Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

ScrollShift

by diamondgfx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare entry! The game centers around a cultist, attempting to gather as many of the lost scrolls of his cult as he can before the ancient evil awakens! The more scrolls he can find, the more pleased his master will be!

Touch or click to jump, and touch/click again for double-jump. Walking through portals will phase you through the connected universe!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#118Mood3.62
#135Graphics3.90
#239Fun3.45
#253Humor2.87
#339Overall3.42
#346Audio3.06
#744Theme2.97
#1002Innovation2.48

Comments

duncankeller says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:21am

I'll admit, I don't really enjoy endless runners that much. I did like how you mixed it up with platforms moving towards the player. I also like the art style quite a bit. I couldn't tell if there was anything else going on when you go to the red world, it might have been interesting for it to have some different mechanics going on when you take the portal to the other world. Overall, these types of games don't hold my attention very well.

diamondgfx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:23am

The original plan was to swap back and forth between a crumbling temple and a non-crumbling temple in the past, but uh...that did not go to plan :D

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:35am

WOW, this is amazing. Compared to the other endless runners this is awesome. Its complicated yet keeps its simplicity.

WesleyJohnson says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:26am

I don't play a lot of endless runners either, but I thought this was pretty well done. I really liked the character art and the rest of the graphics were good too. I don't have an ear for audio, but yours didn't make me want to mute so that is a good sign. Cool.

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Good gfx and gameplay.

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Love the art style!

Dimir says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Very good grafics! Nice player and enemies, nice music!

Artamus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Nice game, congrats!

c_livid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Would have been nice to have a press space to start pause before running into your first death :D. Things get stuck without the camera adjusting. But the graphics (handdrawn?) look great even though they lag on my integrated graphics chip. I'm also missing an ingame score counter.

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:57pm

I enjoy the occasional endless runner, so I enjoyed this game. I really liked the art style and the switching between portals was a cool idea. Well done!

MaddeStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:04pm

I quite like this. Love the arts style, and the simple controls.

evilentity says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Lovely art style! Its a shame that some mechanics dont change when color changes.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Nice graphical style and simple to play, wish there had been little more variety, mechanics changing when colors change, etc.

AkirAssasin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Love the music! The dude is quite cute though

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:42pm

I loved the graphics and music, but I felt like the sound effects didn't fit (but what can you do in 48 hours?). Controls well and fits the theme. Good job!

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Very hard to get a high score ;) (got 6)..

elefantopia says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:25am

Interesting graphics and smooth controls. I liked the red vs white world.

WetDesertRock says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:53pm

I'd have to agree with other people, the biggest lacking aspect was a change besides color when you switch worlds.

Audio got a low score because I'm pretty sure it was auto-generated, graphics would've gotten a 5-star, except for the text on the about page was wonderful, but I had to try hard to read it. Also the score counter was just boring font.

I like it, good job.

psychonull says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:04am

The art is so awesome, font handwrite and draws .. loved it!. I didn't like sounds but music its fine. Really great job!

Ping78 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Congrats on your first Ludum Dare Game!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Nice graphics!I included it in part 19 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ljAqElzAd_Q

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 3:14am

Cool art style

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]