Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Bifrost Project

by Luthwyhn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Written entirely in HTML5/JS, no external libraries or file imports. Tested to work in Chrome but should be compatible with IE and Firefox as well.

Play with Mouse (Click + Scroll Wheel) or Keyboard (Numbers + Up/Down Arrows)

Your goal is to maintain the rainbow bridges between worlds by adjusting the orbital distance of each world and aligning the bridge anchor point toward the star (Yggdrasil) in the middle. You must compete against various events which will upset the balance of worlds. After 10 minutes the game ends (Rangarok). Replay button not implemented, so just refresh the page to play again!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#48Innovation4.04
#55Theme4.00
#574Graphics3.08
#684Overall3.08
#899Mood2.57
#994Fun2.50
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Cosmologicon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Took me a while to figure out how it worked. I came pretty close to quitting, but I'm glad I didn't. The ages pass pretty fast, though, and I never got more than 4 bridges or so at a time. Very creative.

Zigsfi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:52am

I don't understand it, but I really like it. Probably the cleverest use of the theme I've seen so far.

zkenshin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:23pm

A bit hard to grasp at first, but fun and interesting entry. Well done. :)

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:36pm

I really like the idea, very different.
It's hard but fun. Start all over the place from me :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Sorry but I could not understand what I was supposed to do, but I liked the way that the planets are shown

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:57am

That is crazy hard. It's a cool idea, and very original, I'm just awful at it.

For those that are stuck, you have to move the planets in and out until the dot on the planet points to the star, and then move them into an orbit where the movement of their dot matches their rate of rotation around the star (the distance they start at).

Beard says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Difficult to get the hang of at first. Then it starts to make sense.

Retl says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Looks neat. Has more a learning curve than most other games I've played, which suggests my familairity bias aren't giving me a skip on figuring things out.

I personally don't enjoy it much, but it's a neat idea and use of theme.

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Original interpretation of the theme!
A bit hard to get into it - a tutorial would be helpful.
Anyway, nice game! ;-)

pjimmy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:14pm

wow, nice, very inovative

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Super, SUPER interesting game. I had no idea if I was doing good or bad, though. Is the object to eventually make all planets link? Or am I just supposed to have them linked for as long as possible? It was super hard to figure out how to get equilibrium.

Xanjos says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:31am

Game seems to run quite slow on Firefox but other than that, it's a rather interesting and fun concept. Also, nice use of Norse mythology as part of the theme :D

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:35am

Nice game! It was very out of the box.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Took me a while to see when a "bridge" is created, and after that it was a bit hectic - it seems to me that you have to babysit every planet all the time, and the orbits rarely if ever yield stable bridges. Perhaps the biggest improvement is on the audio front though, it helps a LOT to be notified when a new event starts, bridges are constructed or destroyed, and when the game ends. Still, nice job getting this much done without any libraries!

Colthor says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Nice idea. Took a while to figure out aligning the dots. Even then it felt like I had too many spinning plates to look after, and that the game would upset them all for no reason.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]