Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Weaver Of Links

by Toubib - Jam Entry

BEFORE PLAYING:
Use CHROME for better quality.
Check out the new version 2.0 which contains more puzzles and challenge.
the v1.0 is more about execution-based platformer.

WHAT IS THIS GAME?
A little platformer/puzzle where you need to connect people so they can join your network.

HOW TO PLAY :
Use ARROWS to move and jump.
The only way to loose is if your green cable touches a red line, your character can freely do it.
If you're bugged, press 'R' to restart level or 'Escape' to go back to the menu level.

WHO ARE WE?

We are a team from Paris, it's our first jam, you can follow us on twitter :

Lead Designer @Remi_Leblanc_
Developer @Yonben
Level Designer @CF_Elyas
Sound Designer @MagneticYoshi
Concept Artist No twitter yet!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#151Innovation(Jam)3.50
#192Audio(Jam)3.46
#267Theme(Jam)3.42
#295Fun(Jam)3.19
#327Overall(Jam)3.30
#354Mood(Jam)3.13
#405Graphics(Jam)3.33
#445Humor(Jam)2.27

Comments

Shivur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Cool concept! The controls and collisons need more precision since the game require precision.

se1by says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:56pm

I start in the Menu and cant select anything

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:22pm

I like the idea, although the plugs are all on the same path as I would've normally taken, so they don't really add much to the game. The red lines are your typical avoid-these-obstacles. The idea is given that the only way to lose is to touch the red lines, but when you fall off a platform, "Oops!" You die for no obvious reason. The platforms also blend with the background. On the bright side, the art is FANTASTIC for a game made in 48 hours. (I especially love the Internet guy at the end of Level 1 :3 ) I also like the platforming situations you put the player in, though the learning curve was a bit steep. Needs some work, but otherwise, it's a good game! :D

Toubib says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:03am

You die if your green cable touches a red line. We could have done a better level design by making the player really understand he can touch red lines. In fact we used most of our time getting the game running without bugs xD.

Frump says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:45am

The first level was by far the hardest. The jump right before the zig zag hallway left very little room for error!

The concept of the game was pretty interesting and enjoyable.

torcado194 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:10am

the visual design for this game was super neat! but the gameplay felt bland. the idea is good, but removing it would make no effect if you just think of the red-lines as death. you would play it exactly the same.
regardless, it was really interesting!

Toubib says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:16am

I agree, we could have done so much more out of that green line...But we had no time left...

jacklehamster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:50am

Interesting idea. It would have been good to have a level built like a puzzle (where the plug have to be connected in a particular order for the level to be solved). The art style is nice but the way it is put into the game seems a bit messy.

BlueSama says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:59am

jump is little a annoying and for a platformer game it's a biggest problem could ever happen.
but the main concept is nice.
overall nice job :)

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Pretty cool execution-based platformer. Quite challenging as well. There are some quirks with collision detection, and I was not a big fan of the graphics (it was not consistent throughout, or at least that's what I felt). However, the sound gels well with the game, and the level design is very smart.

The concept was very fun as well, I think with some more time you can explore a lot of additional possibilities with it.

I liked! Good luck in the competition and in the future :)

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Some boring bug in jumps but the concept and the game are cool! Congrats!

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Was a cool idea and nicely executed

Pfeyffer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Fantastique! Très belle interprétation du thème. Jolies dessins. Je veux plus de niveaux.

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:11am

Very nice. Hard but fun :)

Stending says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:38am

Cool game.
It really needs more levels, and maybe some polish!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:43am

Hi there fellow parisians, very nice concept for the game, like it a lot :)

lkr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Fun concept, nice music and interesting variety in the worlds :)

It was quite punishing having to start from the beginning of the level when dying close to the end though. Maybe consider a checkpoint midways?

Had fun playing!

ceosol says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:09am

This was a fun entry. Concerning a innovative entry, I think you hit the nail on the head. It needs a little bit of work as far as a platformer goes, though. The ledge detection is off and the jump mechanics were very unforgiving. I am horrible at making platformers, so I cannot tell you how to fix that :)

I think you should definitely develop this game further. I think it would market better as a puzzle game after seeing v2.0

Toubib says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:02am

thanks man, we coded it from scratch with no experience in platformers. Unfortunatly it's jam code, changing things isn't that easy as it is very messy.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Cool idea, really innovative.

The Lag Pack says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Cool game, really liked the art.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Doesn't control as well as I would like a platformer to control, but it's still a decent game. Too bad you couldn't make more use of the link mechanic, which in turn made it maybe a bit too basic.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]