Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Synchro Space

by FeYbraNt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CONTROLS:
Up, Down / W, S -> Move up/down
Ctrl -> Shoot

Hi !

First of all : I'm planning to port this game to PC too, just in case. I'll add a new "soundtrack" too with Bosca Ceoil (link - > http://distractionware.com/blog/2013/08/bosca-ceoil/ ) and new sound effects with bfxr.

Now my presentation : I'm from Spain and i've just made my first videogame (ever) to Ludum Dare #30. I've started on Saturday morning and i didn't post nothing specially because i didn't know that online art content was not allowed...

Soooo, as i'm programmer and i've never learn how to create draws onto screen (until this time) so i tried my best.

I've made use of Inkscape (first time!) & Phothoshop for art and Unity3D/C# to make the implementation. It has been hard for me as i've never done a game in 48 hours (and never) and it's my first "Shoot Em Up" ever made.

As related to the theme "Connected Worlds" the idea is very simple : two spaceships being controlled at same time with 3 lives each one of them. I found the inspiration on the movie "Star Wars : The Return of The Jedi" when the two spaceship guns destroy the Death Star.

Thanks for everything !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#619Theme3.18
#660Humor2.18
#818Audio2.18
#842Mood2.66
#918Fun2.62
#926Innovation2.64
#977Overall2.76
#1088Graphics2.18

Comments

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:31am

Fun game dude! Bit of a brain bender too. I'm a sucker for shmups :)

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:33am

It's a little buggy, but nice concept.

xrm0 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:46am

Nice. I'd make two changes: Game over when any of the ships is destroyed and faster bullets/lasers!

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:01am

Faster bullets is a good tip yeah, right now it's harder to avoid enemies than kill them :). Thanks for advice !

Nanofus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:09am

The concept is great :D My brain is all tangled up now.

eastes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:10am

Awesome idea. Wish I thought of that.

teoacosta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Flying two ships is HARD. It broke my brain in a great way!

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Unique take on the classic shmup!

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:31pm

This is pretty cool. Very difficult, but cool. Sounds are a little loud, but other than that, well done.

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:39pm

That hurts my head! Great work!

tillrobby says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Pretty good, but was a little hard to concentrate on both sides

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:41pm

very cute little game !

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:47pm

You know that 80s film Scanners? Where people's heads explode. That's what this does to me. ;-D Really challenging, and a nice concept.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Good game, very difficult though.

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:14am

Nice game, but it is really too difficult for me.

Robotic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:07am

Pretty hardcore !

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:10am

The player's bullets are so much louder than the enemies'. Other than that, I thought it was nice.
~funkeh

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:12am

Quite cool, good job !

BillToWin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Fun and well executed concept. Controlling both ships at the same time was a really good idea. But, the shooting sound was played when I pressed the shoot button whether or not a laser came out of the ship. It's a small thing but it's the small things that turn a good game into a great game.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Buen juego, si señor! Mejorable, como la gran mayoría de ludum dare, pero el concepto es interesante y muy buena ejecución por ser tu primer intento. Sigue así!!

shatterhand says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:51am

The bullets need to be faster, and the shooting sound is very annoying :)

But it's a nice concept.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]