Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

IGT

by cdf121 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

IGT was made using the open source tool called Twine.

The music in IGT is Beethoven Piano Sonata No. 5. And is currently in the Public Domain. You can find the exact file I use here https://archive.org/details/BeethovenPianoSonataNo.5

You can see the live stream of me making the game here https://new.livestream.com/accounts/2058150/events/3317912

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#385Theme3.47
#985Overall2.75
#1119Innovation2.18
#1187Fun1.87
#1796Coolness30%

Comments

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:57am

I like all the small features as the fading text, nice work with Twine.
Maybe some air between the lines?

Nice going...

dadman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:06pm

There wasn't really much choices. This probably would have worked better as a short story instead of a game. I also don't see why there is a need for so many short passages instead of fewer longer ones when I'm not being given any option to move away from the main line anyway.
However I did like how you worked the theme into the game, since some other Twine games haven't done it so well.

Snoother says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:14pm

I like the use of theme and it's pretty well written and engaging. But it would be better if the music didn't restart with each new passage, and it could have done with greater interaction -- not necessarily more choices though, if that at all makes sense, just more opportunities for the player to indulge their obsessive urge to click things.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Interesting take on the subject. It's a nice story, and I enjoyed kicking back and getting taken through the story. It is a bit frustrating that the music restarts after every choice though.

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Enjoyable story. Good use of the theme :)

oranebeast says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:23am

Although more of a story than a game, It was great fun and the fading text made it unveil more

xRubbermaid says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Really nice story; I don't normally enjoy linear IF but this really grabbed me.
The audio has thrown me off for two reasons - although I love the tune, it gets a bit annoying when it restarts every click (although I'm guessing that the framework you're using makes the problem less trivial than it sounds); and the other reason is that it is taken from the interwebs. I think that means that this would technically have to be classed as a Jam entry, but I like this so I'll keep quiet. ;)

Shmarah says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Oh cool, I made a Twine game too!
I agree that it'd be better if the music didn't restart with every passage and there were some grammar errors, but the story/game itself was pretty cool! Nice work especially for 48 hours!

kyru says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Interesting idea, a direction few take. I felt like it could use a bit more interaction.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]