Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dr Blake Saves the Universe

by sikosis - Jam Entry

I had a blast making this game and wish I had more time to flesh it out -- alas, that's the nature of the jam. Enjoy.

Controls:

Arrow keys to move, Space to Jump

PS. The Windows and OS X versions have gamepad support.


twitter: @sikosis

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#354Graphics(Jam)3.46
#367Audio(Jam)3.11
#562Theme(Jam)2.71
#576Humor(Jam)1.74
#618Mood(Jam)2.61
#622Fun(Jam)2.58
#629Overall(Jam)2.81
#749Innovation(Jam)1.92

Comments

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Quite fun game

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:30am

Nice pixel art!

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:39am

Nice graphics

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:43am

The player movement feels very floaty, a lot of the tiles seemed to not be touching the ground. The level layouts were okay though.

hyouko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:48am

I liked the art and music. Would like to see some more obstacles in the player's path - enemies, environmental hazards (other than the laser pits), etc.

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:01am

Brilliant presentation and graphics.

Floko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:27pm

nice graphics and presentation. The intro had absolutely no commas,so I read it all out loud without taking a breath ,and almost died XD

Gameplay is neat, I just wish the jump wasn`t so floaty!

But overall it was a good game and I enjoyed playing it :)

Oxeren says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:27am

I like the graphics.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:20pm

I loved the presentation. I do wish the up arrow was also jump.

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Nice graphics

stvr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:59pm

"You have saved the earth and the universe" Oh, okay, well that's good.

ClownAround says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:55am

Nice pixel art. Great game.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:08am

Has some good potential bt it felt flat for me. Nice job.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Awesome graphics, cool music, and fun game! Good job!

Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:37am

Gorgeous graphics... the game is, well, playable, but I think I played it in not much more time than it took to finish watching the intro text scroll. More punctuation there, maybe a few less sentences? I felt like you spent a lot of time telling us that what we were doing was really important, but then with no obstacles--I died exactly once while I was getting used to the floaty jump--we don't exactly feel like we've earned anything.

Hey, maybe flesh it out more? You really just need to work on your level design some and you'd have a decent platformer here. Good luck... and thanks for the game!

George says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Great game - love the graphics of the main character!

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:31am

Pretty basic platforming but controlled great. I liked the art and music, although some sprites had strange perspective. You created a good mood. Great job.

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Neat little game, punctuation would have made that opening scene much easier tor read. Simple but well done.

SnapDragon says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:34am

Awesome game

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]