Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Above, here and down there

by Kavehes - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First this version is not finished, i just started to step inside game creation so it took me a while to make it work and i am still missing story ( so i'll explain it below ) and all the events that should occur during the game.

So three characters, that have nothing in common all manage to get a strange device allowing them to share objects between them. A little girl locked in her room on the last floor of a tower, a man that got thrown out of his house and underground an alien looking for the last part of his aircraft.

Works better with a gamepad actually.

wasd to move
"q"/"e" or LB/RB to switch characters
"Space" or A to pick up objects
"i" or X to open the inventory
"escape" or B to cancel (it may help if you are stuck)

Done with Unity, PyxelEdit and Bosca ceoil

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#41Graphics4.24
#217Mood3.42
#282Audio3.19
#444Theme3.40
#504Overall3.26
#723Innovation2.94
#870Fun2.68
#1659Coolness36%

Comments

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Graphics and animation = 5 stars. Nice work

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Game seemed buggy. Unable to figure out how to move the characters. Sometimes picking something up worked, others it didn't. q/e to switch characters didn't seem to do anything or had no indication that anything had happened.

Windows 8/Chrome/keyboard & mouse

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Really nice graphics, good music.

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:46pm

One of the best game I've played since the beginning. The mood is amazing. And the animation...wow !
Just a comment, I think you could improve a bit the keyboard binding :)

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:46pm

The graphics, wow! Really good. Am I looking at pixel art not scaled 1:1 though? Why not make the screen size exact such that every pixel is the same 1x1, 2x2, 3x3, etc.? I bet it would look even better then.

I had some success moving around and picking stuff up with the gamepad. The controls were a little weird, like exiting dialogue seemed unintuitive, and buggy (I could still interact with stuff after I had picked it up, or after switching to another player?). Is it possible to make progress in the game? I never successfully used an item, but I'd like to.

Pavel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:26am

Cool idea and game concept. Great pixel art.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:24pm

I like the graphics and music

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Graphics are superb, congrats!

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:36am

Delicious graphics and setup. There's a lot of potential here: hope to see a completed game next time! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]