Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dimension Jumper

by Jace_Fyrestorm - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Created in 7 hours for Ludum Dare 30
Use your ability to jump between dimensions to survive as long as you can in this endless runner.

Space or Up to jump.
1-4 to switch dimensions.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#318Fun3.33
#343Audio3.08
#391Humor2.60
#543Overall3.22
#588Innovation3.12
#588Mood2.95
#662Theme3.12
#1059Graphics2.23
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

Sogomn says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 1:18pm

This game is AWESOME! I love it! could you port that to Android? Id love to play that on my phone.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:07am

Was thinking of that, don't know how well the controls will translate, but I could take a crack at it!

abeing says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:44am

yo! very nice gameplay!

tjp7154 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:33am

Wow, I genuinely had fun playing this game! I like the way you implementing the different dimensions. I could definitely see this as a mobile game.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:48am

Great game overall, my skills switching dimensions need some more practice though :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:44am

Hi. Like the idea, surprisingly tricky though maybe that's just me.

joonamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Super cool concept!

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Really cool, easy to grasp the controls. Last about 55 seconds :)

hexagore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Fun this! Enjoyed a lot.

akymos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:07pm

nice concept.

Logan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:48am

Decent idea. Solid concept. For some reason, your choice of what number meant what color made perfect sense to me.

Dans17 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:48am

Cool simple game

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:31am

Definitely an interesting take on endless runners. Nice job!

pjimmy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:16pm

nice, well done

FlashRocks says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:06pm

So, nice game, but I wonder what you would get if you used, say, 14 hours...

FlashRocks says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:07pm

That is, the game could have used powerups/enemies/etc.

FlashRocks says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:07pm

(but still awesome as is)

waynaul says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Amazing how much you created in 7 hours. I felt like I was playing Guitar Hero mixed with Canabalt. Great job!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Would have loved 14 hours. Too bad my boss decided I should work almost nonstop open to close shifts that weekend! XD I definitely plan on doing more post-competition.

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Simple and effective, good job!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Reminds me to guitar hero! Nice and simple game!!

sprawl says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:56pm

The game is barebone, but it is LD after all. Good job on your entry !

I'm colorblind, and these yellow/green paltforms are killing me. Still managed to do 45 seconds. Also, I notice that as the game progresses the platform becomes lower and lower. At the end they were just on the same height at the bottom of the screen.

Also, How did you make the music ?

Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:59am

The platforms shouldn't be just getting lower. The height is a random adjustment up or down from the last platform height... I'll have to look into that problem.

I made the music using LMMS. I've been playing that tune on my keyboard for years, finally made something out of it.

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:42pm

For the simplicity of the project and how basic the theme was, it was actually quite fun! Great job doing this in 7 hours.

Sep 16, 2014 @ 3:52am

Well done! I included it in part 29 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/dd4UkBLKHXI

Sep 16, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Thank you all for the comments and rates! And thanks Jupi for the vid! I'm working on a post-compo version now as my work (and life) schedule allows. It'll be much more polished, possibly with different game modes.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]