Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Filter Prism

by spacedoubt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Filter Prism
A Platform Puzzle of Connected Colour Worlds
by spacedoubt

Made with Construct 2, Photoshop, Reason, & Audacity


Controls:
UP - Jump
Left - Left
Right - Right
C - Change Colour
SPACE - Place Filter

You get 3 filters per colour and a new colour each level.
No one said this was going to be easy...

If you make it to the end, you're my hero...
(It's possible, I promise)

EDIT: Walkthrough added!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#528Audio2.75
#871Humor1.81
#894Innovation2.69
#1009Mood2.33
#1106Graphics2.13
#1133Theme2.07
#1149Overall2.39
#1161Fun2.00

Comments

7Soul says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:03am

My advice is that you don't make it too difficult, as most people playing won't have the patience to try it more than a couple times.

I must have died at least 50 times and couldn't get past the first area. Collision boxes seem to be bigger than they look, and a lot of times I couldn't create a platform

It runs fine on Chrome btw

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:55am

tough! this seems like it would be one of the final levels of a game that starts off simpler.

gillenew says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:55am

nice gameplay, but the colors burned my eyes

ThatSamu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:55am

It was too difficult in my opinion.
Collision of the player character was too big and it hit the spikes too easily. Also, the falling speed could be a bit slower so you would have more time to react to obstacles.
Didn't get to the part where you could change colours. :(

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:56am

I was quiet confused and the game was very hard.

It does seem like it has some potential, it just needs a bit of work.

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:59am

I feel the same as 7Soul, it was toooo hard. The movementation is also too fast (including the gravity).

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:47am

Super hard! Loved the music though

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:55am

super super tough, and a little bit frustrating. level seemed nicely designed, but too hard from the beginning.

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:57am

Probably a great game, but I stopped playing because I was constantly frustrated by the spikes all over the start.

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:01am

I think you should turn off AA or something. The combination of fuzzy and sharp textures (along with the mass flooding of eye-melting colours) made it hard to play xD
But, it was pretty great nonetheless!

fserb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:42am

could you make this a little bit harder? Because it only took me 50 attempts to go past the two screens? :)
Now seriously, the collision detection of the spikes make it harder than it should be.
Otherwise, great idea. :)

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:42am

Hard game! Cool mechanics though.

akios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:11am

VERY HARD

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:11am

Always better to rather make games too easy than too hard for LD. New players will never have the same skill level as the developer, who has played his game over and over again.

From what i can tell, there might come some interesting mechanics later on, but i simply did not get there in the first place.

jjoelio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:33am

Awesome game, so difficult I probably missed out on a fair chunk of it though

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:54am

Good work . but really very hard I actually give up in the first level also colors very bright I wasn't able to keep looking I like your work and think it's good concept but might need some adjustments and at least tutorials levels .

colludium says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Nice and colorful graphics. I found that the fall acceleration was too high - it was very difficult to avoid death from landing on something you didn't have time to react to! It would be worth starting the game with easier levels / problems and then making it harder as you progress and become more proficient.

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:14am

After many many tries, I only got about halfway through the first level. I think you made the same mistake I made in my first Ludum Dare, and make it way too hard. It's an easy trap to fall into since you usually become proficient at your own game as you make it.

You may want to post a video of you playing through the game so everyone can see the rest of the game.

spacedoubt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:58am

Through hours of deep meditation and contemplation, it has become apparent to me that which is my Achille's heel:

My games cannot be defeated by mere mortals.

Okay, so I accidentally made it waaay too hard..
Thank you everyone for trying and letting me know! I do have 1 report of it being beaten. Hats off to that guy!
(He's my brother.)

Be on the lookout for new (less impossible) versions of this game in the future!

TehSkull says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:28am

Nope. I give. It's not satisfyingly hard. It's just annoying. There's no feedback, and no reaction time available, and the collision isn't very accurate.

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:28am

I couldn't even make it past the first part. Nice concept though.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:25am

get a prism, get a prism, get a prism! It is too difficult for my taste, couldn't get past the first area. Weird take on the theme, but looked nice and great audio. Good job!

Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Quite a different idea with the prism and everything, but I have to agree with everyone else about the difficulty. I really tried to get through so I could give it a fair go, but I never got past the 2nd pit of lava

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 3:36am

It is very difficult. I think if you fell down slower, that would help a lot. Good idea though, and I liked the music. Good job.

spacedoubt says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 1:46am

Thanks again, to everyone for playing. My brother made a walkthrough for it. Check it out! http://youtu.be/y71ajUP1Xks and check out his twitch: www.twitch.tv/thetacticaldonut

klianc09 says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Your game looks like a lot of fun... but the server for your current download link appears to be down.

Maybe could you put your game on a mirror?

spacedoubt says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Scirra (whose arcade the game is on) put out a new version yesterday, which sometimes can take some of their stuff down temporarily. Usually doesn't last longer than a day or two, so hopefully it will be back up soon!

Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:36am

Like the concept but did find it really difficult as has been mentioned. Look forward to trying the future version because could see this working well if it eased the player into the difficulty and the mechanics.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Well, what should I say. Music is weird and good, graphics are too bright, the levels too hard but the gameplay is nice.

The prison looks like it should rather roll, then staying static upright. But I ended up enjoying playing as a sticky prism. Collision detection with the world was great, but the spikes sometimes seemed to have a too big collision box.

You should consider adding some tutorial levels, because the learning curve is too damn steep. Also remind the player that he can switch colors with 'C'. (Once he finally beats the red area.)

The purple invincibility should have a visual effect for the whole duration it is active. And one can't really tell if the prism is empty or not, because the background is the same color.

In the green area I did not understand where I should go. Having those fake paths even further increased the difficulty.

And the quick restart is nice, but I often spawned after falling into lava and immediately wasted a platform (because I pressed slightly too late) and had to kill myself again. Require the player to press a button before they respawn, that would help a lot (especially with the purple level). And sometimes I got stuck with platforms and since there were no spikes or restart button, I had to refresh the page, which was really frustrating.

The zooming out at the end, to see the whole world, was really satisfying. Overall a really cool and tough platformer, that reminded me a lot of Super Meat Boy (difficulty wise). And sorry for the long comment I had no time to make it shorter ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]