Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

WARP WORLDS

by Blue Thumbs Gaming - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WARP of the WORLDS: Fight and Flight

This is my entry for the Ludum Dare 30 - 48hr Compo, the theme of which is "Connected Worlds". This game was made in the 12 hrs free time I had during the 48hrs of the competition. It's a very simple 1 button game for kids aged 4-8, that switches between 2 connected worlds:

Green World = Fight. Collect the stars to increase your score and press the Space Bar to shoot the enemies but try not to shoot too many stars!

Pink World = Flight. Avoid the rocks and jump out of the way of the enemy bullets!

Gameplay video here:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ev7x762WFQ

I hope you and your children have as much fun playing this game as I had making it. Cheers, Ben.

EDIT: Just wanted to say thanks to everyone that has played my game WARP of the WORLDS and taken some time to rate it and give me some feedback in the comments.

The new global high score is 3738, if you manage to beat that please Tweet a screenshot from the main menu to me: @ThumbsBlue (Note: to get back to the main menu from the Game Over screen press "L").



WARP of the WORLDS: Fight and Flight v2.0

I've now updated WARP WORLDS with all of the things I wanted to, forgot to and ran out of time to add in for the Ludum Dare 30 - 48hr Compo.

It's still a very simple 1 button game but it's now aimed at kids aged 4-10 (due to the slightly increased difficulty), that switches between 2 connected worlds:

Green World = Fight. Collect the stars to increase your score and press the Space Bar to shoot the enemies but try not to shoot too many stars!

Pink World = Flight. Avoid the rocks and jump out of the way of the enemy bullets!

This updated version includes:
- The ememies in World 1 now jump randomly.
- The player in World 1 and the enemy in World 2 now slowly creep forwards.
- The enemy in World 2 now shoots bullets at a random timing for every time you enter World 2.
- The warp points in World 1 and World 2 now spawn randomly at different times, every time you enter a world.
- Increased the bonus score to 25 points for shooting enemies and jumping over enemy bullets.
- Increased the penalty score for shooting stars and hitting rocks to 25 points.
- Tweaks to some of the graphics including a new Game Over screen.

If you would like to play a Windows .exe version of this game send an email to bluethumbsgaming@gmail.com

You can watch a quick gameplay video of WARP WORLDS v2.0:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_WRhV3u-Ieg

:-D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#179Humor3.08
#401Audio2.96
#669Theme3.11
#730Fun2.85
#829Mood2.67
#912Overall2.83
#950Graphics2.46
#1080Innovation2.32
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:47am

Funny and a bit face palming to look through my concept notes for WARP WORLDS. For example I totally forgot that I was going to make the World 1 pink enemy jump! That would have been so easy to do and would have made World 1 a lot better! >_< I'll add it in post LD30.

Snuux says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:40am

Good graphics! And look interesting! Thanks!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:22am

Thanks! I'm glad you like the graphics and that's funny because they're what I spent the least amount of time on and what I was most horrified with when submitting. Haha

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Pretty interesting game. Quite good on humor side.

muriel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Jeje it's very fun when your role changes xD

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Very funny game.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Funny take on the theme, simple and sweet game.

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:24pm

I love it. I think a 4-8 year old could be better at this game than me. I did make it to 500 points. Fun game. GJ

RegularSlinky says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:14pm

I gave it a few goes. Interesting idea making the stars destructible. I don't know what those things are, but they look funny, so that made me smile. I enjoyed it.

(Not) Ivano says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Go ahead, hurt me plenty! XD

igoramendola says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Nice game and fits nice with the theme. I wasn't good avoiding missiles at the beginning, but I improved my skills hahaha. My best is 2710 so far.

Macocco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Interesting idea. I found jumping over the bullets pretty difficult though. Sound is okay, graphics are meh. But it's a fun game!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:10am

Thanks for the feedback everyone!
The new global high score is 3738, if you manage to beat that please Tweet a screenshot from the main menu to me: @ThumbsBlue (Note: to get back to the main menu from the Game Over screen press "L". Also if anyone is interested in playing this game after I update it (a non LD30 version) with various features I forgot to put and extended game play, please send an email to bluethumbsgaming@gmail.com.
Cheers, Ben.

vctr_seleucos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Really funny game, love the concept!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:09am

My girls loved this game they had trouble with the jumping though so they always died right away.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:03am

Well done! The color flip, the bass added into the second world, all nice touches. (Even the PLAY button's colors.)

Glaydur says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Decent entry for the 48 hour compo :)

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Great innovation, pretty funny when you switch off the characters. Nice music and graphics, great job overall!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:58am

Decent little game, I like the music.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]