Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Balance the Worlds

by slowfrog - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Ok, so the idea is that there are worlds corresponding to the four basic elements (fire, water, air and earth). Each one produces elements. You need to connect them by establishing transfers between worlds so that they function best (not freezing and not boiling either).

It's not as fleshed out as I initially imagined, but there is a winning condition.

HTML5/Web, no compilation needed. Tested on Chrome & Firefox. Almost but not completely working on IE.

Uses the Phaser library.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#348Theme3.53
#615Graphics3.00
#641Innovation3.05
#761Humor2.04
#806Audio2.20
#961Mood2.47
#1133Overall2.44
#1170Fun1.98

Comments

4KbShort says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Interesting idea. Very simple interface and I like how the worlds move about. Couldn't figure out how to get the links in place or if anything I was doing was having an affect on the game. You may want to add instructions to the description to help players know what buttons to use and such.

slowfrog says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Sorry, my first upload was not finished yet.
Now it should be OK and you can add and remove "transfers".
But it's pretty dumb, anyway (first participation, big ideas, very bad planning ;)

Cosmologicon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:19pm

It's got several nice touches. I like that the worlds move in the viewport. I like the music. It's pretty incomplete with only one type of resource, but I get where you were going. The interface is a little clunky - it shouldn't take 30 clicks to begin transferring 10 resources.

miwuc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Nice concept! Too bad you didn't get to implement the full gameplay, it looks like it could have been very interesting. The controls are a bit cumbersome though.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Good concept. It's simple, but enjoyable.

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Hiya! I loved the idea and think it would have been a great management/juggling (spinning planets, he he) game with some more fleshing out. Graphics are good and serve it well. When I tried to transfer water from the water planet, it said it is transferring fire... I'm assuming it's a graphics/gui thing as opposed to a gameplay thing because the target wasn't getting hotter.

Also, before I knew what's what I heated the air planet waaaaay too much and now I can't cool it, but I'm still playing and trying to figure out how xD

I think keyboard hotkeys would have made the game better for faster players, but maybe defeated your purpose, I dunno.

Overall, really liked the concept and can only lament the idea you didn't get to COMPLETELY finish it :)

Good luck!

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:49pm

I seemed to be able to send fire from the water world that didn't seem right unless I am being mental :) Decent idea though!

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Cool concept but the pace is suuuper slow. It took forever to thaw a single planet, even when I was sending all 12 fire towards it. I think the idea has some potential, though.

laremere says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:57pm

It's an interesting start, too bad it's unfinished.

Brian Crick says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Nice concept! I'd love to see this fleshed out more.

Clavus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Wasn't quite sure what I was doing, and a few interactions seemed buggy (water world was sending fire to other planets despite the description saying it only produced water?). Nice concept. Could've used clearer instructions :)

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:06pm

There is some potential but not really finished games I suppose.. Too slow the gameplay.. And I still don't understand why the waterplanet transfert fire :|

KittyMac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:08pm

intriguing concept

noffle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Really cool idea and beginning that I'd really like to see taken farther.

slowfrog says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Yep all! It's clearly unfinished and full of bugs (waterworld sending fire being the most obvious). I'll try harder next LD :)

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Cool idea with a really fun presentation. I really like the way the four planets just constantly and calmly revolve while the star field slowly scrolls by in the background. This could be a very relaxing game to play. :) Awesome shot; I'm sure the lessons you learned here will lead to more sophisticated gameplay in future. Looking forward to it.

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Good concept and start - adding some more functionality to each planet could make this a solid game.

mess110 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:46pm

gj

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Great concept! It would have been good to see it finished though. Good effort!!

bluesky says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:31pm

This is actually very entertaining, well done.

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:25pm

It's a bit of a clunky system, but it's a really neat idea. While you're told that 'balance' is a win condition, it initially feels super vague as to what you should be aiming for, instead of trial-and-erroring.

BroCade says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:53pm

I like the idea, but the ui could ui be clearer

lkr says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Fun concept :)
Would have loved to play more if there were more interactions between the planets (and more planets!)

I thought the controls were intuitive enough, but a bit clunky if I wanted to switch a bunch of elements from one planet to another.

I wasn't sure what the goal was to begin with, but I got the credits, so I guess I did things right :)

Fun beginning of a game!

whalebot says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 10:55pm

It seemed like I only had to transfer fire to win the game. It would have been more interesting if I had to work harder to keep more of a balance. Nice work though!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]