Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Worlds: The Game. A Morality Play

by Partially Exciting - Jam Entry

This game is poignant. It tells a story: Man's struggle against THE MAN. It is told cleverly on a real live book that turns and its also a game about pushing stuff around in patterns that are correct. If you really can't finish a level, it may be because the level is actually impossible, and then you can just hit K on your keyboard and it will make you happy.

This game was made by 3 guys over like 72 hours and it was a journey. A real life journey with ups and downs and all arounds. Just like the story in our game. We braved the elements and loud snoring by the people around us to give you this game.

Also I hope you like the ending, and the theme integration.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#14Fun(Jam)4.15
#28Humor(Jam)3.91
#78Audio(Jam)3.80
#84Overall(Jam)3.75
#127Innovation(Jam)3.56
#127Mood(Jam)3.64
#236Graphics(Jam)3.74
#320Theme(Jam)3.30

Comments

CryoGenesis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:27am

Cool puzzle mechanics. I likes it very much.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:47am

Love it! Some of those puzzles were very tricky (especially Tim's). The page turning was a very nice effect and the game looked very good. I also loved the slowly progressing music. It made the game very atmospheric.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:42am

This game is missing something. Maybe some kind of fiery hole?

Why did you make this game when you could have made a fire hole game where you push the corporation into the fire holes in various connected worlds?

JordanFitz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:52am

This is truly game of the year. I wish it had fireholes, and weird animations :(

Cezel_ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:43am

A Fun game with nice graphics and great audio, I really liked it!

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:26am

Traditional puzzle game with fantastic use of the book and music for narrative. Loved it!

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:22pm

I really like the book aesthetic, but it feels like rest of the game doesn't take advantage of it and the main character just looks weird.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:07am

Very nice. Really liked the toony look and the turning pages making it look like a story book. Nice job guys!

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:33am

Pretty well done overall definitely like the book style.

gmfk07 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:02am

Great game! A real page turner, if you catch my drift.

zeoverlord says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:17am

Nice one, could have seen more animations though.

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:14am

Good puzzles. The book gives a nice background and frames the narration well. Sound gets a bit repetitive after a while.

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:26am

Mate, this game trolled the shit out of me, as Atmospherium well knows as he watched the playthrough. Really cool concept, absolutely loved the page turning effect, gave up on the crate puzzle and pressed K though, far too difficult for me :P . But "too difficult" is generally good, I prefer that to too easy.

Really interesting mechanic, and I like how it takes the sort of Zelda/Pokémon/Tales/Golden Sun puzzles and makes an entire game of it. Very nice. Soundtrack was cool and really went with the pace too. Fantastic job guys.

sthreet says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:17am

It felt like the story was an attempt to justify the theme. It was humorous, but the pages turning was enough to justify the theme for me. of course, it still gives humor value.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:46pm

nice page turning effects, and I like how the player 'bounces' when he moves. Liked the little story too, great job :)

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:20am

Fun take on a Sokobon game. Some levels were a bit confusing, especially when you dealt with moving boxes on ice.

nesis says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Nice game, good play with the theme and incrementally harder puzzles. Lots of new mechanics introduced very well by example, then used in more complex ways later on. Well done!

AlbertoSM says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Nice idea, I like the page transition effect (although it could've used a little bit more polish) and the continuous change in the music, but the loops in every level are so short that listening to them can get really tedious over time.

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Interesting puzzle concept. It's a classic block pusher puzzle solver.

Benjamin says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:58pm

nice sokoban like. And the book ground is a nice idea. The log mechanic is also good but some motion tween on log roll & ice slide would really help to understand what happen.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:00am

I can haz Linux version? :P

HayManMarc says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Good puzzles (and some bad ones, too. lol) Nice little game.

TobiasW says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:36am

And here I thought that the puzzles in my last LD game were hard... phew. This is a really cool and innovative take on Sokoban! And I also like the self-deprecated writing :P

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]