Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Crossover Episode

by Valon487 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Two TV Detective shows have done a crossover episode. Play through the episode that connects these two fictional worlds.

This is my first Ludum Dare Entry, as well as my first game ever. I used HTML5 Canvas, Gimp, Notepad++ and lots of Coffee.

Controls are very simple, for that which isn't prompted, d is used to move right, a for left. Everything else is prompted.

I had a lot of fun doing this and learned a lot. Next LD I'll have it more together and can try for something more ambitious.

DISCLAIMER: This may be a bit broken. I'll try and fix whatever I can. It's also hardly a game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#292Humor2.81
#580Audio2.68
#667Mood2.86
#688Graphics2.90
#920Innovation2.65
#942Theme2.61
#1048Overall2.63
#1105Fun2.23

Comments

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:17am

Really cool idea!

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:17am

Got stuck for me unfortunately pretty early on. Not sure if there was any game play coming up, but all i seemed to do was hit space to skip text!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:21am

For a first game this is really good! The movement was a bit stiff on the character but movement didnt happen that often so I was alright with it. Liked the music, liked the writing, overall pretty good game

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:26am

Nice work on your first game, and well done for having the courage to do it at a game jam. Clever idea.

StencylTuo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:29am

Sorry, but I couldn't get into it. I had to read the description to even see how this used the theme. Was definitely a different entry though. Next time, let the player walk a bit faster from the start. It takes a moment before he starts moving so I thought it was broken at first.

Fanttum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:28am

Everything is very slow and clunky. Kinda like an old computer game, maybe that is what your going for? idk, just not too fun for me

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:33am

Really like the use of theme, and the graphics are solid. Got stuck in the shop, unfortunately. Definitely bump up the movement speed next time. I also love the music, how'd you make it?

Valon487 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:43am

I made the music using a 5$ electric piano my grandmother has had since I was 2.

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:54am

Love the idea! :D

Valon487 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:08am

Fixed some <s>insects</s> bugs

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Congrats on your game! I liked the idea for this and enjoyed it at the start but it was a little slow. Some minor animations to the characters would have been cool but I can see that the vast amount of your time was spent on gameplay and that's cool. Cheers, Ben.

Canyon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:56pm

I love the theme idea and the pixel art. But I couldn't get past the first room. I just walked off screen and then nothing happened.

Bu

Valon487 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Fixed

graebor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:24am

congrats on finishing your first game! :)

ruthiepee says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:56am

Congrats on your first game. The ending was really unique haha. I won't give it away though.

Hard to see how this fits the theme without your description on the website. Also, I don't know if anyone else had this problem, but the text was very dark and tiny, making it hard for me to read. Of course the movement speed is way too slow but you probably already knew that. If you do another adventure game like this, I'd work on styling the text a little better. Overall I enjoyed it, thanks for submitting!

gnx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:39am

Certainly not bad for a first try :) I enjoyed the pixel art, even if the gameplay itself is a bit thin.

sprawl says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:52am

Nice use of the theme. Simple yet effective game, goood job !

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Great little story! I included it in part 7 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/8xjQ7S7Vv10

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Love the art style. Nice to see you are getting into game design, we need more people with you skills!

trekapp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:25pm

nice one! noticed that some of the text was cut off on the left border of the game

barleyarley says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Liked the art style and was kind of quirky. The movement was very clunky though and it felt very hands off most of the time. Great effort for first jam though!

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Haha, first game in this ludum dare that made me laugh. Good job.

snooze82 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:55pm

reminds me of zak mckracken :) keep on working on this! :)

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Well done, for your first game ever that's pretty on track! Having to tap my key to move was slightly odd.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]