Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Smugglers!

by rjhelms - Jam Entry

A game about international cocaine smuggling, in glorious 4-bit color.

Instructions:

Follow the compass at top left to your checkpoints.

WASD/ZQSD/arrows to drive.
LShift or Space for a speed boost.
M to mute/unmute the music.

Built in Unity. Graphics in GIMP. Music in Garageband for iPad. Sound effects in as3sfxr.

Linux and Mac builds are untested at this time. Please let me know if there's any issues with them.

Update Aug 26, 7:15pm Eastern: Added a delay for the splash screens before accepting key presses, so you can't accidentally button mash your way past the win and lose screens.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#181Audio(Jam)3.48
#208Fun(Jam)3.35
#213Humor(Jam)2.88
#341Mood(Jam)3.16
#398Graphics(Jam)3.35
#424Overall(Jam)3.16
#601Innovation(Jam)2.62
#606Theme(Jam)2.54

Comments

Troy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:30am

I really like this game! First of the graphic style is perfect and the music is great, a mini-map would be useful (unless of course it's meant to be hard to find stuff) other than that great entry!

rjhelms says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:55am

Thanks Troy!

A minimap would have been a great idea - wish I had thought of it, but even if I had there probably wouldn't have been time.

Maxium says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:03am

Nice game, the overall presentation was really nostalgic. I also think that a minimap would have been pretty useful, but it wasn't impossible to do well without one.

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:11am

This is what pacman should have been :)

Normally I would have more to say but my only real qualms were the siren sound and the half hour of my life that I will never get back!

Thanks for making my day.

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:12am

Well designed. Music was nice addition.

Satyre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:29am

Nice game. The police is very persistent, though xD. I never could escape.

Moocowsgomoo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:07am

That was really fun, and the commitment to the graphical style is impressive. Nice job!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:24am

Lots of fun, great entry!

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Loved the visual style and music! Great entry!

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Really cool, simplistic style. I liked this a lot.

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Very enjoyed your game ! Quite good music, loved the pursuits, keep on working !

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Simple, but quite good game.

pinion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:35pm

It got a lot easier once I realised what the compass was for.

Nice game.

Talvara says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:35pm

it took me a while to figure out the compass was a guide rather than some sort of crazy clock.

when the cops(?) give chase I found it prettymuch impossible to shake them.

there´s certainly a game in there though!

hogtrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Loved your game. One of the best so far. Loved the music and the way the game feels to play.
So hard to avoid enemies >_<

rjhelms says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Wow! Thanks so much everybody, I didn't expect this to be this well received - I've never done a game jam or even published a game before.

pinion & Talvara: yeah, I regret not explaining what the compass is for in the instructions. It seemed obvious to me at the time but I realize it's not - maybe putting an "N" at the top of it would also have helped.

Satyre and Talvara: that's what the LShift/Space is for - you'll never ditch them at your normal speed but you can boost to get out of there (though your cash ticks down faster.)

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Great work! very fun to drive around and the sound effects were nice :)

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:36am

Interesting use of the theme. Fun little game!

Skywilly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:06am

Ahah, i love this little game, the "minimalist GTA", really enjoy the graphics & the music. Nice !

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:19am

I love the mechanics, music and graphics! :D The only "but" is that the theme doesn't seems to fit very well, but appart from that, great job! :D

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:08am

Cool game :)

Killswitch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:46am

Good game!

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:29pm

First time I thought that there is no compass but a clock, and took me a while to find a target ;-) Little hard to fit the theme but Funny game!

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Hilariously fun! audio and art is charming. :3

whilefun says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:49pm

I really enjoyed the graphical style of this game. I found the police/red jeeps a bit too hard in the later stages because they were so magnetic, and once they saw you there was no way to get away really. Some kind of "cop radar" would make this a little more forgiving I think. The music was great also. Nice work overall! :)

Aomeas says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:35pm

The mood is great, it really feels like an old game! :3

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:45pm

This is the highest rating I've given a game so far... perfectly executed in every way! I was not only transported to the world of international drug smugglers, but to the world of SVGA and soundblaster16 cards. Played it for ages. I feel like there could have been a tree or two in the "jungle" (I thought I started in the city!) and it seems unfair that the cops chase you even before you've picked up any drugs: I was just going for a casual drive through the jungle, after all!

Fantastic game, anyhoo. That tune will be in my head all day.

Dohan says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Colors, sounds and the ruthlessness of the cops remind me of the games I used to play a lot of time ago. Great game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]