Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Two Worlds

by Sargonius - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Two Realms connected through the Portal exchanges vital resources with each other. But how long can they survive with an increasing demand?

It's a text-based strategy about two worlds, connected through the Portal. One has food, another has fuel and they trade with each other each month. But their resources aren't infinite, so one Realm will fall at the end.

You can choose a Realm to play with (and actually you can control the other realm if you want - buttons are clickable). Also there is an "automate" function - it will produce some goods and select trade option for both Realms - you just need to enable it and click on "Open Portal" button. Also there is a restart button in the top-right corner.

Have fun :-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#485Theme3.35
#805Humor1.97
#844Innovation2.78
#936Mood2.52
#939Audio1.74
#985Overall2.75
#1071Fun2.33
#1173Graphics1.86

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:52am

Nice entry! I included it in my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/CHUuhEZvNWU

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:17am

nice idea, and good story. could use some more content though.
Also, it kinda crashed when I tried attacking. There also seems to be no penalty for reaching 0 fuel

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:40am

Interesting concept, but the final text is unreadable.

Snuux says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:30am

Exellent game! Realy like it!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:52am

The turn based strategy aspect I like. Maybe not enough things to do to keep engrossed. Also easy to stick with eternal co-operation, prisoner's dilemma ?

Sargonius says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:08am

"but the final text is unreadable." - yep, in some situations (70%+) the combat log is really huge, didn't have time to fix it or improve combat mechanics :)

"There also seems to be no penalty for reaching 0 fuel" - that's strange... but possible :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:53am

Seems great :D For 2 days only... Now when you have more time for yourself and your ideas I hope you'll continue to develop this one and add some new features :)

falcon11445 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:02am

Apart from the attack font size after you click on it. It was fun

MrCakehat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:02am

Very good, a little bit buggy, but it is to be expected

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:04am

I won! :) Neat idea. Quite often after opening the portal it just seemed to auto close the portal without any interaction.

DarkEngineer says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:04am

Great concept!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:22am

Nice entry. I tried to lead a pacific take while getting out of resources. Don't understand how trading and population system goes though.
It would be nice to implement strategies in which both parties could maintain stability without need to attack each other.

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Text game well done i think.

teoacosta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Neat idea.

muriel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Nice job, I think that it has a lot of potencial.

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:27pm

The concept is really good, but it seems to much "wall of text".
Mechanics work well, though

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:28pm

The concept is really good, but it seems to much "wall of text".
Mechanics work well, though, and the story is nice :)

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:01am

Cute little game. Simple and Elegant.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:48pm

I'd make it a bit complicated but it's a great foundation! And surprisingly engaging considering it's only text!

gnuwind says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Awsome game. I like your idea and it's a great story.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:48am

Love the innovation!

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Very good entry. I bit messy, but it do the job

MechanicMoon says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:58am

Great history!

pythong says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 10:06am

red has fallen! didn't use any fuel

Transmit says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Fun game, I enjoyed it. Though I finally just clicked attack to see what would happen and instantly won. The final text is rather hard to read.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]