Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

PLuTO

by CoopNasty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play as Pluto, who has been shunned by the other planets for not being hot enough! Raise your core temperature by collecting star pieces. Once you're hot enough, you can reconnect with the others!

=====VIEW THE TRAILER IF YOU CAN'T PLAY HERE=====

http://youtu.be/4mHbcJakfJU

=====Controls=====

WASD - To fly through space.

MOUSEWHEEL - In and out to zoom the camera!

**EDIT**Removed view rotating as it was extremely broken.

=====SIDE NOTE=====

I actually lost a lot of work on Saturday at about 3:30am because of a power failure. The 6.0 earthquake that hit Napa Valley knocked power out to my house for about 2.5 hours. I lost an intro video that was going to introduce mechanics and story, along with some other scripts I was in the middle of working on. Sorry to all who were watching the stream and had my video just cut out on them!

Here's the first few seconds of the earthquake recorded from my stream before I lost power, kinda interesting if you feel like watching:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-y7It9s4FYM

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#110Humor3.31
#301Graphics3.50
#358Mood3.23
#528Audio2.75
#788Overall2.97
#936Innovation2.63
#991Theme2.50
#1015Fun2.47

Comments

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:03am

Love the quirky animation and art style! That was awesome!

marvalgames says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:47am

Cool style

CoopNasty says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:09am

Thanks guys!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Art style superb, awesome job!

korigame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:39am

Funky art style :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:44am

That was pretty cool, although I had a hard time finding enough star pieces. Good job, though!

Leginar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:15am

Well done. The art and style made for an interesting and entertaining experience.

Budda says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:28am

Cool little game, well polished. Hard to control though, and I definitely had problems trying to find any star pieces beyond the first one.

brookman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:50am

YOU CAN USE THE MOUSE WHEEL TO ZOOM!

You should really write that somewhere. It took me 5 minutes to find out. Flying aimlessly at the closest zoom level and never finding anything is kind of boring. :)

About the game: I like the style and mood. Nicely drawn character and quite some humor ^^ (achievements). The music is rather minimalistic, but it fits.
Game play wise there is room for improvement. Maybe you should add more star matter (closer together). And please fix the randomly jerking camera. I think rotation is not really needed (you could align the text horizontally).

Keep up the good work!

CoopNasty says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:55am

OH MY GOD I THOUGHT I WROTE THAT I'M SORRY EVERYONE. MOUSE WHEEL TO ZOOM IS LIKE HALF THE LOOK OF THE GAME. You get a really cool view of the whole solar system when zoomed way out! Give it another shot if you just found this out. I think I might "typo" fix this into the beginning text.

parahunter says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:55am

The art looks really good. Very hard to find more star pieces. If you kept rotating the camera movement was also a bit jerky.

cmayhem says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:59am

Great art and animation and cool music!

spotco says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:51am

Really cute art!

PS. Felt that earthquake too, was in South Bay though!

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:38am

haha that animation was hilarious, well done man, this reminded me of Solar, it was rather enjoyable :)

(P.S. I froze to death... sorry for 'sucking so much' haha)

CoopNasty says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:06am

Thanks guys! Also, every time you die you get another random quote. Some are funny, some are just...weird.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Hi there. Found it tricky to collect heat. Liked the music.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:50am

Cool visuals and concept, well adapted to the theme, liked controls.

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Watching lil' Mr. Pluto swim through the stars was definitely a "smile" moment for me. :) Loved the fact you could zoom out so far, and how smooth the controls were.

CoopNasty says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:19am

Thanks man! That's exactly the feeling I was going for. Having people just enjoy floating around and being in space!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:49am

Sorry to hear about the earthquake, but your game looks great! I could only finish it after really zooming out to gain perspective, otherwise the game was unplayable. Good job!

xrm0 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 10:31am

I find it hard to reach the star pieces.
But I love the art style, the zoom. Very well executed.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]