Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

SPACE WAR

by Zer0 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello everyone!
First of all i want to thank you for playing my game (and hopefully rated it ;) ). I hope that you enjoyed playing it like i was enjoying making it ^_^. About me: Im 15- Years old and this is my first Ludum Dare and im very proud of me that i made it in time.
But now about my Game: Its a Space-Shooter (very interesting i know :D). I think about the Theme like this: 1.) It sucks. 2.)Alien space-ships + Human space-ships = 2 connected Worlds ;).

Controlls:
- Use the arrow-keys/WSAD to move.
- Shoot with the spacebar.

Everything was made with Unity3D, GIMP, BFXR and a lot of Cola.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#636Audio2.56
#778Fun2.80
#897Graphics2.54
#928Humor1.53
#1090Mood2.00
#1117Overall2.48
#1196Theme1.46
#1202Innovation1.60
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

midgard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:30am

The concept is not really original, the controls are fun thought.

CeriseGhost says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:31am

Fun little game. I didn't manage to get too far in it but it reminded me slightly of that "Raptor" game :)

Slooowpoke says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:33am

Relevance to the theme was a bit iffy. Controls are good, they work well. Could do with more polish and a nicer font. :)

mrbungle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:36am

Cool little game, well done!

JosephLittle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Fun :)

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Nice shooter, but no reference to the theme competition. It's too easy also. The control is nice.

Zer0 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Ty all for your Comments! I think next time i will pay more attention to the theme :D

Aevek says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:28am

Surprisingly well polished for someone doing there first LD. Nice job keeping your concept simple. Really liked the particle effects and audio, they gave it a nice feel. Level design was good too. Gameplay was... simplistic. But thats how it was designed to be I guess. Would have been cool to see a couple of power ups, but with 48 hours I know there is a limit to what you can do. Good job, hope to see more entries from you in future. :)

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:10pm

There is no real health bar so you never know when you die : I hit 15 bullets before exploding and understand that were bullets :/

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Cola is bad for you.

I liked the particle effects a bunch, I think the controls are pretty spot on as well. It did get a bit bland after a while, and I think you ought to reduce the hitbox on the player's ship.

Overall, I liked the graphics, and the sound effects were pretty cool as well. As you yourself said, theme was not very well-implemented here :P

But very good job, and you will likely participate in many more LDs. I'm interested to see what you will bring to the table next time, 'cause there is talent here :).

rantt says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:51am

Fun game. Good controls, dropping down and popping out the top of the screen was cool.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]