:22am

    Th 32-bit version plays just fine in Linux, although to me is better to start the game in a window... jumping straight to fullscreen may not work ;)

    Window mode and filter graphics x3 is perfect!

    Other than that, excellent graphics and interesting story. Well done!

    Ditto says ...
    Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:16am

    DAMN! I saw your game a couple days ago and for some reason I didn't play it. That was a bad fucking move! Holy shit, I am awestruck! This was so beautiful, the graphics, the story, the rain against the window, everything is so damn beautiful! Thank you dearly for making this! <3

    Sunflower says ...
    Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:15pm

    Oh my, I think I might have found yet another very interesting entry. I'd like to write more, but it seems everything has already been told, and after playing dozens of games I'm getting somewhat tired... ^^"

    (but yes, graphics and writing are strong in this entry)

    Ramiel says ...
    Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:28pm

    Very poetic.
    It would be very cool if the song in the ending would change based on the decisions made.
    Also RAWR! ;)

    Esenti says ...
    Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:09pm

    The graphics style is great! BTW the game runs fine on Linux (using wine 1.7) ;)

    moi93101 says ...
    Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:39pm

    Very very very good ! I love graphics, audio, ALL !

    RookMage says ...
    Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:14pm

    Woah, AGS. I haven't seen that in a while.

    Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:49pm

    I really love the atmosphere and the simplicity of this entry, it's beautiful... Am I the only one who didn't understand what happened to Wilma in the end ? (and how Leos managed to find her house 0o)

    Ted Brown says ...
    Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:51pm

    ....

    You made me reach for the telephone in the third act. One of many masterful touches. Applause, applause!

    Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:32pm

    Hey Leafthief... I actually didn't think you had written a review of your own game, it's just that I'm trying to run about giving constructive criticism on writing since I see very few people giving substantive advice one could actually do anything with in that category. I apologize--it seems that you took it the wrong way. This is obviously a top-notch entry, and I was offering that level of critique out of respect. Take care...

    Hypnohustla says ...
    Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:47am

    Beautiful game with a very nice story! Would love to see even more :)

    Snoother says ...
    Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:39pm

    A 5/5 entry, without a doubt. Evocative themes, stylised graphics, well-suited audio. Top-notch on most fronts. I like the spontaneity of the telephone call, that pleasantly unexpected spark of human interactivity we've all doubtless experienced online with some friendly so-and-so. But setting it in the early 20th, using phones instead, gives it a peculiar familiarity. Then how social curiosity leads into a poignant romance, set against the backdrop of Romantic composition. Safe to say I liked it.

    However, I do have some criticisms (sorry!). Sometimes it lacks subtlety -- for example with the way you describe emotions and expression, defying that old maxim of 'show, don't tell'. And the prose can at times be a bit too melodramatic for me -- "...form a synergy before his inner eye...", "...warm rain in a flowing autumn's breeze..." etc. When I replayed it also, I found that the choices were sometimes without any effect -- occasionally, if I remember rightly, the character would choose the same thing regardless of the player's choice. I'm guessing that was down to time constraints, but it would be good to maybe flavour the choices a bit more post-LD.

    GrooveMan says ...
    Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:54pm

    Ah, that was really cute, and beautiful to look at. If there were actual musical refrains for the bits of inspiration you find, that would be absolutely magical.

    mcapraro says ...
    Sep 4, 2014 @ 2:26pm

    the game looks just amazing. love the style, love the color palette. really lovely.

    jjhaggar says ...
    Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:55pm

    Very beautiful game

    GFM says ...
    Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:16am

    Amazing game!! The graphics are superb! I also really liked the story, even though there's only few meaningful interactions (so far I noticed two points, when Leos talks about his relative and on the dragon hunting choice). Still, I thought you were able to nicely convey both characters feelings and stories.

    Congrats! :)

    vividhelix says ...
    Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:00pm

    Beautiful, the pixel art was just amazing! Story was good too...

    someone says ...
    Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:02pm

    Really enjoyed that experience. Excellent sense of atmosphere.

    TheExGenesis says ...
    Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:35pm

    wow, just... wow. I liked it a lot, the game was gorgeous and the dialog, although menial, felt very meaningful. Congratulations!

    Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:17pm

    It is a nice looking and sounding game, that's for sure. However I am not really digging the sound effects. The story is well written and the characters are believable. I liked the suggestion in the story for you to fill in the gaps, you could have pressed this much further I feel. As of the gameplay part, it is not very much there. It's more book then game I'm afraid.

    Jod says ...
    Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:55pm

    Wow. That was a beautiful story. The characters seem very real, the conversation is smooth and flows naturally and the sound effects are subtle and understated. And the art. Gah.

    It is really, really well told. I was pulled along with it like a leaf in a stream. Just, wow.

    Zerkruemler says ...
    Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:00pm

    Nice story. I enjoyed to experience the story.
    Good Work

    Joror says ...
    Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:08pm

    Awesome graphics, beautiful sensitive story! :)

    tbam says ...
    Sep 8, 2014 @ 10:42pm

    Hah, amazingly well done. Very cute story. Had me smiling throughout.

    Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:02pm

    Psssst.... You are in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XshA79i3By8

    Sep 9, 2014 @ 7:10pm

    I couldn't help but give you 5 stars in every category. Simply beautiful! Love the color palette, and having struggeled with same problems as she, I found the story really close to my heart.

    Dohan says ...
    Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:03pm

    Beautiful game, with great atmosphere. Both graphics and sounds bring up some nostalgia from DOS games.

    NicePenguins says ...
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:52pm

    Really great story and storytelling. The use of the theme is very cool, really love this idea of the research of inspiration while being isolated and the connexion with someone else who give a view to another world ! Very good writing !

    whalebot says ...
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 11:31pm

    Amazing pixel art. Overall great story telling. Really well done with this.

    Moosefly says ...
    Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:55pm

    Enjoyable read and a nice experience overall.

    The rain-imitating background track didn't loop too nicely though, so it got somewhat irritating after a while. Also took me a while to realise I could click on the books during the second day for some reason. Would've also liked for the game to not show any text, if clicking the object didn't do anything. For example when hovering over Wilma it displayed the "myself" text even though clicking her didn't do anything.

    Anssi@MooseflyGames

    Sheepolution says ...
    Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:02am

    Lovely game, it warms my heart!

    apiotrw says ...
    Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:00pm

    Great experience :)

    cardboard says ...
    Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:01pm

    Your game has a beautiful atmosphere, music, and story. The splitscreen effect worked out well. I initially thought background music during the whole game would be be an improvement, but I think after hearing the song at the end, after so much silence, it sounded even better. You developed both characters very well, through both text and the visuals. Very nicely done.

    Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:28pm

    Beautiful visuals and liked the way you used the theme. Did seem at times that the dialogue I was choosing didn't have that much of an impact but can imagine this is because of the time constraints. Great entry though which felt really polished.

    Artamus says ...
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:25pm

    Amazing. Beautiful art and atmosphere. Very well written.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]