Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Outer Shooterr

by KrisDevelopment - Jam Entry

Outer Shooterr is a classic first person shooter made for the LD 30 competition with the theme "Connected Worlds".
Your mission is to kill all aliens that have come to Earth and prevent the invasion.
Dev: Hristo Mihailov Ivanov
Engine: Unity3D

You are free to play around with the source code and make
"mods" (or fixes) as long as you don't break these terms:
http://hristodevblog.dx.am/terms.html
(if the website is down for some reason you can
check any of the socual media links for information)

https://twitter.com/KrisDevelopment
https://www.facebook.com/kris.devlopment.update.page

Current Website: http://hristodevblog.dx.am/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#399Humor(Jam)2.38
#413Graphics(Jam)3.31
#496Mood(Jam)2.88
#499Fun(Jam)2.83
#500Audio(Jam)2.73
#504Overall(Jam)3.03
#723Theme(Jam)1.97
#737Innovation(Jam)2.00

Comments

c_livid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:00pm

The levels are too large. The audio is ok. I'm missing the connection to the theme, there is no visible transportation that the aliens are coming from. But other than that a nice simple FPS.

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:26pm

I must say this is a great game, I'm surprised it was made within 72 hours. Thanks for the game!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Thanks :P

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:52am

Nice game ye, lots of things done for this time frame. :)

Yasho says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:16pm

It's cool somebody decided to do a FPS for this theme (the amount of split-screen platformers is killing my brain). However, to make the gameplay a bit more fun, I would suggest to do some of these next time you make an FPS (or any other action game for that matter):
-Make enemies have less health but make more of them in a level (I had the most fun when one of the yellow mosnters ambushed me from above while I was fighting one on ground level and I had to fight both of them)
-Make the gun shoot faster but deal less damage
-Make the screen shake a bit when you fire
-Have some particle effect when the bullet hits something so you know what you hit.

Still, making a 3D game in 72 hours is not easy, so good job!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:07am

@Yasho, thank you for the suggestions, I will work on that in the future entries.
I tought about making classes (like: fast shoot - less damage/ slow shoot - more damage), but didn't have the time.

Maek says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:42am

Cool game.

Tosic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:47am

Yeah I agree with Yasho and I would like to add that I could shoot at the enemies and they did not notice me so I killed them really easy, but the game is awesome!
It is not too easy, not too hard, nice story, excellent graphics... so many nice things about it!

Anyway my game is similiar to yours in many ways:
3D, made with Unity, a jam entry, has a story, has nice graphic...

I am really glad I played your game! :D

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:14pm

@Tosic, I will give your game a try.
Also: if you want, I am fine with you making a mod and
upload it somewhere :P
I may or may not continue development on this one.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:54pm

This is the first FPS i have seen in this ludum dare thanks man for not being like al does others.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:05am

Pretty nice. I like started with no ammo, and the collapsing aliens are nice.

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Cool to see a FPS here, but like you are using Unity3D, why haven't you hosted a webplayer version somewhere?

doomista says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:31pm

I am grateful for any FPS these days, so thanks. But the audio was a bit annoying, doesn't really fit the alien fighting game. Graphics and desing was cool, I like it, big aliens somehow reminded me of Geth, but the gun should have standart ironsights instead of scope, it is too big and not much can be seen through it, also delay between shots should be a bit shorter. Ammo ok in the first level, but too much in the second one. Second one was also a way lot easier.

xandy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:10pm

props for doing a fps in the short time!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:03pm

@doomista, thanks for the suggestions,
I will work on that in my next entry (or the next FPS I make).
As I said before, I tought of adding classes (fast shooting - low damage/ slow shooting - high damage), but didn't really have the time to do so :p

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Ace back story

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Nice graphics. Would be cool to see the bullets. GG!

dook says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:18pm

This was a pretty neat little thing. I agree it could use some more feedback to the shooting, and either another weapon or one that's bit more fun to shoot. Otherwise really great job, and impressive in size for a jam game :)

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:25pm

For 72 hours, great work!

TKia_ says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Fun little first person shooter. Could have used a lot of polish; crosshairs, more particle effects, muzzle flashes, more sound effects, more animation, etc. but it was still sound as it is. Nice one.

Shivur says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:25am

Fun game! That would be cool if we saw the laser shot from the gun to see if we hit or miss.

Sep 4, 2014 @ 2:45am

The game was ment to be for the compo, but I missed the upload time because, eh... real life got in the way. So I uploaded it to the Jam. However, if I ment to participate in the Jam in the first place, there would have been a lot more features (classes, bullet trace, etc.) :)

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:28am

The game lagged a lot on my comp, which made it nearly impossible to kill anything at all, but it looked nice at least lol.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]