Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

OlymPlanets

by hogtrick - Jam Entry

This is a sport game based on Olympic contests, but the difference is that they are in different planets with different races. You represent the human race in the game and must win the challenges to prove that humans should be respected in all the galaxy!

Features 3 Interplanetary competitions

Super Flying Saucer Throw

Unbelievably Slow Race

Obstacle Race

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#92Humor(Jam)3.38
#351Theme(Jam)3.23
#361Graphics(Jam)3.44
#423Mood(Jam)3.00
#522Overall(Jam)3.00
#542Fun(Jam)2.76
#575Audio(Jam)2.28
#596Innovation(Jam)2.63

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:29am

I like the theme but this game is kinda a pain to play because of the speed.And after 72 hours of coding it is really hard to smash the A and D key xD

Maxium says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:29am

A charming game. Everything feels sluggish, like things are standing still for far too long. I like the theming, though!

H1S2 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:32am

slug race was unbeleavable slow :)

Piscythe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:32am

The minigames were mostly fun, and the slug race had me grinning. I won all four on the first go. My main complaint is that the competition didn't seem quite as grand as I'd expect from an interplanetary Olympics. More visual and audio presence from the crowd could have helped with that, but would have been difficult to do in the time allotted. Still, it was entertaining and visually appealing, so high marks in those categories.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:48pm

EARTH WINS!!! The slug race made my fingers hurt. lol. The ring toss could have gone a little faster, but it was still a good game!

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Nice game.

SilverToad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Earth power!!! So funny arts +))

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:34pm

I like it! The minigames are fun to a certain degree, artwork is quirky and funny and the gameplay is, well, at least functional. It was well worth my time.

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Cool. Like the art work. Would be nice if I could skip or speed up the CPU turns

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Loved the funky art style. The minigames were fun!

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:06pm

I like the idea and the animations were nice, but it felt a bit slow-paced.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:09pm

It was a lot of fun; however, it was a bit slow in places.

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:11pm

I like the graphics and the game mechanics but the gameplay is too slow.. With a faster gameplay wouldn't get bored too soon..

Torandi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Rather fun, brings backs memories from when I played olympic game-games when I was younger :)
Though as others said: the game was just to slow, especially the cpu turns in the first competition.

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:32pm

a little to slow for my taste

burgerdare says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Probably not the first or the last olympic minigame collection, but the intergalactic theme was pretty cute and gives the game just enough charm to stand out, even if it does kind of move at a snail's pace.

rjhelms says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:02am

Love the visual style, but like others said the pacing on the whole is too slow.

waynaul says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:52am

Great character designs. Too bad I couldn't play as the green guy :) The slugs are well drawn too.

lorniebear says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:54pm

I really enjoyed playing! I wish there was a way to simply replay your favourite minigames... the hurdles race was fun, but hard

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Played a bit slow, lots of waiting around, but fun with excellent graphics and mood :)

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Nice minigames and funny designs. Earth wins hu3!

FrederickK says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Reminded me of Mario Party. Good job!

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:47am

Funny and a very interesting take on the theme. Loved the characters.

jayemjee says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:16am

Earth rules!

kristof says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:26pm

The illustrations and animations look really nice. Especially the snails look cool :)
The game mechanic is boring though in my opinion. Still, nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]