Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Brillium

by Cody Ward - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Brillium

(Note : game becomes unstable after first play, refresh browser for better performance)

You have three worlds, they are connected by their resources.
There is not enough resources for all three worlds, and you must manage the matter between them to win.

Keys 1-6 to pick a material type
Click and Drag to move resources

Pull resources from planet to planet in order to fill all the health bars, and the main health bar on the bottom. If a planet goes without a resource for too long its health bar drains. If too many bars empty, you will lose.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#403Theme3.44
#468Innovation3.27
#523Mood3.03
#528Audio2.75
#757Graphics2.79
#890Overall2.86
#903Humor1.71
#1101Fun2.25

Comments

Cody Ward says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:24am

Just barely made it, but here it is, my first ever game jam game!

mcapraro says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:51am

very interesting concept. i really like the smoke effects

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:52am

really cool idea, and the gameplay is good.
would be nice if the number keys lined up to the color bars.
As in, currently, I press 1, and I get the brown one selected(which is in the first position), ok cool, but when I select 2, I get green, which is in the 3rd position? kinda confusing.

also, there weren't enough resources to go around, for example, all three planets had really low brown, so I couldn't do anything to save them.
But good job fellow first-timer! it's pretty good! I forgot to mention I really liked the color scheme; it had a really soothing feel.

Kortuga says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:53am

Awesome concept!

alvarop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:51am

Had a hard time running the game, and when I did, I just couldn't understand what I was supposed to do...

I'll come back later and give it another go, though.

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:54am

Cool concept, and the most solid interpretation of the theme I've seen. I agree with a previous comment, it would have been great the the keys lined up with the bars.

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:32am

Could be an interesting resource management game. I would like it if the order of the colors coincided with the numbers 1-6. Also, many times I lost because all 3 planets lost all of the same color. :-( Good idea; could be fun. Effects are nice, and good soundtrack.

StencylTuo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:41am

It's very hard to know what to do, and the fact that 1-6 don't line up with the actual colors makes it even more difficult. A better explanation would have gone a long way. Still, the parts you got done were done well.

hyouko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:25am

As others have noted, this would be much easier to play if the keys matched the resource bars. Right now it feels a bit like rubbing your stomach and patting your head at the same time...

Cody Ward says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:27am

You guys are all right, I definitely should have made the bars correspond to the keys. Seems dumb looking back on it haha

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:04am

Interesting concept and a nice presentation =)
I don't seem to be able to stay alive very long though. Probably my fault.

elliottd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:15pm

very confusing that the bars are not in the same order as the 1-6 keys that select them. more feedback on selected element would be good. colour of the cursor was not enough with some of the elements having similar colour. good job

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:25am

It's a great way to interpret the theme. It was pretty challenging since the numbers didn't align with the colors, but still pretty fun! Great job for your first entry!

mattperrin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:31am

A little hard to play if you have color blindness but a neat idea.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Hi there... Sort of started to work and then crashed. Second time (refresh) worked a bit longer. Interesting mechanic, like the abstract resources. Good job!

bluesky says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:52pm

awesome game

Cody Ward says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:57am

Thanks for the feedback everyone!

INC$D021 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:56am

Nice idea, found it very hard.. But that's ok :) Only thing is the keys setup as others have mentioned.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]