Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

OmniCorp

by tigerbyte - 48 Hour Compo Entry

OmniCorp! Your leading intergalactic shipping corporation!

As the new shipping coordinator at OmniCorp, it is your duty to keep all of the planets supplied and our customers happy!
Keep our supplies up as well, by trading with our customers!

Fail to keep customers happy? You're fired!
Mismanage our inventory? You're fired!

~ the Boss.
---
The HTML version was not as thoroughly tested as the Windows version. I know there was some oddities with draw_text.
As far as I'm aware, the HTML version is still fully functional, just with uglier text :)

This is my first Ludum Dare and one of my first completed games. Unfortunately I didn't have time to get to Audio, and I'm sure the gameplay needs tweaked, but it was a fun time nonetheless.
---

Additional Notes from Comments:
1. I realize now that I missed this in the "how to play" screen, but you don't just earn gold. Whatever the planet makes is what you will get when you trade with them. It's important to keep all resources high. You get scored on resources when the game ends.

2. It's been reported that the planet stats window is colored differently in Firefox. When I played in Firefox the colors were normal for me, but maybe it's my version of Firefox? I don't use it regularly so I don't update it regularly.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#334Theme3.55
#758Humor2.05
#823Mood2.68
#844Graphics2.65
#903Innovation2.68
#927Fun2.61
#970Overall2.77

Comments

jomomomo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:36am

Interesting, seems like this concept would work pretty well as a mobile/tablet game.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:32am

Nice trading game.

anserran says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:40am

Congrats for your first LD! HTML5 version worked fine in Chrome (Ubuntu), but in Firefox had some weird color in the planet stats board.

exoticorn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:47am

I like the idea an interface. It would be cool to be able to click on a thought-bubble to send a ship with that resource.
I found it strange to be sending out gold when that's the currency I'm earning.

tigerbyte says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Oh! You're not just earning gold. Whenever you trade, you don't always get gold. You get whatever the planet produces. Sorry, I should make that more clear.

In the end screen you get scored for resources, not just gold. It's important to keep all of them as high as possible.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:34pm

This is fun little rts. I like how you can try to preempt issues by sending things before they are needed.

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:03pm

cool calming game. nice one

gardenhead says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:06pm

I really like it! There are lots of trading games in the competiton, but this one is one of my favourites so far.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Really nice job on your very first LD! I like the concept (of course). Nice use of the theme.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Nice job! I included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/LbmZDYffwi8

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:19am

Part 9 take two - Now with sound - http://youtu.be/lmQkJ525PNo

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:28am

One of the few games with a trading system in it, I like it.

Leginar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:46am

I like the idea, interesting twist on a classic concept. Seems tailor made for mobile gaming.

ripter says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:13am

when Tapper meets Sins of A Solar Empire...it is a little difficult to know what any planet needs until they ask for it, and by then it seems like it's too little too late to keep them happy.

ZYXer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:25am

That was quite stressful! :P

Well done for you first Ludum Dare! This is a hard, but also fun game!

Wertle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:09am

Congrats on your first LD! I think there are a lot of little polishy things you could do to clean up this game but one thing I struggled with was knowing overall if I was doing well or doing poorly. Once I got a lot of speech balloons demanding stuff I couldn't figure out if it was because I was doing something wrong or if that's just the expected game state. Having the planets orbit might be a fun way of messing with people trying to keep track of which planets needed what. Nice job!

Nisshoku says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:41am

very addicting management game. simple but solid first entry

ramoncb says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:56am

my god, those people eat too much ! xD

very solid entry, for you first LD (and even for the compo) the game already has a nicely complex concept! congratulations! =)

and sorry my bad english ^^'

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Gosh, these planets are so needy!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]