Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Snake and the Silver Arrow - LD30 Edition

by twintrite - Jam Entry

So this is the result of my first Ludum Dare.

I wanted to make it in time for the competition and now couldn't even finish my game for the jam...but I wanted to submit my progress even though my "game" lacks a lot of gameplay mechanics for an RPG (and music and sounds).
It's more of an interactive storyline you can walk through.

I barely used Game Maker before, I never made a whole game by myself and I never made an RPG (+ I'm more of a designer than programmer). And on top of that I wanted to use my story as the theme which meant that I needed the complete story (which was way to long and complex so the game title is not well represented in it) so people would see the connection (the essence of it is there so hopefully someone will understand it).

Anyways, It's over now and I learned a lot.

I used the free Game Maker Studio so I could only distribute a Windows version. Sorry about that. Maybe I use Unity next time.

Have fun and follow me on Twitter @twintrite.

---
UPDATE #01
I added an executable and a zipped version of the game.
No content changes (for now)

---
UPDATE #02
*** HOW TO PLAY ***
W, A, S, D to move
SPACE to interact
ESCAPE to exit
and you can try the L key just for fun ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#163Humor(Jam)3.05
#210Graphics(Jam)3.82
#240Mood(Jam)3.35
#539Fun(Jam)2.77
#618Audio(Jam)1.94
#629Overall(Jam)2.81
#677Theme(Jam)2.23
#708Innovation(Jam)2.23

Comments

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:32pm

The graphics look phenomenal. Did you create that?

twintrite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Yes thanks a lot :) That may have been my downfall though ;)

magmaCrab says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Interesting, weird little story. I don't really now if i got it, need to think about this one.

twintrite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:48pm

I'm surprised you figured out how to "end" the game ^^

darklightteam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:46am

Interesting. Is there a way to exit this loop?

twintrite says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Thanks for playing :) The only way to exit the loop is to exit the game (sounds somehow very philosophical) ;) Maybe I'll update it in the coming weeks so it plays as I intended.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:11pm

I would continue to work on this game. I enjoyed playing it. It reminded me of playing Zelda in the old days! Good luck :)

twintrite says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:18pm

After reading your comment I am totally psyched to do that...games like 'Legend of Zelda' and 'Secret of Mana' were a big part of my childhood. Thank you :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:12am

I'm currently unable to access any of the uploaded materials... I checked all three. It's a pity, too, because this one really caught my eye! It looks interestingly fairytaleish.

twintrite says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:51am

@Victory Garden can you please check again? I should work now. I am able to download all three on different computers.

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:20am

Cool game, nice graphics :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:39am

Loved the graphics and the mood. I also liked how you used alert boxes to do the dialogs, haha.

I also loved the style and story! Sadly I couldn't figure out how to escape the endless loop of nightmares!

For a first-time LD your game is amazing. My first LD (as an individual, not as part of the ConflictiveLabs team) wasn't half as good!

I'm glad you are working on a post-jam version (that's the spirit!) I'd really love to play the finished game.

twintrite says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Hahaha yeah those alert boxes really hurt my eyes and my soul ^^ one of the first things on my list when I find the time to work on it again...hopefully next week. And thanks for the kind words. I'm glad people like it or at least find parts in it that are like-worthy :) btw. I truly enjoyed playing BOND. Is there a chance that you guys work on an update for that as well? ;)

someone says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Message boxes?? AAaaargh
Great artwork though.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:44am

I enjoyed the alert boxes, though. Totally unexpected and smart, haha, but yes, you can't have them in a "finished" game, sadly.
About Bond, thanks! glad you liked it! :D We want to do a post-post-jam version with sound and music if we manage to find time for that. Our current post-jam version is basically the game with the levels it was intended to have, which is the least we could do since I couldn't make it in time to add the levels before the jam ended :/

Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Good start. It looks really nice. And intriguing. Would be good to see what you could do with more time.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Lovely art style, promising story, just needs some more interactivity and progression. Good work, keep it up!

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Nice history concept. I would be very interested in seeing more of it.

Sunflower says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:16am

Alright, so I walked around, ended up in the place with red blobs (somewhat adorable, I admit) and got stuck. >.<

Too bad, because the game looks like it could be something. O.o"

twintrite says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:43pm

@Sunflower Thanks and yeah the "end" is not very obvious...but keep pushing ;)

Lvyn says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Hahaha enjoyed meeting my father :D great graphics and keep pushing ;)

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Nice pixel art! Was cool!

SketchyGalore says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:15am

Impressive artwork!

Razoric says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Great graphics, cool concept. Would love to see a more fleshed out version of this!

twintrite says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Thank you all! Maybe I'll find some time tonight to work on it again but I can't promise :)

TautNerve says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Nice first LD game, I thought the ending was pretty funny.
I also really liked the tress sprite, well done.
Actually I think that the fact that there wasn't any
music contributed to the mood.

OinkIguana says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:14pm

The graphics look great - much nicer than mine. I like your collision engine too... How you slide off the round things.
Could use a better dialog system than show_message though - those are a bit awkward feeling at times.
The story is interesting, kind of mysterious. Overall the game is good for someone just starting out!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]