Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Permeable Connected Worlds

by MyougaHiroshi - Jam Entry

My first Ludum Dare entry. Altrough I made it for jam, I uploaded in the first 48 hours :D

In this game, something wants to kill you, but there is 1 way to kill it. If you travel to an other world, you can kill him. But there it tries to escape as well...

Control:
W A S D - Move
SpaceBar - Jump (isn't necessary)
Shift - Sprint
F - Use items

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#240Mood(Jam)3.35
#452Theme(Jam)3.03
#499Fun(Jam)2.83
#527Humor(Jam)2.04
#535Graphics(Jam)2.97
#543Overall(Jam)2.97
#616Audio(Jam)1.97
#649Innovation(Jam)2.46

Comments

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:09am

I really like the idea, but that annoying footsteps sound totaly ruining atmosphere.

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Nice lighting effects. The speed of the camera made me feel a bit rough though haha. Gave me a little fright as well.

Good idea

c_livid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:34pm

The steps are annoying, I can't see where I'm going, and there are some typos. But the idea seems nice.

X-0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Took me a while to find the... item... needed to win the game.
Cool effects, like the different colors or "looking around", before you are being chased.
I liked the game a lot!

Kyle Mac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:36pm

This game is very very dark. I had a hard time seeing the door at the beginning.

Macocco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Awesome game considering it was made in such a short time.

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:38am

Macocco : I uploaded it in the first 48h, I didn't need the third day :)

ripter says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Neat game, does the monster exist in the connected world? I couldn't find him. The lighting is so dark on the first level that I had no idea where I was going.

Nonameghost says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Uh... not bad. I think it's hard to make a really immersive and scary environment in 48 hours. I think you probably should have taken the last day to do a lot more polish. It was kind of dark, couldn't move around well. And when you can't see at all it's not scary but frustrating. You could have taken the time to improve the UI, or fix the mouse sensitivity. I'm not trying to be mean but making a point to say you submitted this in 48 hours just kind of shows that you didn't take any time to polish this game.

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:55pm

ripter : yes, it exist, but it escapes fast, and if you aren't fast, you don't see him :P
Nonameghost : Honestly I'm playing most of games with this sensitivity, and I don't know what you are using xD

Alucard J says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Great use of camera animation. I liked the ambience in each dimension. The loop speed of the walking/running footsteps is too fast. To make the footstep sounds slightly different, just randomly adjust the pitch slightly before you play it each time. Good job.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:30am

I'll be yet another person to complain about way too high sensitivity and footsteps. Leaving that aside, though, the game was actually pretty cool (though I wouldn't call it a pinnacle of horror setting, nope). Too bad I had to kill the monster in the end, just when he turned out to be pretty smart and trollish, rather than just yet another dumb zombie. ^^"

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Spooky. The looking-around cut-scene animations were well done.

Also, I've added additional instructions for 32-bit Windows users to my game if you want to give it another shot.

Oana says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:57am

That was a weird experience. I had no idea what I was doing half the time due to it being impossible to see anything. I was just hugging the walls trying to find something along them. I guess it gives you an accurate view of what it's like to be in darkness.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Really like the idea of those two contrasting worlds, my whole emotions change depending on the world I'm in. And damn I'm too easily scared, you got me there at the chasing scene.
I nearly got stuck at the end, because it wasn't really clear where to go and what to do.
(And I also have to complain about mouse sensitivity and footstep noises.)

frogcheese says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Pretty spooky atmosphere. My major gripe with this one is that the game was so dark that I spent a couple minutes just bumbling around without knowing if I was walking into a wall or not.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]