Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Invaders From Another World

by Love Albatross - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Move - A,D
Jump - Space
Shoot - LMB, Down Key

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#400Graphics3.34
#419Humor2.53
#1008Fun2.48
#1074Mood2.14
#1171Overall2.31
#1195Innovation1.70
#1197Theme1.43

Comments

Tarian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:17am

Metroidvania! Haha! Awesome!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Would be nice if the jump height depended on how long you press space. Unless it's intended this way, because it's quite easy to die just because jumping automatically kills you when there are a few enemies at the top. You know, where you can't even shoot them. Also, sound would be nice! :D

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Got to 40,000ish and died. Fun, but when a player dies you should show the score.

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Got to 40,000ish and died. Fun, but when a player dies you should show the score. Pixel art was cool too.

nitram_cero says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:35pm

I couldn't see a connection with the theme

X-0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Your game is really fun - especially, if you fire faster than the enemies are coming. The fixed jumping height is a bit of a challenge, but it would be too easy otherwise.
Also, congrats on your physics engine, the way the enemies react to your shots makes you almost feel the impact of the bullets :)

Kyle Mac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:16pm

I'm not sure if this was intentional or not, but I was able to score additional points for shooting enemies that I had already shot.

icedvariables says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Quite fun but would be nice if their was a main menu and death screen so you can see your score

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:12pm

it's okay I guess. pretty generic tho.

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Nice animation and graphics :) - Not sure about the mix of mouse and key control's for a side scroller

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:06am

pretty weird hahaha but good effort

creative630 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:09am

Nice pixel art.

Would have been great to see any effort to connect with the theme - to be honest it feels like this could just be some work in progress that was posted here as a competition entry.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:09am

Hi there. nice setting and shoot graphics. Like the physics collision on hit. Shame no sounds or music. Good job!

havana24 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:48am

Nice pixel art here! I like also the gameplay!

metalchouchen says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Like the idea of skeleton VS jelly fish :) But sad there is no sound and no exploration. (Also sad we cannot explode jelly fish :D)

SoulGame says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Gold Medal for the most WTF main character of this Ludum Dare 30 :D Gameplay is a good start, it's clean and kind of fresh, even if action is a bit slack for now. Hope you'll push this further and bring it on web distribution.

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Please do provide a "Spooky" warning on this game. It nearly spooked my guts off. Good use of physics. Interesting connection to the theme, but now I get it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]