Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Saver Ghost

by Sequenceko - 48 Hour Compo Entry

SAVER GHOST has been requested to save some guys and move them to the safe zone. He was summoned from the spirit world. These guys always get themselves into dangerous situation.

-WASD to move
-E to possess guys
-E to drop
-if you already possessed a guy and he dies, you can press E to quickly possess him without having to touch him

(I had to remove the music that I made due to crashing issues when loading the music. That sweet tone I made ;_;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#502Graphics3.17
#602Innovation3.10
#673Humor2.16
#682Fun2.90
#697Overall3.07
#916Theme2.66
#922Mood2.54
#941Audio1.73
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

jsmars says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:23am

Cool concept and style, but gets a bit repetetive after a few stages. Would be fun if there was more of a challange than just moving the guys, maybe have platformer for more interesting challanges and have switches to open doors for other dudes so you need to synchronise and think in which order to do things.

goodpaul6 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:29am

The aesthetic looks great and the levels are great, but I think that there should be a little bit more happening on screen, you know, to liven things up :)

Great Job

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:31am

Nice little idea, good job ;)

Sequenceko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:39am

jsmars That is what I wanted to do, but unfortunately I had no time to implement it.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:40am

Interesting concept.

icedvariables says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:41am

Very fun game and very clever concept. The art was nice. Maybe the levels could be more puzzle based with switches, doors and the like as opposed to timing and precision. Very good work.

John Drury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:14am

Pretty hard game XD

arzi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:22am

The game's visually quite nice, and the core idea works well. The levels get a bit daunting quite fast (I would have liked some more simple ones before going into the whole save 5 guys in one level).

Thematically it's rather light as the 'ghost' is little more than a cursor. I think it could be emphasised visually (e.g. make the levels look like mansions or other haunted places, etc).

Sequenceko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:17am

arzi thanks for the feedback. The original idea was the ghost has to escape a paranormal activity lab site, a puzzle game where you possess and use the environment to escape. I am not that good yet so that didn't happen.

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:29am

Very nice concept .. like the art maybe you can make more puzzle so it be more challenging

pythong says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:57am

the quake at the end of each level is a bit annoying. concept is good, and I guess your take at 'connected worlds' was this world and the afterlife?

JaJ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:14pm

The idea is amazing. I feel a lot more can be done with this concept!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Graphics are nice, but a little generic. Would have been happier if there was more platforming involved.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:20am

The controls seemed to stick for me, which made it pretty frustrating since you really need precise controls for a lot of it. Controls aside, it seems like it might be a good start of something, but the gameplay wasn't engaging for very long.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:11am

Great level design, but there wasn't enough challenge to keep it interesting for more than a few stages. Even just adding a timer would go a long way.

danidre14 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:15am

Well this was going fun, but it got too hard, too fast!

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:21am

Good idea and interesting gameplay. Got boring and really difficult eventually. Controls sometimes bugged out, leaving the ghost moving in one direction without the button being pressed. Graphics were good, no sound was not good.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Hi there.Interesting mechanic, works well. Felt a bit like a spiritual forklift. There's a problem with 'rescued people' counter on lv1, I definitely had 6 collected, but they were not quite in right positions and it didn't count them. Shame no sound. Good job!

Artamus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Nice game, congrats!

gladers says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:19am

Good game :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]