Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Intergalactic postal service

by mkochmin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:
up - accelerate,
down - brake,
left,right - rotate,
shift+left,right - rotate faster
space - pause
r - reset game

try to enter planets gray zone on different speeds and different angles

Work on latest chrome and ff(w/o sound)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#424Graphics3.29
#524Innovation3.19
#696Theme3.06
#709Overall3.06
#749Fun2.83
#752Humor2.06
#775Audio2.25
#806Mood2.71

Comments

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:37pm

I like the gameplay, however, to properly control the ship, I should spam the arrow buttons. Would be nice if you could just hold them for smooth movement. Art and UI are simple, but great

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Okay this is pretty awesome. I didn't realize I could slow down, so I got frustrated at first. But once I realized what was going on - wow! Such an awesome game. Nice job.

Jaenis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Great game idea, quite hard though... (which is nice)
Web version controls make it even harder since pressing a button doesn't turn/accelerate constantly, you need to press multiple times, sounds like a bug.

Steve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Falls every so slightly short of being great due to some issues =/

Mostly the controls are a giant pain, they're not responsive enough. They seem to rely on ordinary key repeat, like when you're typing, but you're supposed to be controlling a ship.. They need to handle smoothly. Turning thus is too slow. But also, accelerating seems way too fast.

It's almost impossible to get any precision control over the ship, which would make the game a lot more fun I think.

Second, the planets' pull on the ship seems like it could be a lot weaker. This, combined with the above, would make more precisely engineered escapes from the planets possible.. I think (again).

Anyway. The graphics on the other hand are perfect for the job. And the idea overall is really nice. Just too bad about the 2 above things. Also, sound always makes a huge difference!

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:13pm

fun little game!

hate-marina says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Yep, nice one but controls seems sluggish

Nanocentury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Epic gameplay, I find the orbiting to be a little bit too hard due to the sudden gravity change.
A smoother gravity gradient would go a long way to making this a complete master stroke.

anserran says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Cool mechanic. As others mention, physics need a little tweaking. It was hard to make the delivers. Still, with some fixing, this mechanic can be very fun. I always enjoy games that make a clever use of physics.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Really tuff controls, but I like the idea a lot. Nice job.

egdob says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:26pm

The mechanics and premise are cool, but I just couldn't enjoy it because of the jerky ship rotation controls :( Otherwise it looks a nice game, with a game mechanic I'd love to practice the hell out of.

jpmit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Good idea, nice theme connection, difficult to control the ship but with some improvement this could be really fun.

I liked the radar, nice touch.

DeltaF1 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:37pm

I really like the concept, but the controls threw me off. The art style is really nice, and I bet that some music or sound effects would fit nicely in a post-mortem version.

mkochmin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Thanks for all your feedback! Will try to fix the controls now

mkochmin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:10pm

I updated controls: faster acceleration and stoping, smoother and faster rotation (no shift key needed anymore)

Naytron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Had no real issues with the controls, but found it a little difficult to consistently get into orbit around the planets due to the speed they were travelling.

Cool idea mixing orbital mechanics with asteroids-style controls.

erdnuss says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Great game! I really like the physics and the orbital mechanics. I only find it a bit to hard that the planets are moving.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Ha, this feels fun :)

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:07pm

I love the colors, well done there. I also had a lot of fun zooming around in the ship!

xRubbermaid says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Ship accelerates waaaaay too fast, but the premise is promising and having to place the ship into orbit to deliver was pretty cool.

xrm0 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:34am

Nice idea, graphics and sounds. But I find it difficult to move the ship.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:04pm

The ship was mostly uncontrollable but the game was interesting nonetheless. Well done

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]