Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Chroma

by Lvyn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Chroma is about shifting between different planes... The goal is to reach a portal in each of the 8 levels. To do so you have to use your chroma: the ability to shift in and out of these different worlds that are defined by the color spectrum.


The game was programmed from almost scratch in C++ (the base code was about 500 lines of OpenGL helper code).

Libraries used:
Box2D, glew, glm, glu, OpenGL, SDL2, SDL2_image, and SDL2_mixer.

For art and levels: NeoTextureEdit and Blender.

Music and sounds: abundant-music.com, sfxr.


Enjoy !

Controls:
- move: Q/Z/D (azerty) or A/W/D (qwerty)
- shifting chromas: Space
- reset level: R
- menu: Escape
================================================================
PS. If there is a missing DLL message, you may need VS2012 redist ( http://www.microsoft.com/fr-fr/download/details.aspx?id=30679 )
================================================================

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#170Mood3.49
#210Graphics3.69
#213Audio3.32
#352Overall3.41
#366Theme3.51
#405Fun3.22
#436Humor2.50
#569Innovation3.14

Comments

koalamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:17am

Well done - love the visuals!

Orange says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:30am

Awesome game! The controls through me off at the beginning. LOVE the art style!

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:01am

Handsome ! Very well done ! :D

oranebeast says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:46am

Although the shaders messed up/hurt my eyes, they did indeed look beautiful, just like the rest of this amazing game. Not your average averag puzzle/platformer

Ludipe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:25am

The art is great and the gameplay is fun, but I think thr rhythm should be faster.

Lvyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:00am

Thanks for feedback all ! :) If you have any issues, tweet me !

muriel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Wow, good job ;)

HELLO23 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:41pm

I really enjoyed the concept and the music. Kudos for making it in C++.

everystone says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Great! A bit hard to figure out which direction you are supposed to go

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:47pm

WOW! The graphics is awesome!

Torandi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Beautiful graphics, and I really liked the idea of swapping chroma. Gameplay was maybe a bit slow, and I think it might need a way to know which direction you're supposed to go in.

Conk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Cool puzzles, I did find the physics rather confusing though. The graphics were oddly cool (:

ajopart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Grr !! This game has a concept similar to mine, but does the work better... Nice work. Good graphics (psychedelic touch), I like the music. Not knowing where to go is a bit confusing :-)

AtsK says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Visuals were cool and sound as well. More player guidance would be beneficial I feel.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:59am

I really like the music and art. The gameplay mechanics seem cool too, but they feel like they've been implemented strangely. I kept using space on accident to jump, which was annoying. But mostly, I couldn't really tell what I was supposed to do; I'd just jump around and hope for the best, mostly trial and error.
I feel like this would be amazing if it could be explained better

Jupitron says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:54am

Nice mood and clever mechanics! Not very clear how many times space change modes tough.

bazld says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Excellent polished visuals and interesting game mechanic. Amazing you made this in 48hrs!

[ideally, a longer tutorial section would be useful, ie I died a lot...]

Lvyn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Thanks all !

I wanted to give it some die'n'retry kind of gameplay, seems this worked too well... ^^

@Conk: yeah the sliding is a bit special, but I guess that makes the gameplay a little different form other platformers ;) (not talking about color shifting huh :D)

@Jupitron : Colors are always cycling in the same way gray, red, green, blue :)

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:05pm

the game crashed when I started it (2x) :(

Lvyn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Ohh... Any error message ?

Lvyn says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:00am

Please send me a mail so we can investigate this. (mail on screen shot)

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:03am

Really cool mechanics and visuals :]

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:04am

Really cool mechanics :]

Raphy says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:04am

Very cool mechanics an great execution, well done!!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:51am

I loved the shifting worlds in this that changed the gameplay greatly! Beautiful sound design, and the little block had more character than I expected!
Great work

Sunflower says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:43pm

It's not the first time I've seen this concept, but it's still done rather well, nonetheless. Too bad I got completely clueless at level 4, and then after climbing very, very high on some green spikey thing I fell off and was falling... falling... falling... and I was never heard from again. >.<

Stending says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Really cool game!
I love the visual effects!

HayManMarc says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:50pm

You're right. This is a lot like mine, but yours has a lot more mood to it. I found it hard to figure out where I was supposed to go to complete the level. I don't like trial-and-error method of playing games much. :) Very nice work with the graphics.

Rehacked says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Good job on this.Graphics was fantastic and beautiful but was confusing for gameplay. anyway i liked this game

malf says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:49pm

A bit hard on the eyes , but it looks beautifully made and it's fun to play

Lvyn says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Thanks for feedback ! Next time will speedup the game or add more directions ;)

@Sunflower you can use R to reset the level :)

Cash says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Really enjoyed this,also I love the sliding idea

dook says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Very impressive. Looked great and the music and sound was good :) It could use something to guide the player through so it'd be a bit less trial and error. But really impressive for a compo game!

bluesky says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:36pm

This is actually very entertaining, well done.

Dohan says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Some levels are so big, it's too easy to get lost. The shaders are cool and I've enjoyed the music.

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:57pm

I understood what you tried to do and how it would work but everything was unclear. I didn't get which color I changed the world into and where would be the platforms. The idea is also not very original anymore. I think you should consider dimming the shiny graphics too.

silentlamb says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:11pm

The music is really lovely! The game is a bit too hard for me though, maybe it's because enormous levels after the second or third teleport. I got lost pretty fast. Good job, I enjoyed playing your game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]