Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Glue The World

by shimage - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Glue The World" has 2 mode in a game. First, connecting the world(floating blocks). Seconds, the player runs to the goal across the connected world. Please try it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#5Innovation4.60
#31Fun3.95
#53Theme4.02
#110Overall3.76
#436Humor2.50
#534Mood3.00
#544Audio2.74
#806Graphics2.71

Comments

Ixeno says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Awesome surprise this game! In my top 5 definitely!

lkr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Interesting concept :)

There seems to be an issue where some levels are missing most of the blocks, but restarting the level fixes it.
I liked the introduction of different types of blocks for variety and challenge.

FineSpun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Good Idea. pretty challenging to connect the blocks but still you did a good job.

Perjoka says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Nice concept, i enjoyed it :)

pjimmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:42pm

briliant, very innovative

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Awesome original mechanic, I've never seen anything like this before. Forced me to use my brain which is something I like.

Ervin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Quite innovative concept, very nice game.

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Very nice! 5 stars for innovation, for sure. I love that the game has two 'modes', the building phase and the platformer phase. It did become a little too easy when I realized I can withdraw 'glued' blocks from the screen entirely and wait for solo blocks to float into good positions without any fear of danger. Very enjoyable though. Great creativity. One of the better games I've seen here.

jthistle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Really good concept

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Game doesn't open for me.

Running Iceweasel (Same thing as Firefox) on Debian Jessie.

shimage says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:59am

@xgeovanni This game is made by CreateJS. Game doesn't work if it is not supported. Sorry but thank you reporting.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:28am

This is a really great concept!

Budda says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:33am

Awesome little game, well done.

Teesquared says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:34am

Very innovative and a good take on the theme. Audio is a good fit and the animation and movement feels right. Pretty challenging too.

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:38am

Very neat concept!

A tad annoying that during the first few staging you have too many too big overlapping blocks, most of the time I touch one I basically start the second phase.

tommyboys0107 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:43am

The mechanism is so great!
Had so much fun in this one :)

Oana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:53am

That is a pretty original game! And surprisingly fun and challenging. Pretty smooth controls, and I haven't noticed any bugs. Well done!

MentaL13 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:14am

Really fun game, the only boring thing is to wait for the moving world pieces to stop intersecting.

gryphoness says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:22am

Really great. My favorite so far. Extremely clever. I wonder what other kind of puzzles you could extend this into -- maybe with stationary obstacles rather than the black blocks. I gave up on world 5 because tracking the black blocks was beginning to give me a headache by the 4th try or so.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:16am

Amazing use of the theme. Definitely the most unique game I have seen so far.

pjchardt says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:19am

Really novel idea. Fun to play. Nice controls. I enjoyed the variety of blocks, although it got a bit repetitive. I would love to see this game expanded on!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:08am

Cool game and unique idea, the aesthetics could use some polishing but in the short amount of development time this is a great concept.

Aevek says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:12am

Really cool interpretation of the theme. Had a lot of fun in the gluing phase, but the platforming phase felt a little empty to me. Nonetheless, an awesome game for 48 hours. One of my favorites so far.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:14am

Saw a streamer playing this and HAD to play it afterwards. This was so innovative and fun. Loved the two game play modes.

varun says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:26am

Clever twist on the traditional plat-former - forcing me to build my levels first!

Crefossus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:06am

I like the visual feedback of not connect vs connected. The next level animation and sfx were great/rewarding. Dying at the top and bottoms/off the play area seemed unnecessary and surprising. If you want to block the player for specific levels maybe use lava instead.

The jump could be variable instead of fixed height so you can jump into smaller spaces with skill instead of hitting your head on lava/etc.

Some level design felt amazing - especially the level where you use the water to go from the outside to the inside and the earlier level with the gigantic lava block , but the initial levels feel a bit repetitive.

Extremely innovative... polish up the graphics/audio and publish :D

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:21pm

I'm impressed with this! Much better than I had anticipated! Neat concept in general.

invader says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Superb! It is the most innovative gameplay from the pack I've played so far - and good correlation with the theme :)

Controls are easy and intuitive and I got the idea what is supposed to be done really quickly.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Very cool idea, and quite tricky at the later levels. One of the more interesting takes on the theme gameplay-wise! Really nice work. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]