Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Never Ending Cycle

by AlucardX60 - Jam Entry

All links are Windows only. Source is included in all the links. Just open Game.rvproj2 with RPG Maker VX Ace.

Well here it is. Nowhere near the scope I wanted and there are aspects that don't even work at all but for the most part it works well enough.

Making a game in RPG Maker is pretty interesting I got to work almost solely on gameplay since the graphics and sound were stock or grabbed from the large community for this engine.

If you can't tell by playing this game is pretty much me trying to make Dark Souls in RPG Maker. Humanity, purchasing stats, etc. Unfortunately I realized at the last minute that the blood stain recovery mechanic wasn't working. But I was happy with how the story came out.

If for some reason I made some enemies too difficult you can always go out of your way to kill some extra enemies and purchase some attack boost. You shouldn't need much.

Also the theme is extremely loosely used in this game. Talk to the warrior at the bonfire a few times.

UPDATE
-Trimmed the filesize to 66MB, added the dropbox folder as the default link so I can upload patches faster. The Postmortem version will be in a separate folder.
-Fixed some bugs like enemies not despawning when killed and some message related errors.
-You can no longer die outside of battle. The swamp leaves you with 1 HP and poison is removed after battle. This fixes a crash.
-Added a Readme to explain how some things work, like bonfires.
-Added a link to the postmortem dropbox folder. This will be updated for the coming days. A changelog is included in the Readme of that version.
-Removed the Day 1 patch zip version. Just download the original release if you don't want to judge bug fixes, the Dropbox version if you don't care or want a smaller filesize, and the Post LD has some game changing additions.

Graphics by Enterbrain, and MACK
Music by Hellkite Drake, RoeTaka, Kevin MacLeod

CONTROLS
Arrow Keys to move
Z key for confirm/action
X key to open menu/cancel
Shift key to run
Alt+Enter to go to fullscreen
F1 to open the game options. Default to fullscreen, rebind keys, gamepad bindings, etc.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#195Mood(Jam)3.46
#236Audio(Jam)3.38
#330Fun(Jam)3.12
#354Graphics(Jam)3.46
#360Humor(Jam)2.47
#360Overall(Jam)3.26
#634Theme(Jam)2.42
#717Innovation(Jam)2.15

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Holy-- 220MB? Just shaving off all the unnecessary assets and zipping what remains might have been more appealing download-wise.

Mechanics could have used some explaining. Having to /use/ the souls to do... whatever those two options do wasn't really obvious.

On the other hand, you've made pretty good use of the audiovisuals. Gives a good atmosphere overall.

And not sure if it was intended, but that sneaky passage for early magic was pretty neat.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Wow, solid project. I'm not familiar with RPG maker but I guess it's not that easy and it seems like you put a lot of effort into this. I really wanna play this through but I keep dying on snake in the dungeons and I can't figure how up my stat. It says I need 700 souls, yet I have 2 in my pockets... So it's a bit confusing I guess, but still, nice work.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:18pm

This took forever to load but it was worth the wait. creepy and cute. Nice work!

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Chrome says the download is malicious, ran it anyway and had no problems.

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:51pm

huge game, awesome work here. a bunch of missing files crash the game so i couldn't die or kill the king.

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:49am

@madk I honestly have no idea what would cause that. Maybe the way I zipped it?
@datacr4sh Sorry to hear that. I reuploaded the Day 1 patch with some more bug fixes I made today so it should work but I recommend downloading from the dropbox folder link.

HellBlazer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:23am

Hmm, are there Dark Souls spoilers in this? <_<

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:49am

There were multiple instances where the game crashed because it couldn't load graphics.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:50am

About the Chrome warnings: Pretty sure it's just Google being idiots. Any zip file that's not recognized by their systems seems to get flagged like this.

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:18am

@HellBlazer: No there isn't.
@Robot Souls Games: it would help a lot if I knew which version you're playing.

slumber says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:56am

i played the updated version and received graphics missing crashes as well. definitely got the dark souls vibe. i dont know much about rpg maker but it says graphics by mack? very impressive pixel art either way. great job!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:19am

Unable to find file: battlebacks cliff on third screen. Was playing the dropbox link.

:<

I really liked this game idea/theme and wanted to play more. You've got me hooked. . . . . . . Also, no battle theme?! you gotta have a battle theme :3

Thanks for the game!

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:33am

@Victory Garden: Thanks. I removed the Day 1 zipped version (too much hassle to reupload all the time) and fixed the dropbox links.
Also there is a battle theme for boss fights only. To make them more epic. :]

J-d-H says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:02am

I found 2 humanity and then, the fire told me I had none :/

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:13pm

@J-d-H: You have to press X to open your menu and use the Humanity item to boost your usable HMN stat. This and other aspect that weren't explained well are in the Readme.txt
You can grab just that file from the first dropbox link if you want to play the original release version.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:46am

It's decent but dang that's was a huge download.

Stepwise says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:31am

Dark Souls was an interesting base game to use here. I feel like the pacing needed to be quickened in terms of leveling up as a traditional RPG though - but some interesting and exciting moments of finding equipment on the ground, Dark Souls style. Very great look.

Chaoslab says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:57am

That was some fun even if it was a large download. :-)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:17am

I got two errors which crashed the game, both Unable to find file. One "Audio/SE/Collapse4" for when I beat the king and the other "Graphics/Characters/!Hexagram" whenever I died. I was using the dropbox folder link, I just downloaded the whole folder as a .zip and extracted.

Interesting take on a Souls game. I don't think it's very accessible to players who never played a Souls game before though. Not much innovation here but it was a tried and true fun formula nontheless. Graphics and audio were polished. Good job!

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:55am

@hundredhundred: Thanks. I uploaded the missing files into the dropbox links.

Crefossus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:17am

The enemies had a good amount of health so that the battles didn't take too long if you chose to engage. I like the exploration aspects that helped you to find upgrades.

The regular battles weren't very interesting but the boss battles or enemies that did greater damage allowed for some interesting choices.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:27pm

very pretty game! nice artstyle! very polished! :) Great job!

kibertoad says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Great job working magic with rpg-maker limitations, and it is easier to understand with previous dark souls knowledge. Good level design, with enough exploration to keep things interesting. Just not much originality here. Would be cooler if you've made something in your own setting with these skills. Large part of what made DS 1/2 so special was skill-based combat, being forced to compare them through direct references with your game only makes me miss it. Which never works in a favor of rpg-maker projects.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Ambitious for a Jam but you pulled it off nicely. Some ingame hints of the mechanics would have been nice but generally the game was excellent. Thankfully not as hard as the game this seems to be inspired by.

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:04am

Seems to have a lot of content. I've never used RPG Maker nor did I play Dark Souls, so I wouldn't be able to say how much of this is custom and how much is from RPG Maker.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]