Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Interplanetary Defense Alliance

by TaylorAnderson - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Interplanetary Defense Alliance is a game about swapping resources to destroy enemies. Survive to win.

I'm pretty proud of this game, it's a big step up from my last Ludum Dare where I made a totally generic platformer :P Hope you guys like it too!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#198Theme3.74
#236Innovation3.58
#376Fun3.25
#379Overall3.38
#515Audio2.77
#536Humor2.36
#568Mood2.97
#615Graphics3.00

Comments

Elforama says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:09am

Nice concept, I felt the built in tutorial was very well done.

disdanes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:17am

Pretty fun little game! I liked the mechanics of moving the resources around. Good job!

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:08am

Interesting concept - found it quite challenging to keep up with all the enemies. Suffice it to say I was not prepared when the triangles came.

NikSG says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:56am

fun game! at first I was clicking the shape on the planet instead of the enemy but I forgot to read some words in the tutorial

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Great idea! Really fun to play. My high score was 236 but I think I can beat that if I find my mouse as I'm on a trackpad.

Flyinpig5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:12pm

The tutorial was nice, the theme link was good and overall it was a fun game.

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:28pm

It took me a short while to figure out how to play, but after that it was pretty simple until I started running out of shapes! Very well done. I like this game.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:35pm

I didn't test it enough (not a whole lot of time in the compo :P) so I didn't realize the enemy-ship ratio is totally offbalance, so yeah you do tend to run out of shapes a lot

idovingx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:57pm

The tutorial was very helpful and added a lot of polish. Overall a very solid and interesting game!

Norgg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:08am

Nice! Got a score of 256, found it relatively easy, but still fun to keep everything balanced, but eventually just ran out of squares entirely and couldn't do anything about the three squares that came along.

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:11am

Pretty solid little game. More challenging for me than I thought it'd be lol. Nice work.

tbamberg says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Fun game, was pretty challenging. I ran out of triangles... wish there was a way to trade two resources for one or something.

hogtrick says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Awesome little game. Music would be nice. Playing with the laptop is a pain though hahah

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Fairly challenging! Solid entry!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:43pm

tbamberg--running out of resources was the big problem i didn't have time to solve before the time ran out :( the way i ended up solving it mostly (there's a post-jam version of the game on itch.io)was by just making ships appear about twice as often and carry resources depending on the deficiency of resources in the game.

rantt says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:12am

Cool concept. The resource management and combat worked well together. I found I kept wanting to click the shape on the planet rather than the enemy...lol Fun game, I enjoyed it.

dokidoki says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:53am

A nice take on resource management. Good job!

sandbaydev says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Concept was fine. The controls would have required some changes. Now it was time consuming to drag correct ammo to correct place. Gameplay was much about "ensure each planet has balanced stock of ammo".

Instead of providing specific type of ammo, I wonder if cargo ships could bring money, that could be used to fill ammo supplies on planets.

Additionally, instead of "killing a planet", each planet could have also production that would generate money -- enemy ships would steal that money away... and after that they would start destroying the planet.

I wonder if planets should auto-shoot enemies, if they have sufficient ammo.

Overall I liked this. Nice little game.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Controls I changed in the post-jam version, now you drag from a resource icon on one planet to another planet to transfer that resource. Cargo ships bringing money is something I never considered, that's probably a good idea. If planets could produce money, though, ships might not even be necessary...

As for planets autoshooting, I had that in at the beginning but it was kind of boring. I'm not sure I would want to put it back in unless I was sure the game could survive without it

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]