Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tesseract

by UoLCompSoc - Jam Entry

You are the mighty Valiant HeroTM, tasked with doing some poorly explained tasks to vanquish evil monsters! Why you? Who cares!

Your cube planet has several different worlds to visit to beat bosses, become more powerful and save the kingdom. Can you obtain the ultimate weapon? Can you find the secrets of this place? How many slimes will you destroy?

Find out now!



Instructions
------------
Movement : WASD
Interact with NPC/Boss : Space
World hop : Enter

Combat: Click on menu items to select an action and click on enemies to target them with attacks.

Including your home world, there are 5 other unique worlds to visit; in each world lies a powerful boss who you feel compelled to slay.
You feel that once you have slain all 5 bosses you may unlock the mystery of the strange door which lies in the centre of your home world!

With each boss slain you will not only notice that the other worlds increase in difficulty, but you will feel and appear more heroic!

To be strong enough to slay the resident boss of each world, it would be a good idea to train yourself using the slimes in the conveniently placed pens.

---

KNOWN ISSUES
------------
1. The original version would crash on some machines when compiling shaders. A bugfix version has been uploaded which solves this problem by disabling shaders if compilation fails; this means that battles are preceded by a short second delay rather than a swirl effect.

2. The game as released for Ludum Dare crashes when you try to enter the final world through the door; I won't fix this for LD as I view this less as a bugfix but more as me running out of time and fixing this would be against the spirit of the rules. You get a good feel for the game in the 6 regular worlds.

---

Made with LibGDX. All graphics and code made originally during the jam, audio was found online (creative commons)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#120Audio(Jam)3.65
#143Humor(Jam)3.17
#204Theme(Jam)3.55
#456Mood(Jam)2.95
#469Overall(Jam)3.10
#511Fun(Jam)2.81
#540Innovation(Jam)2.76
#575Graphics(Jam)2.90
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

sekaru says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:24pm

The gameplay was overall a bit... confusing? Sometimes bosses would one shot me and other times they wouldn't - seems a bit random. What I did like however is the fact that you had different music for different worlds. Reminded me of the really early Runescape music which is always a plus.

UoLCompSoc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Yeah that was definitely something that we struggled with; since there was so much content to make, balancing the fights kinda lagged behind getting everything in there. Thanks for playing :)

Headmade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:33pm

The combat didn't work for me. I tried to attack but couldn't choose a target. I liked the light hearted writing.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:36pm

The randomness of the bosses made the game interesting. Great job on a fun game :)

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:20pm

It is a bit strange, I have not understood

Piscythe says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:22am

Unable to run game: game window opens and then immediately closes. I'm on Windows 7 with Java build 1.7.0_67-b01.

UoLCompSoc says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:20am

@Piscythe: Very sorry to hear that; if there's any chance you could run the game from a command prompt using "java -jar <filename>.jar" and send me the error you're getting I'd very much appreciate it.

I've not heard of that particular crash so I'm afraid I don't know what's going wrong. Thanks for your feedback :)

sftrabbit says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:40pm

The error I get on Linux is this: com.badlogic.gdx.utils.GdxRuntimeException: Shader compilation failed, TesseractMain.loadShader(TesseractMain.java:714)

prophile says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:50pm

I get the same error as sftrabbit, Mac OS 10.9.

UoLCompSoc says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:04pm

@Pyscythe, @sftrabbit, @prophile: Thanks for your feedback! I've uploaded a bugfix version which should disable the shader on your machines so it's playable. Hopefully that did it!

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:45am

Aww, too bad you couldn't fix the crash when going to the last world, I really wanted to see it :P
Nice game overall, I really liked the npcs dialogues :)

George says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Quite confusing but a nice little game! Like the retro art style :)

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:13pm

A bit confusing

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Glad to see you delved into creating your own art!

Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:36pm

ETC (from Creative Sectors):
It's like the old Final Fantasy Mystic Quest and Dragon Warrior games and like that strange similarity between this and our games (Conexus Terra). We built on the narrative context instead a fighting role playing style. Anyway it was a great experience to crash into the final door, it was a great surprise.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]